Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One Fun Book
This entertaining book is colourful and educational. It follows the journey of one fish from sea to the land. The illustrations are bright and amusing and there is plenty for young children to explore. Sure this might not be a scientific textbook but it is an accessible and enjoyable introduction to the theory of evolution. We loved it.
Published on 11 April 2011 by Holly Hughes

versus
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed
I had high expectations - a prize winning book explaining evolution by natural selection to 4 years and over. I know my 4 nearly 5 year old would love this...

And he did. He wanted me to read it to him over and over again. Sure.

But the book bothered me. I thought the language was often crude, e.g. 'weird fish' and so on, and I was troubled by the...
Published on 12 Sep 2010 by C. Hale


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One Fun Book, 11 April 2011
This review is from: One Smart Fish (Paperback)
This entertaining book is colourful and educational. It follows the journey of one fish from sea to the land. The illustrations are bright and amusing and there is plenty for young children to explore. Sure this might not be a scientific textbook but it is an accessible and enjoyable introduction to the theory of evolution. We loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Evolution fun, 28 Jan 2011
By 
Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog "Falcata T... - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: One Smart Fish (Hardcover)
I love books that have an interesting angle and give the reader something that is quite unexpected. Within this book is a story that will lead on to further questions, help inquisitive minds and above all else give the parent just as much fun reading as entertainment to the young listener. It's great fun with some cracking illustrations which are not just bright but something that will stick vividly in the readers imagination. Add to this a very creative story arc, carefully chosen words and a book that will stick with the reader for a long time. This is definitely a must for any young person's library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Educational and Colorful, 10 Mar 2010
This review is from: One Smart Fish (Hardcover)
Long, long ago before human kind was even a shadow of a thought and land was just a barren desert, the ocean was full of fish. They came in all shapes and sizes, colourful and scary but one fish was particularly special. This fish was the smartest fish in the sea. Most unusual of all was his strange desire to walk on land and he spent many long hours staring at the empty shores while his companions played in the waves. One day he made up his mind that he would be first to walk on the beach and he thought long and hard before finally inventing... Feet! This little fish set foot on dry land for the first time ever but it soon became clear that it was a lonely place and it wasn't long before he rejoined his friends in the water. But his adventure was just the start of the long and difficult conquest of land.

When you think about it this is a book of staggering ambition, to take the incredibly complex theory of evolution and somehow condense it and make it accessible to young readers and I have to say it succeeds magnificently. Without being over the top with the telling, Chris Wormell manages to inform and delight with this funny tale of a smart little fish and his pioneering work in the name of evolution. Everything is here to both satisfy budding scientific minds and provide an entertaining story while the final page in particular is well worth a look as it contains animals from dinosaurs, reptiles, birds and of course, us, all starting from one little fish in the water.

The authors' writing creates a relaxed and friendly atmosphere with its chatty feel and the illustrations are colourful with plenty of humorous goings on to ensure there is always something new to notice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A chess playing fish who wants to go for a walk, 2 Feb 2011
This review is from: One Smart Fish (Hardcover)
We picked this book up at the library, and were attracted by the picture of the fish playing chess on the cover. What a surprise to find out that it was an evolution story! Our toddler really likes fish, and the pictures are very beautiful and quite witty. But: this is not a science textbook! I was pleased to find a book that at least introduced the ideas in a story/myth form, but it raised a lot of questions that I would like to be able to answer when my child is old enough to ask them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great way to teach kids about evolution, and a cute story., 13 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Smart Fish (Paperback)
My 4 year old loves this and it raises a lot of questions about evolution - just slightly awkward to explain alongside the Biblical creation story if you're a Christian family! But very educational and funsea amoebas to man. This is an easy way to explain evolution to kids, he especially loves the big picture at the end, which shows all the tiny creatures in a big evolving crowd, from . He asks for it again and again. The illustrations are lovely, humorous and fun, with lots of different weird shaped fish to compare and giggle at. This is also educational for younger kids, to teach opposites and differences between the fish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 1 Jan 2014
By 
S. Scicluna (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Smart Fish (Paperback)
My daughter loves this book. Makes her think about evolution and is getting her interested in how the earth evolved. Would highly recommended for Pre-school age as a great introduction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Evolution for Toddlers! love it, 10 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Smart Fish (Paperback)
just what i wanted and so much better than i expected based on a few reviews.

My little girl is only 19 months we have read this book twice in 4 hours. She loves the pictures of the "FISH FISH FISH!!!" and then we go through all the animals on the second to last page, from the Dinosaurs ("rraa raas") all the way up to the "peee-poles" (people) and im sure she will get other things from the story as she gets older.

nice flow to the story, a bit silly (in a good way) and opens the door for questions.
not really accurate in terms of science but great way to get your child into the idea of evolution.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A joy to read, 18 May 2012
This review is from: One Smart Fish (Paperback)
I bought this book for my son when he was 4 and thought that the content (mainly the ending) was a little bit too advanced for him to take in and he would just see it as a fun story with great illustrations but boy was I wrong. The story has created endless discussions and has clearly opened his mind to the theory of evolution. He asks for this book every night (he is now 5) and I never get tired of reading it to him. I love this book and am also a huge fan of Chris Wormell's book 'The Sea Monster' which also captured the imagination of all of my boys.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The perfect explanation of evolution!, 17 April 2012
By 
D. J. Simcox - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Smart Fish (Paperback)
Our six year old daughter loves this book almost as much as we enjoy reading it to her. Illustrations and story are exceptional.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, 12 Sep 2010
This review is from: One Smart Fish (Hardcover)
I had high expectations - a prize winning book explaining evolution by natural selection to 4 years and over. I know my 4 nearly 5 year old would love this...

And he did. He wanted me to read it to him over and over again. Sure.

But the book bothered me. I thought the language was often crude, e.g. 'weird fish' and so on, and I was troubled by the smart fish playing chess and singing and dancing to represent its special significance in evolutionary history.

What do you 'get' about evolution from this story? That a single gifted animal decided to make the leap from sea to land, by inventing and crafting artificial feet and leaving the water, apparently able to breath unaided.

It's a great idea to make the fact of evolution accessible. But this is surely not evolution by natural selection. If the author wished to make Darwin's great idea truly clear to young minds, he should have found a way to present it without this kind of intellectual mangling?? It's patronising isn't it?

Time for someone to have another go. Beautiful pictures though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

One Smart Fish
One Smart Fish by Christopher Wormell (Paperback - 6 Jan 2011)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews