Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Book
I'm a big fan of these books because the recipes work! This is no exception. A great range of recipes that are 'traybakes' and good to cut if you have a family, make for get togethers or take to fund raisers. My only critiscm is that they are quite indulgent but with a bit of thought you can make them more healthy if you want to! Another recommendation...
Published on 8 Jan 2006

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars they look yummy!
Just received my copy of this book, and i was very excited about getting it.

Do not buy this book if you hate coconut - it is full of it! i do hate it, but am just going to leave it out in the hopes all will be well.

simple and easy to follow, but does have some ingredients that may be hard to find.
Published on 7 April 2010 by H. Oppong-Adarkwa


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 8 Jan 2006
By A Customer
I'm a big fan of these books because the recipes work! This is no exception. A great range of recipes that are 'traybakes' and good to cut if you have a family, make for get togethers or take to fund raisers. My only critiscm is that they are quite indulgent but with a bit of thought you can make them more healthy if you want to! Another recommendation would be the Cafe Style Cakes book from this series. If you need to bake things on a regular basis both of these books can't really be beaten for value for money. I always get compliments on everything I bake from them and the majority of the recipes are so easy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Recipes that WORK!, 21 Mar 2008
By 
Miss K (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Simple Slices (The Australian Women's Weekly Minis) (Paperback)
I love the Australian Women's Weekly baking series and collect them all as they come out. This is a small book but there are lots of fantastic recipes. A lot of the recipes do contain coconut, fruit or nuts although if you're not a fan on nuts etc you can reduce the amount or leave them out completely and the slices still come out great (I've tried it!).

I don't have any complaints about this book - the recipes are all UK-friendly and don't require any conversion. They are easy to follow even for beginners. Slices are a great alternative to cakes and biscuits and this book has a nice variety of slices in a variety of textures e.g. go-ey luscious choc macadamia squares, crumbly chocolate rum & raisin slices (just made these yesterday without the rum - yum!), crunchy coffee malt slices, chewy fruit chews and melt-in-the mouth tangy lemon squares. A really good addition to anyone's kitchen shelf and at a bargain price!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a great little book for mothers and grandmothers, 22 Jun 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This great little book is a must, tray bakes for parties, sleepovers, cake stalls, school fete's, Church fete's. Its full of such easy to make, lovely cakes.... even some great no bakes to make with the grandchildren from a very young age. The Australian Womens Weekly make some great books, I have bought several recently and haven't found a bad recipe yet!!! Keep them coming excellent value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy, great recipes, 29 Jan 2009
By 
M. Brophy - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Simple Slices (The Australian Women's Weekly Minis) (Paperback)
This is a great secret weapon for cake stalls, coffee mornings and the like. Nothing too difficult- ingredients all easy to get hold of. I agree that some recipes are not for the calorie concious but we all deserve a treat! (or 2). Quite a few more healthy muesli bar type ones that my kids love in their packed lunches. So much nicer to make your own- you can't buy things like these in the shops. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Smashing little book...great for table sales..., 26 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Lots of ideas for tray bakes, most suitable for any charity or school table sales.
Some of the ingredients are not sold here in UK but can daily be substituted after
a quick look online for a little advice.

Having now tried some 8 of the recipes I can also relay they are tasty and down linger on the plate for to long especially when the young are around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars LIKE IT BUT DONT LOVE IT, 23 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
BOUGHT THIS AFTER LOOKING INSIDE, AND THOUGHT THAT IT WOULD DO...AND IT DOES. NOT ALL RECIPES ARE FOR SLICES ITS A MIX OF CAKES AND OTHER THINGS...ITS A GOOD ONE TO HAVE AND I LIKE IT AND WILL KEEP IT AND USE IT, BUT WASNT EXCITED BY IT...SORRY. THATS WHY I GAVE FOUR STARS REALLY, ITS A GOOD BOOK AND GOOD RECIPES BUT THATS ALL I SUPPOSE, AND GOOD FOR A GIFT FOR ANY AVID BAKER IN THE FAMILY.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book for amateur bakers, 23 Jan 2013
By 
Laura Auerbach "Laura Auerbach" (Lima, Peru) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Simple Slices (The Australian Women's Weekly Minis) (Paperback)
I just love the Australian Women's Weekly collection of books for baking. Easy recipes that are even easier to follow. Great results are obtained every time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Transatlantic baking. Tray bakes Australain Style, 23 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Simple Slices (The Australian Women's Weekly Minis) (Paperback)
SIMPLE SLICES (AUSTRALIAN WOMANS WEEKLY MINI) .........We enjoyed many of the 'slices' which we in the UK call tray bakes when on joliday in New Zealand at the beginning of the year. I have made a number of the recipes from this book and two others one of which I purchased while on holiday. They tend to be very sweet (wonderful) and condensed milk is used freely which is rather an expensive ingredient especially in Australia and New Zealand, much pricier than in the Uk. I shall continue to try new recipes and not count the calories !!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Quick and easy, 25 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Simple Slices (The Australian Women's Weekly Minis) (Paperback)
Great little book with some brilliant tray bake recipes using easily obtainable ingredients. Also contains a glossary, temperature conversion chart etc. so anyone can use it. Quantities given in grams as well as "cups" so no confusion as to weight of ingredients.
Have made several of the recipes which have all been excellent and many can be adapted to use your own additions.
Highly recommend this little book.. excellent value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars they look yummy!, 7 April 2010
By 
H. Oppong-Adarkwa "deighdawls" (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Simple Slices (The Australian Women's Weekly Minis) (Paperback)
Just received my copy of this book, and i was very excited about getting it.

Do not buy this book if you hate coconut - it is full of it! i do hate it, but am just going to leave it out in the hopes all will be well.

simple and easy to follow, but does have some ingredients that may be hard to find.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Simple Slices (The Australian Women's Weekly Minis)
Simple Slices (The Australian Women's Weekly Minis) by Susan Tomnay (Paperback - 16 Mar 2007)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews