Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Very predictable, but Grath ROCKS!!!
Most of this book is typical Redwall stuff: an Evil Emperor deisres six pearls, which are hidden somewhere in Redwall by a deceased squirrel. The Redwallers have to crack six riddles to find each pearls, which they can use to pay off the ransom of their father abbot, who was captured by corsairs. Meanwhile, an expedition lead by Martin II (Mattimeo's son) pursue the ship...
Published on 27 Feb 2001

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A fantasy story of far off lands, battles and riddles.
It was a very well detailed story and could actually put a vivid picture of the setting in the readers head. It had very carefully planned out riddles that you had a chance to solve! I couldn't put the book down. I was almost forced to read the book constantly, so I could find out what happened next to the tears of all oceans.
Published on 30 April 1999


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Very predictable, but Grath ROCKS!!!, 27 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Pearls of Lutra (Hardcover)
Most of this book is typical Redwall stuff: an Evil Emperor deisres six pearls, which are hidden somewhere in Redwall by a deceased squirrel. The Redwallers have to crack six riddles to find each pearls, which they can use to pay off the ransom of their father abbot, who was captured by corsairs. Meanwhile, an expedition lead by Martin II (Mattimeo's son) pursue the ship carrying the abbot to emperor Ublaz's palace on the island of Sampetra. It all ends with Ublaz getting killed by his own secret weapon (Salamandastron style), Martin & co. returning with the abbot to Redwall, and the pearls being cast into the ocean by the new abbess.
But what brings this book up to top standard is the appearance of Grath Longfletch, my favourite character!!! From the moment she appears, the book takes an immediate turn for the good! She ROCKS!!!!! A sharpshooter with the longbow, Grath lays masses of wermin down with her green-plummed arrows. She has sworn vengence to those which killed her family; she also plays a large part in Martin's plan to defeat Ublaz. In the end, she goes off to live with her love Inbar Trueflight at the otter haven of Ruddaring (Hooray!!!).
Pearls of Lutra is a must-read book if you love otters (like me! Save the Mustelids!).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Book I' ve Ever Read!, 26 Aug 2000
By A Customer
This has got to be the most skilful and vivid book in all of Brian Jacques amazing 'Redwall' adventures. From the minute I picked it up I was really hooked. The perfect blend of laughter, tragedy, adventure and nail-biting suspense, together with a cleverly twisted ending, makes this - in my opinion - one of the best adventure stories ever written. The book does, however, differ slightly from the other books in the series. There is a slight undertone of menace and bitterness, woven subtly into the storyline through the unique characters. Still, the generally happy ending will make you breath a sigh of relief!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazingly, Fantastically, Brilliant, 18 Jun 1999
By A Customer
This is a fantastic, brilliant book, gripping you with suspense till the very end. Jacques brings to life everything- from the peaceful abbey mice to the bloodthirsty rats of Sampetra. With every animal alive like this and a quick, witty plot, this book is a must for every book lover. I first read this book by recommendation of the author from a friend and loved it. There are many other books in the same series, such as Martin the Warrior, or Mossflower - Brilliant as well, but overall this is the best because of it's suspense.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, 2 July 2007
This is by far the best of Brain Jacques suberb series. The plot is complex and unpredictable and the riddles add a whole new dimension. Grath Longfletch is by far the best developed character with her blend of tragic and violent past mixing with her love for Inbar beautifully. I would throughly recomend this book to anyone who loves fantasy or simply loves reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I really enjoyed this book, it's absolutley brilliant., 21 Mar 2000
By A Customer
I have enjoyed all of the Redwall books. I think Brian Jacques is a wonderful author, with an active imaganation.The book is about an emperor named Ublaz who, with the aid of his army of lizards, tries to raid Redwall. Back at Redwall a young hegdehog named Tansy and the rest of the Abbey dwellers are trying to solve some clues to find the Pearls of Lutra.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A fantasy story of far off lands, battles and riddles., 30 April 1999
By A Customer
It was a very well detailed story and could actually put a vivid picture of the setting in the readers head. It had very carefully planned out riddles that you had a chance to solve! I couldn't put the book down. I was almost forced to read the book constantly, so I could find out what happened next to the tears of all oceans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Pearls of Lutra, 5 July 2008
By 
Boudicca (Great Britain) - See all my reviews
The Pearls of Lutra is one of the best books out of the Redwall series that I have read. All of the books in the series are excellent but I recommend this one strongly! The book contains beautiful descriptions of Mossflower and riddles that are so hard to crack! This book is for anyone who likes the Redwall series!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Any lover of Brian Jacques Redwall stories will love this book, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Any lover of Brian Jacques Redwall stories will love this book...written in his particularly descriptive and humerous style...you can 'hear' the characters speak as you read the text...great stuff for chilling out to whatever age you are!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Tale Of Redwall, 2 Feb 2012
This review is from: The Pearls Of Lutra (Redwall) (Paperback)
Just One, Of The Many Tales Of Redwall, Amazing Book. My Favourite Book Series, By My Favourite Author Brian Jacques.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brian does it again!, 14 Nov 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Pearls of Lutra (Hardcover)
This is proubly the worst Redwall Book, but I loved it. I like the part at the end when Martin was fighting Ublaz and bot bitten by the snake.
IT IS GREART!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Pearls Of Lutra (Redwall)
The Pearls Of Lutra (Redwall) by Brian Jacques (Paperback - 2 Aug 2007)
6.06
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews