Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars spooks secret
It's a thrilling book that is impossible to put down when you start reading it. I highly recommend it to anyone aged 8+.
Published on 10 Dec 2011 by Sammy

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best so far
I've enjoyed following the story, but although some major events happen in this story, it didn't really grip me and I do get a little fed up with the stupid decisions this kid makes.
Published 18 months ago by graham


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars spooks secret, 10 Dec 2011
This review is from: The Spook's Secret: Book 3 (The Wardstone Chronicles) (Paperback)
It's a thrilling book that is impossible to put down when you start reading it. I highly recommend it to anyone aged 8+.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A chilling third installment, 23 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Spook's Secret: Book 3 (The Wardstone Chronicles) (Paperback)
Joseph Delaney's ability to deliver big scares and chills alognside a gripping storyline and expertly developed characters is unsurpassed, except by J K Rowling.
The third book in the Wardstone Chronicles sees Tom and the Spook Mr Gregory head to their winter house high in the fells where the dark brings all manner of scary beasts out of the shadows and being the local Spook Mr Gregory does his duty by protecting the inhabitants of the County from the darkness. In this third book we learn more about the Spook himself and his character begins to unfold more than it has in the previous two installments with the introduction of the women he loves, Meg, who happens to be a Lamia witch. But there is other trouble afoot as a rogue Spook is set on releasing an evil God upon the County. This installment is scarier and more disturbing than the previous two and could be too scary for readers under ten.
Delaney draws the reader in from the first page and the action, excitment and thrills don't let up until the very last page, these books are fast becoming my favourite series ever written, behind Harry Potter at the moment. If you enjoy scary and exciting books that are impossible to put down then The Wardstone Chronicles are definitely perfect for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Compelling, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the 3rd in the series and my 3rd journey with Tom and The Spook! I love these books. They were initially recommended by my 14yr old god-daughter, Alice, and I am very happy to recommend them to others. We are near neighbours of the county and these tales of magical landscapes, witches and supernatural are at the same time borrowed from folklore and a new interpretation of Lancashire.
For anyone who would like to find a little magic under the surface of the everyday, a little peril and who would be a force for good.
Ps:
I am well past 14
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Spooks book 3 Spooks secret, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the best so far in the ward stone chronicles I've only read the first three and this is my fave once.There's really nothing bad to say about this book made me cry and feel empathy for the characters.i'd recommend this book to someone who likes action,violence and emotion. Joseph Delaney is the best author I know!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It gets Darker!, 4 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Its a rough life being a spook or his apprentice! Again as the first two books in this series its a good read a little 'darker' as more of the Spooks secrets come back to haunt him and as for Tom he could do with doing as he was told to keep him out of trouble. Alice's character is becoming more to the fore is she or isn't she? What do you do with witches?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Spooks, 24 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really enjoyed these books could not put the books down. Looking forward to reading all the others.keep them coming please
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The spooks secret, 28 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As per other books in series a good read lots of tension right to end author got it right on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars loved it, 20 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My 13 year old son loves this series he read 8 books in the series during a weeks holiday brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing., 23 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
When I was reading this book I could hardly let go of it. The Spooks Secret is a definite read for people who liked the first two books (obviously). At some points it was funny, others sad. Bring on the next book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 5 Feb 2014
By 
Mr S J Fox (Louth, Lincolnshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Spook's Secret: Book 3 (The Wardstone Chronicles) (Paperback)
Kids love the series, has kept them entertained for some time. Even the wife loved them, with suspense and some degree of edginess - (wife's words, not mine) Suitable for youth and my wife.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Spook's Secret: Book 3 (The Wardstone Chronicles)
The Spook's Secret: Book 3 (The Wardstone Chronicles) by Joseph Delaney (Paperback - 5 Mar 2009)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews