Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Book
This is a wonderful story that is especially good for little ones. I read it to my Pre-Kindergarten class and they loved it. It tells the actions of Rosie, a hen, walking around the barnyard totally oblivious to the fox on her heels. This book is a fun way for kids to learn directional words. For example, Rosie goes "through the fence." The picture shows the fox going...
Published on 22 Aug 2003 by A. Goodwyn

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A book for 3-5 yr olds
A good solid book. Delivered promptly.
Some pages do not have words for children to add their own.
A short story so good for short attention spans. Pictures are basic and bold.
Published 6 months ago by KN


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Book, 22 Aug 2003
By 
A. Goodwyn (Nacogdoches, TX United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rosie's Walk (Paperback)
This is a wonderful story that is especially good for little ones. I read it to my Pre-Kindergarten class and they loved it. It tells the actions of Rosie, a hen, walking around the barnyard totally oblivious to the fox on her heels. This book is a fun way for kids to learn directional words. For example, Rosie goes "through the fence." The picture shows the fox going over. The class loved to tell about what was happening with the fox. Sometimes he gets himself into a lot trouble following the hen! You will have to read it to find out what happens in the end!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic for young children, 23 Sep 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Rosie's Walk (Paperback)
Rosie's Walk is surely by now a classic in the collection of bedtime stories for young children, whether or not they can read for themselves. This delightful children's book provides a good story with rich and detailed illustrations. The words of the storyline are minimal and tell in simple language where Rosie goes on her walk. The total lack of reference to what happens around Rosie as she walks (and this is where the illustrations come into their own) adds to the humour of this enchanting tale.
Pat Hutchins is a consummate artist and has captured the story of Rosie's Walk in her pictures, with the words of the storyline virtually redundant. This book is an essential for young children. They will love to share it with others as well as enjoy 'reading' their own story to Pat Hutchins' witty illustrations. It's a quick read for parents too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Memories, 4 Feb 2009
By 
P. Antoniou (North London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I remember reading this when I was a kid so I bought it for mine.
I wasn't sure my kids were going to like it but they got the idea of it straight away and started telling me what's happening and going to happen to the fox on the next page just by the pictures. He does ask for it now and then. It's just a little simple book but enjoyable. For the money I thought it was worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Book, 22 Aug 2003
By 
A. Goodwyn (Nacogdoches, TX United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rosie's Walk (Paperback)
This is a wonderful story that is especially good for little ones. I read it to my Pre-Kindergarten class and they loved it. It tells the actions of Rosie, a hen, walking around the barnyard totally oblivious to the fox on her heels. This book is a fun way for kids to learn directional words. For example, Rosie goes "through the fence." The picture shows the fox going over. The class loved to tell about what was happening with the fox. Sometimes he gets himself into a lot trouble following the hen! You will have to read it to find out what happens in the end!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rosie's Walk, 4 Feb 2010
This review is from: Rosie's Walk (Paperback)
A lovely book with lots on each page to look at and discuss with your child, my little girl adores this book and loves to see what will happen to the silly fox on each page as he follows the oblivious Rosie about the farmyard - a must for any book box!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 13 Dec 2009
By 
H. Wright "Law Student" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rosie's Walk (Board book)
A classic book, I remembered this from my childhood and bought it for my 18 month old daughter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful fun!, 6 Oct 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I LOVE this book - it allows the child to feel 'clever' as they see the fox's antics while the hen is oblivious - humorous, neat and the launch pad for a new approach to children's picture books!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A classic, 21 Mar 2010
By 
Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog "Falcata T... - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Rosie's Walk (Paperback)
A book that's been printed for a large number of years which gets a remake with a CD that the young reader will just love to help with their experience. Presented as a special present to my nephew this made a real impression as he got to see how an almost Looney Toon fox was outsmarted by a hen on her walk. Great fun, full of wonderful pictures with vivid colours that just stand out. A real gem and one that will continue to inspire for many more years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hen 6: Fox 0, 3 Feb 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Rosie's Walk (Board book)
We've had this book out of the library more often than any other [sorry, Amazon!]. The text is just one sentence, the story is told in the detailed and witty illustrations, so that a child can 'read' it herself [board book version recommended]. Perhaps dated in style, but timeless in appeal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent text for emergent readers!, 5 Oct 2000
By A Customer
Follow the story of Rosie the hen as she takes a pre-dinner stroll around the farmyard.
This book tells the simple tale of Rosie who decides to take a seemingly uneventful walk around the farm before lunch. "Rosie's Walk" is a simple text consisting of just 32 words. However, the text is rich in propositions. The text exactly match the delightfully bright illustrations of Rosie which aids emergent readers to decipher the text. There is a good structure to the story - showing a good begining, middle and ending. The story is rich in humour and irony as we follow the happenings to Rosie's predator, the fox. The fox is not mentionned in the text and here we have the unique use of illustration to tell a story alongside the story told by the text. Poor fox! Read this book to find out what happens to him!
A delightful book suitable for young children (pre-school) to enjoy with more experienced readers (parents, teachers, older siblings etc.) and for older children to enjoy reading alone.
This book will definitly find it's way into my Early Years classroom!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rosie's Walk
Rosie's Walk by Pat Hutchins (Paperback - 5 Mar 2009)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews