Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Further spooky adventures
In the second book of the series the characters start to come to life and previous actions come back to haunt Thomas and the spook. At the start Thomas is sent to rescue the Spook's brother from a Boggart, this leads to a trip to Priestown, an encounter with an evil so large that it was once worshiped as a god and is gaining power again. Add to that the chief Quisitor...
Published on 4 Sep 2007 by Wyvernfriend

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun plot + backstory
Review: It starts with Thomas doing his first binding of a boggart on his own in Priestown. Soon after leaving, they return to pay respects to the Spook's now-dead brother. And also to defeat the creature that the Spook hadn't done before, a creature pressing its victims to death, The Bane. Onece there, they find the Quisitor in town, hunting witches, wizards, spooks, and...
Published 18 months ago by Nina (Death Books and Tea)


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Further spooky adventures, 4 Sep 2007
By 
Wyvernfriend (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
In the second book of the series the characters start to come to life and previous actions come back to haunt Thomas and the spook. At the start Thomas is sent to rescue the Spook's brother from a Boggart, this leads to a trip to Priestown, an encounter with an evil so large that it was once worshiped as a god and is gaining power again. Add to that the chief Quisitor who has a hatred for Spooks and you have an interesting fight for survival.

Alice appears again and Thomas has to make some very hard choices.

Interesting, this series is getting better as he goes and I want to see how it finishes. I left the first one unsure that I wanted to continue but this one has left me wanting more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great (and good) surprise!, 31 Aug 2007
By 
Stefano D. C. Pachi (Heidelberg, Germany) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I bought this series through Amazon.co.uk, and at first I really thought it would be a great series. When I received the books though, it came as a small dissapointment. Why? They are not as long as they seem. Their design and cover is incredible (UK cover). I think it really fits, but the book itself is way smaller than the number of pages suggest. For this reason it took me some time to read this book.
And how much time I missed. Though short, the first book is very sattisfying, and the climax and end of it are amazing. I then began to read the second one (this one), and I couldn't let it go. I stayed awake longer than I should in order to finish it, but it was worth it. It is quite easy to read, and the story is marvellous, you just can not stop reading it, for every time a problem is solved a new one appears, and the relationship between Tom and Alice has some pretty interessing twists. All around, I believe this is the best book in the series (so far). The third book (Spook's Secret) is but slower, and focus a lot on the Spook's past, perhaps a little too much. The last one released (Spook's Battle) is once again set at a quick pace, having many dramatic moments. And once again it reaches an intense climax. A very interesting series, by a new and promising author.
Oh, and if you stop to actually imagine and "feel" some of the scenes, you may find out it is actually scary!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Is anyone all bad or all good?, 7 Aug 2005
By 
Brida "izumi" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the second book in the Wardstone Chronicles by Joseph Delaney. The book continues the story of the Spook and his young apprentice, Tom Ward.
The Spook and Tom deal with the dark - witches, boggarts and warlocks, ghosts and ghasts. Because of this, they are not popular with the majority of the community (Tom is warned at the very beginning of his apprenticeship that his job will be a lonely one), especially priests. So when the Spook announces that they are going to Priestown, Tom senses that there may be trouble ahead. However, the reason for going there is too important to be ignored, for it is there, below the town in the catacombs, that they are to face a terrible evil that is known as 'the Bane'. The Bane is a terrible creature that is able to use the priests or other people of the town to do its bidding - it is able to read your mind, enter your thoughts and dreams - people are tricked into offering it blood, some are so tormented by it that they only see suicide as a way out of its control. However, Tom discovers an old curse that doesn't bode well for their mission; if the prophecy is realised, Tom may lose a great friend.
This is the basic plot. Just like the first book in this series, Delaney has managed to create great characters. Alice returns, a girl who has witches in her family yet Tom is determined to see the best in her. As in the first book, Alice is perhaps one of the best characters - Delaney uses her to great effect in attempting to illustrate how good and evil are often very close together, things are not quite so black and white as some other children's books like to suggest. The relationship between Tom and the Spook is also developing more; Tom learns things about his master that shock him and trouble him. It is because of this that adults are able to enjoy the books so much; this series is incredibly intelligent, original, and brilliantly written. You are not given all the answers. There are times when you doubt certain characters for the things they do, even the main character Tom. Rather than being a book about good against bad, it is a book which shows how good can sometimes come from bad and vice-versa.
All in all, this is a fantastic series. While it may never be as well known as Harry Potter, I think it is far more clever than the popular wizard series. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Spooks Curse, 3 July 2009
This review is from: The Spook's Curse: Book 2 (The Wardstone Chronicles) (Paperback)
Ive read all of the Spooks books now, and have found them all wonderfully simplistic to read and understand. They are written for teenagers, but can be very enjoyable for adults too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Spooks Curse, 8 Feb 2010
By 
Mr. Dennis Hannar (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Spook's Curse: Book 2 (The Wardstone Chronicles) (Paperback)
This series of books by Joseph Delany are good entertainment, and keep the pages turning. Buyer Beware!!!! The Last Apprenice (curse of the bane), is a differant book with a differant tital but is in fact the same book. I was cought out with this, make sure you are not. Also beware the book, The Spooks Mistake, and the book The Last Apprentice (wrath of the bloodeye). Again, the same story, but under a differant title and covour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 8 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book was amazing, I couldn't stop reading it. At times it was a little scary but I loved it. Thomas. J. Ward went on another great adventure with The Spook and Alice with another beast to bind... Or kill. I would recommend this book to teenagers who like a good horror/adventure. I really liked this book and also The Spook's Apprentice (the 1st book in this series), I cannot wait to read the others!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The spooks Curse, 19 Feb 2006
I am reading the book and i just can't put it down. It is so good that you dissappear into it and you feel you are in it. Tom Ward and the spook travel round the country defending the people from the dark,witches,boggarts and any type of darkness. They travel to priestown to go to the spooks brothers frunerl and also to finish some unfinished bisiness The Bane. But the Qisitor is in priestown, he hunts down witches and warlocks. unfortantly a spook is counted as a warlock so if he finds them they will be burnt. An amazing book that is great page after page, i recommend it to all ages as it is such a good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It's going well!, 30 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Second in the series and still going well. More about the development of Tom Ward as he continues his education at the Spook's hand. Its a good read well written, why did it take so long to find out about this series?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 18 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Spook's Curse: Book 2 (The Wardstone Chronicles) (Paperback)
Anything that keeps my Daughter reading is good. This series has her hooked, so will be looking for the next one in the series soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The spooks curse book 2, 28 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Enjoyed the book had to finish it good book by author kept on the tension right to the end was there
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Spook's Curse: Book 2 (The Wardstone Chronicles)
The Spook's Curse: Book 2 (The Wardstone Chronicles) by Joseph Delaney (Paperback - 5 Mar 2009)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews