Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Full of Mouthwatering Recipes with Wonderfully Colourful Pictures, 9 July 2010
By 
Mrs. C. Colbert (Blackburn, Lancashire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Macaroons & Biscuits (The Australian Women's Weekly Essentials) (Paperback)
I have lots of different cookery books but this is definitely going to be a big favourite in my house! The pages are wonderfully glossy and every single recipe has a lovely colourful picture of the finished article.

Contents:

Introduction - Which contains tips to help you bake perfect batches every time, from the equipment you need to how to store them.

Plain Biscuits - These include Chocolate Chip Cookies - Mini Florentines - Mocha Vanilla Twists - Banana, Caramel and Date Cookies - Basic Shortbread Dough to enable you to make (amongst others) Choc-Mint Shortbread and Latte Shortbread Dippers - Gingerbread and many others.

There are 27 different kinds of Plain Biscuit recipes in this section, all with professional pictures.

Filled Biscuits - Delicious Melting Moments - Lime and Ginger Kisses - Caramel Peanut Hearts - Wagonettes - Lemon Meringue Kisses - 18 recipes in total.

Macaroons - 12 different recipes including Coconut, Cranberry and White Chocolate Macaroons - Caramel Pecan Macaroons - Raspberry Macaroon Dreams.

Biscotti - Lovely Almond Bread - Jaffa Biscotti - Coffee and Walnut Biscotti - Lemon, Honey and Pistachio Biscotti - 10 varied recipes.

Slices - From Chocolate Caramel Slice to Rhubarb Custard Slice and another 29 delicious Slices in between.

With a Glossary, Conversion Chart and Index at the back of the book.

All the mouthwatering recipes are clear and easy to understand with the ingredient measures in both cups and grams.

This delicious book is highly recommended by me and my family - especially the Chocolate Chip Cookies!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy and Delicious, 27 Oct. 2011
This review is from: Macaroons & Biscuits (The Australian Women's Weekly Essentials) (Paperback)
This is a great book, especially for someone like me who is not that good in the kitchen. The introduction contains lots of helpful information about the equipment you will need, preparation, measuring accurately, mixing, testing to see if the biscuits are cooked properly and how to store your freshly baked biscuits (assuming they remain uneaten for more than five minutes).

At the back of the book there is a conversion chart for temperatures, liquid and dry measures, length and measuring cups. There are also some lovely ideas on how to present your biscuits if they are to be given as a gift.

The recipes themselves are very clear and easy to follow. Each one is accompanied by a photograph of the finished product, again showing some nice ideas for presentation. There are sections on plain biscuits, filled biscuits, macaroons, biscotti and slices with a good selection of treats in each.

Favourites at the moment are good old choc chip cookies and gingerbread, but I am quite looking forward to trying the rum ball slice and grandad wants some banana, caramel and date cookies. I haven't tried making biscotti before but the stained glass ones look so lovely I think that they might be next on my list to try.

Overall, a fantastic book that I would recommend to anyone who likes a taste of something sweet. I will definitely be looking out for other books in the range too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Biscuit Heaven, 25 Oct. 2011
This review is from: Macaroons & Biscuits (The Australian Women's Weekly Essentials) (Paperback)
I was sent this book to review by the lovely @CookAWW on Twitter.

Having a sweet toothed family, I was looking forward to getting this book and I was not dissappointed.

As with all AWW books, the presentation is excellent: Clear, easy to understand recipes with lovely glossy photographs.

After a brief introduction, the book is split into chapters that cover Plain Biscuits, Filled Biscuits, Macaroons, Biscotti and Slices. At the end there is a useful glossary and conversion chart.

Favourites so far have been Mandarin Polenta Biscuits, Lime & Ginger Kisses and Apple, Cranberry & White Chocolate Biscotti - the biscotti is so much nicer than shop bought varieties.

If you have a family who loves biscuits (and who doesn't!), this will be perfect for you. It would also be ideal for making up some home-baked gifts for christmas - a real personal treat!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to follow, 25 Oct. 2011
This review is from: Macaroons & Biscuits (The Australian Women's Weekly Essentials) (Paperback)
I love this book - the recipes are so easy to follow. They are not condescending, but they don't presume any prior knowledge of cooking and take you through all the necessary bits and bobs you need to know. There is a section highlighting certain common (and some out of the ordinary) ingredients - for example the different types of sugar are detailed so it is clear which you should be using and why.

I have made two recipes from this book - the lemon meriangue kisses and the honey macaroons - never even attempted either of these before and by the lack of crumbs remaining I would say my attempts were very successful.

Excellent variety from the everyday biccie to something that would not be out of place with coffee after a formal dinner - a five star book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tasty!, 28 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Macaroons & Biscuits (The Australian Women's Weekly Essentials) (Paperback)
I really like this book as it contains a variety of recipes that I haven't seen before. My only issue with it is because it is Australian and I am using it in England, sometimes the measurements are confusing or the ingredients hard to come by - but a little internet research can show the English alternative! So far I have baked some really tasty recipes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Looks Good, 22 Jan. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Macaroons & Biscuits (The Australian Women's Weekly Essentials) (Paperback)
Book was bought for a Christmas present and was well received. Did have a quick look and would certainly buy it for myself as it was easy to follow and had some very delicious recipes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book for amateur bakers, 23 Jan. 2013
By 
Laura Auerbach "Laura Auerbach" (Lima, Peru) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Macaroons & Biscuits (The Australian Women's Weekly Essentials) (Paperback)
I just love the Australian Women's Weekly collection of books for baking. Easy recipes that are even easier to follow. Great results are obtained every time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Macaroons and Biscuits (Austalian Women's Weekly), 22 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Macaroons & Biscuits (The Australian Women's Weekly Essentials) (Paperback)
Very colourful cookbook with easy to follow instructions. It has other yummy cakes and biscuits too and I shall enjoy using it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Imaginative and Easy, 13 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Macaroons & Biscuits (The Australian Women's Weekly Essentials) (Paperback)
This is a great book, the selection of recipes is fantastic and the biscuits taste wonderful. I have never had a book where I have wanted to make so many things. In the true style of Australian Women's Cookery books it is fantastic value, beautifully presented and very easy to follow and if you happen to be a fan of Biscotti biscuits it has a great variety of recipes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another winner, 9 Mar. 2014
By 
G. Mackie "Gilly" (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Macaroons & Biscuits (The Australian Women's Weekly Essentials) (Paperback)
I'm a big fan of the Austalian Women's Weekly cookbooks and so was excited to get this one. The recipes look gorgeous, I love that every recipe has a photo! I've already tried the lemon Macarons and Mini Florentines - both turned out exactly as supposed to and tasted delicious. Can't wait to try more of the recipes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Macaroons & Biscuits (The Australian Women's Weekly Essentials)
Macaroons & Biscuits (The Australian Women's Weekly Essentials) by Australian Women's Weekly (Paperback - 1 April 2010)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews