Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Raised embroidery classic, 27 July 2007
By 
Elaine B Reader (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stump Work Embroidery (Milner Craft) (Milner Craft Series) (Hardcover)
This book is all you need if you're looking for well written and illustrated instructions for stumpwork flowers, insects and fruits.

The first chapter gives a short introduction to the history of stumpwork, followed by the types of materials required for the projects in the book. General instuctions are given for mounting the finished work as a brooch, paperweight, boxlid, etc. All items have illustrated instructions for the individual elements needed to complete the projects, or any single item you wish to make.

Gems such as the acorn, bee, dragonfly, butterfly, ladybird, owl, spider complete with web, christmas rose, pomegranite, rose, pansy and a most glorious thistle that gets you itching to stitch - fabulous projects in beautiful threads. The largest examples are two mirror frames to copy - one provides the book front, the other is the back( 6"x8" ) with single items being suitable for brooches. There's probably a hundred (if not more) flowers, fruits, and insects as well as the owl, the hedgehog and peapod all to inspire and make you wish you could stitch as well as the author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic book about a magic art, 28 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Stump Work Embroidery (Milner Craft) (Milner Craft Series) (Hardcover)
This book focus on the very ambitious project to rediscover the techniques of stumpwork embrodery. This book is an invitation to creativity based on historical sources. One of the things I like is how Janes Nicholasexplain and present each design of her project. Being abble to realize separately some of these very-well explained design is an added-plus. A fantastic addition to anyone library and an excellent way to move in tis techniques. Thank you Jane for your talent and for this fantastic book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars beautiful, 20 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stump Work Embroidery (Milner Craft) (Milner Craft Series) (Hardcover)
this is a lovely little book. I showed it to my sister, who promptly borrowed it and i haven't seen it since. i may have to get another....The patterns and easy to follow, the diagrams are lovely and styles are irrisistable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars exceeded expectations, 25 May 2013
By 
Mrs. H. Osborne (Cheshire, U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stump Work Embroidery (Milner Craft) (Milner Craft Series) (Hardcover)
Wonderful book... I can't wait to make a start doing this type of embroidery. It contains a host of flowers and bugs to embroider, and the detail is brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring, 24 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stump Work Embroidery (Milner Craft) (Milner Craft Series) (Hardcover)
Beautiful book with clear instructions. I had attended a one day workshop, but wanted to increase my knowledge and skills in this lovely form of embroidery, and this book fits that bill.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational, 3 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stump Work Embroidery (Milner Craft) (Milner Craft Series) (Hardcover)
Excellent clear diagrams making projects simple to follow. A few more colour plates would have been nice in a hard back book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent find, 8 Jan 2012
This review is from: Stump Work Embroidery (Milner Craft) (Milner Craft Series) (Hardcover)
I'd learnt stumpwork basics at college, and am now hoping to embark on a big project. This book was highly recommended, and I think it covers every aspect I shall need. It caters well for the complete beginner, but also has many tips and hints for the more experienced. There's lots of inspiration, and the diagrams are the clearest I've come across. The projects are set out with precise instructions, but the occasional addition of photos & sketches of historical work in the margins lead you on to develop new ideas. The quality of the these illustrations is excellent, especially the many coloured photographs. The introduction sets stumpwork in its historical context, and the chapter on materials gives good guidance. The price was a slight put-off, and the publication is more sumptuous than strictly necessary, but I'm very glad to have it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Adictive for needleworkers, 17 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stump Work Embroidery (Milner Craft) (Milner Craft Series) (Hardcover)
I already had the book which followed this one, and as it often referred back to it I decided to give in and buy it. (Stumpwork Embroidery - Designs and Projects). The two together provide enough inspiration to keep most embroiderers occupied for a very long time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Stump Work Embroidery (Milner Craft) (Milner Craft Series)
Stump Work Embroidery (Milner Craft) (Milner Craft Series) by Jane Nicholas (Hardcover - 1 Aug 1996)
Used & New from: 7.64
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews