Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Reading For Every Embroiderer 10/10, 24 Dec. 2011
By 
Freespirit "bo3ss" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Colour Confidence in Embroidery (Milner Craft) (Hardcover)
Trish Burr has to be one of the best 'thread painters' in the world. Her work is amazing. This is a truly inspirational and excellent reference book for anyone interested in embroidery whether you are a total novice or an experieced embroiderer. It has to be an essential item for a book shelf and would make a fantastic gift. The book covers every aspect of choosing colours for embroidery, which colours work well together and how to choose. It is extremely easy to follow and gives clear explanations in realtion to various colour comsbinations for many different projects. There is also some really good information on how to blend colours for the most realistic effects. The photos are in full colour and very detailed. The author has included 'step by step' illustrations as well as sample projects which demonstrate the different effects which can be achieved using various thread colours. She has included some excellent information as to the types of cloth available and makes recommendations which fabric works best with which threads. In addition to all of this information are some truly beautiful projects which will inspire. There are outlines which can be traced off to use in your own projects, colour keys with reference numbers for DMC cotton floss and various silk thread. At the end of the book Trish has included the names, addresses and emails/online shops which supply all the materials she has used. I think the thing I liked most about this book is the explanations and demonstrations as to how to achieve realism in silk shading or needlepainting. The photographs illustrate clearly how to achieve the various effects of laying threads so that the finished project almost comes to life rather than looking 'flat'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Inspiration, 3 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Colour Confidence in Embroidery (Milner Craft) (Hardcover)
I bought this book on the glowing recommendations of the two previous reviewers and I'm so glad I did. This is one beautifully produced book. The colour combinations shown are actually worked in embroidery. Rather than colour blobs in a table format you can see straight away how they can turn out.

At the end of the book are projects you can work on with diagrams and of course suggested colours. The little Tufted Flycatcher perched on a branch is 100% cute and the worked example is incredibly lifelike.

Personally I know now that with this book I will never be stuck on what colours will go with each other. This book is both immensely practical and a work of art.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A superb book, 1 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Colour Confidence in Embroidery (Milner Craft) (Hardcover)
I saw this book favourably reviewed in Australian Homespun and ordered it on the strength of the review. I wasn't disappointed! If you're a quilter, embroiderer or textile artist, this would be a worthwhile addition to your reference library, and the excellent photographs of Ms Burr's careful and beautiful work are a delight. Her illustrations of subtly changing colour variation make my fingers itch - I can feel a new and very different quilt coming on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Trish Burr does it again, 14 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Colour Confidence in Embroidery (Milner Craft) (Hardcover)
This is a beautiful book which does what it says on the cover! To get the best out of it I really think you need to be familiar with thread painting otherwise known as Long and Short stitch or needle painting. The book is aimed at people with some experience in this field although there is a brief explanation of the stitches used in shading in embroidery ie long and short stitch, French knots, satin stitch and split stitch. If you are new to this method you might find it helpful to start off with Long and Short Stitch Embroidery or Needle Painting Embroidery both by Trish Burr. Colour Confidence gives guidance as to how colour and the combinations of it affects the work. There are dozens of worked examples showing which colours look good together .There is whole section which provides a colour resource to refer to when trying to combine colours complete with the relevant DMC numbers. A large part of the book is taken up with various projects based on specific colours again with shade numbers given.
This book is a feast for the eyes and makes you just want to dive in and start stitching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Colour your judgement, 20 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Colour Confidence in Embroidery (Milner Craft) (Hardcover)
This is book for anyone who wishes to learn about the use of colour in embroidery. This book has been well thought out and produced - plenty of good photographic illustrations of colour combinations. Although predominately uses the technique of silk shading to demonstrate the information, this book can be used for just about any embroidery technique. Although a little pricey, it is really good value for money and a book that would be used frequently. I purchased this book on the strength of the reviews and none have been exaggerated. It truly is an excellent book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely book, 20 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Colour Confidence in Embroidery (Milner Craft) (Hardcover)
A good reference book with lovely pictures, it's helping me with my early attempts at silk shading but I am sure it will continue to came in handy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful book, 13 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Colour Confidence in Embroidery (Milner Craft) (Hardcover)
this is. Great book for anyone who is interested in this technique. I was impressed by the colour photographs and the illustrated instructions on how to do this embroidery technique.
There's some small projects in book to get you started . Overall a must for anyone interested in silk shading embroidery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Colour confidence, 2 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Colour Confidence in Embroidery (Milner Craft) (Hardcover)
Arrived on time and in excellent condition
It is a lovely book with easy to understand instructions and lots of illustrations
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This book is beautiful I've already started a project it arrived in perfect ..., 17 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Colour Confidence in Embroidery (Milner Craft) (Hardcover)
This book is beautiful I've already started a project it arrived in perfect order and in good time. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 29 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Colour Confidence in Embroidery (Milner Craft) (Hardcover)
wonderful book, incredible pictures gives me lots of inspiration for 'silk painting' embroidery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Colour Confidence in Embroidery (Milner Craft)
Colour Confidence in Embroidery (Milner Craft) by Trish Burr (Hardcover - 31 Mar. 2012)
£19.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews