Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cupcakes and Fairy Cakes
This is a fantastic addition to the Aussie Women's Weekly series. I really love all of the photos and the recipes. I have made a couple, the could cakes were delicious! It is very thin, so fits well on the shelf. The ingredients are easy to come by. Some of the decorating tools might need a bit of searching, but the book offers a range of cupcakes from easy to more...
Published on 12 Feb 2007 by Meghan T Shaw

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Slightly disappointing...
I have several Australian Woman's Weekly publications and have always found them to be extremely good. This one is disappointing on two counts. Firstly, if you have bought this for ideas on how to decorate cakes the ideas are very repetitive, secondly I found a lot of the actual cake recipes very similar. That aside there is a fantastic recipe for individual lemon...
Published on 14 Aug 2009 by Mrs. A. Condron


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cupcakes and Fairy Cakes, 12 Feb 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cupcakes & Fairycakes (The Australian Women's Weekly Essentials) (Paperback)
This is a fantastic addition to the Aussie Women's Weekly series. I really love all of the photos and the recipes. I have made a couple, the could cakes were delicious! It is very thin, so fits well on the shelf. The ingredients are easy to come by. Some of the decorating tools might need a bit of searching, but the book offers a range of cupcakes from easy to more tricky. Some of the recipes only make a couple of cakes, but it seems easy to double and triple if needed! Great addition to my cupcake collection =)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars cupcakes, fairy cakes, butterfly cakes, it's all the same to me, 21 Dec 2009
This review is from: Cupcakes & Fairycakes (The Australian Women's Weekly Essentials) (Paperback)
Once upon a time there were fairy cakes or angel cakes or butterfly cakes - tiny individual cakes with wings made out of the tops and stuck together with buttercream. Remember those? Well cupcakes are the reinvention of the fairy/angel/butterfly cake with or without the wings and in a host of different flavours and colours and toppings. This book covers quite a lot of different types of cupcakes, as they all do but one thing that can be guaranteed here is the Australian Woman's Weekly seal of approval. I have roughly 50 or so of these cookbooks and I can guarantee that everything turns out the way it's supposed to. I have not had a single failure in all the years I've been using these books and all the recipes I've tried. This book is no exception. All recipes are triple tested and this book in particular has been reprinted due to popular demand. Everything will taste and look as it should. There are around 60 recipes in this book, not as much as some but more than others, but the point is, that unlike some of the other books, these are guaranteed to turn out as they should and that has been my personal experience. They will work, so if you are a bit worried about trying cake making or decorating or cupcakes in particular, then I would recommend this book because you will have success. The ice cream cone cakes, the rocky road, and the frou frou cakes went down a treat when I served them up and there are also some nice celebration cupcakes, for weddings, including a mini crockenbouche cupcake which is just adorable. Other tasty delights include banana cream cupcakes which are a lot like banoffee, black forest, chocolate ginger, violet cream and even some "unbaked" cupcakes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book and great value., 17 April 2009
This review is from: Cupcakes & Fairycakes (The Australian Women's Weekly Essentials) (Paperback)
Cupcakes and Fairy Cakes is a glossy colourful paperback cookery book. It has lots of helpful photographs showing the finished cakes so it is easy to copy the different designs. To my mind the most helpful information is the fact that the ingredient amounts are shown not only in cups but also in grams ! Brilliant. Some Australian cookery books show cups only.....this book is different and so much better. An excellent buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Slightly disappointing..., 14 Aug 2009
By 
Mrs. A. Condron (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cupcakes & Fairycakes (The Australian Women's Weekly Essentials) (Paperback)
I have several Australian Woman's Weekly publications and have always found them to be extremely good. This one is disappointing on two counts. Firstly, if you have bought this for ideas on how to decorate cakes the ideas are very repetitive, secondly I found a lot of the actual cake recipes very similar. That aside there is a fantastic recipe for individual lemon cheesecakes - very simple - produced fantastic results.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic book, great for cup cake adicts, 7 Mar 2009
This review is from: Cupcakes & Fairycakes (The Australian Women's Weekly Essentials) (Paperback)
I have this book, but purchased another copy for my mum, as everyone loves the cakes I have made from this book, the white chocolate mud cake is the best I have ever come across., Fantastic price for the amount of recipes and cake idea`s you get, If you love cup cakes you will love this book!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book for ideas, recipes and techniques, 10 July 2009
By 
This review is from: Cupcakes & Fairycakes (The Australian Women's Weekly Essentials) (Paperback)
I've purchased other cupcake books and been very disappointed. This book steals the show, hands down! Each cupcake has a different recipe - so the variety of flavours for both cake and frosting are numerous. Some other books don't have many recipes, and this is a real distinction for this book. Also, there are heaps of decorating ideas for a range of different skill levels. This is good because you can start with the easy ideas and develop your skills until you can perfect the more complicated techniques. However, even if you just want to make tasty cupcakes with little decoration, there are heaps of options in this book. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lovely book. - very highly recommended., 9 Feb 2010
By 
Mrs. H. V. Minor "Halimeda Hilary" (Guildford, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cupcakes & Fairycakes (The Australian Women's Weekly Essentials) (Paperback)
I have recently become smitten by the cup cake making bug and wanted a book that would inspire me to create elegantly decorated little "bonnes bouches". This is that book! The cake designs are elegantly simple, original (I'm particularly impressed by "The Wedding Story" on pp 62/63) and beautiful little masterpieces and "all in the best possible taste". What I like so much is that techniques (some simple, some less so but all completely achievable by us "home cooks" e.g flowers made from thinly sliced pineapple and pear slices) are illustrated in a section at the back of the book. I don't know about you, but it's been a while since I indulged in fairy cake making and I need reminding so this section is particularly appreciated :-) Each cake has its own flavouring so there is no lack of variety there. This book is superbly up to the standard of "Australian Women's Weekly" books and all recipes have been "triple tested for you success every time." Has anyone else noticed that the illustration for Verryberry Cakes is identical to the one on the cover of the Marks & Spencer "Cupcakes" book?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best cupcake book, 4 Nov 2010
This review is from: Cupcakes & Fairycakes (The Australian Women's Weekly Essentials) (Paperback)
Terrific book for anyone interested in baking cupcakes. Have bought many cupcake books but this is the best. Clear instructions and pictures with every recipe. Ingredients measured in cups and grams, which is brilliant. If new to baking this is a must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book!, 31 May 2009
By 
This review is from: Cupcakes & Fairycakes (The Australian Women's Weekly Essentials) (Paperback)
Great recipes and lovely designs - brilliant all rounder. I was looking for a cupcake book for ages and really pleased I bought this one, which is easy to use but produces stunning results.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 26 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cupcakes & Fairycakes (The Australian Women's Weekly Essentials) (Paperback)
If you like baking cupcakes of any type of cake its perfect for your use great recipes for you. I enjoy using this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cupcakes & Fairycakes (The Australian Women's Weekly Essentials)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews