Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jacques at his best
Well, to sum up this book in 1,000 words is a daunting task, but I shall try my hardest to convey my emotions about what is arguably the best book in the redwall saga. This is essentially a tale on two fronts, one of revenge and one of destiny. The revenge comes in the form of teh young shrew Dippler who whilst on guard falls asleep and the log boats are lost. He is...
Published on 29 Feb 2004 by Harry Hughes

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully written, but heavily cliched
I'm a big Redwall fan, and love the whole series very much. But this book was too much like all the other Redwall books, maybe worse. It lacked the excitement and adventure of 'the Long Patrol', it lacked the awesome villains of 'Redwall' and 'Salamandastron', it lacked the emotions of 'The Pearls of Lutra'. Overall, it was a disappointment. The characters are bland, the...
Published on 18 Nov 2001 by riversarl


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jacques at his best, 29 Feb 2004
By 
Harry Hughes (Aberystwyth, Wales) - See all my reviews
Well, to sum up this book in 1,000 words is a daunting task, but I shall try my hardest to convey my emotions about what is arguably the best book in the redwall saga. This is essentially a tale on two fronts, one of revenge and one of destiny. The revenge comes in the form of teh young shrew Dippler who whilst on guard falls asleep and the log boats are lost. He is subsequently bullied by the harsh Fenno who has lofty aspirations to be the new log a log. The one of destiny becomes intertwined with the tale of Dippler when the great Redwall tapestry is stolen and Log a log slain by Fenno. So Dippler accompanied by his new friends Songbreeze and Dannflor (Who is setting out to prove himself to be a warrior worthy of his fathers respect) they set off in search of the tapestry stolen by the Marlfoxs'. Through a series of trials the three friends struggle on towards their final reckoning with the dominant male Marlfox, Mokkan whilst at the same time at Redwall abbey is under attack from the remaining four Marlfox's. So we reach a crossroads where not wanting to spoil the story for you I will cease my narritive, Song, Dann and Dippler are out to seek their own private quests whilst still united by their goal to retrieve the tapestry. At Redwall, the harsh warrior Rusvul Reguba, the compassionate warrior Jangular Swifteye, and the perilous Hare Florrian Dugglewolf Wilffachop all battle to save the abbey from the massing vermin.
An excellent book, my favourite of the series and well worth its five starts in my opinion. the three friends are perfectly created for us to see their young boundless energy. The old season warriors Jangular and Rusvul are apparent to us as concerned parents as well as strong warriors. But the entire book is given a life by the two comedy acts, the irrepressible Florian who is arguably the best hare since Pikkle Ffolger way back in Salamandastron, and the little baby Dwopple is as cute as he is develishly fiendish. An excellently entertaining ride, and the ending is not to be missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully written, but heavily cliched, 18 Nov 2001
By 
riversarl (Auckland, New Zealand) - See all my reviews
I'm a big Redwall fan, and love the whole series very much. But this book was too much like all the other Redwall books, maybe worse. It lacked the excitement and adventure of 'the Long Patrol', it lacked the awesome villains of 'Redwall' and 'Salamandastron', it lacked the emotions of 'The Pearls of Lutra'. Overall, it was a disappointment. The characters are bland, the plot is sometimes a bit farfetched and the humour runs pretty low sometimes. But that's not saying that this book's a total piece of trash: the scenery is described in amazing detail, especially the storm at the beginning and the waterfall. A performance group from Noonvale, reminescent of 'Martin the Warrior' come to Redwall and add charm to the whole situation. And at last we have some goons who only obey their masters wishes and are actually not at all that bad.
On the whole, this is not the best Redwall book to read, but read it anyway - the Redwall magic still runs strong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A wonderfull story, 8 Dec 1999
By A Customer
Brian Jacques is my favourite author at present, and he has certainly done himself proud. It is a story full of compassion; of good versus evil. As with all of his books, it found it's way right to my heart. I reccommend this book to adults as well as children, it is a truly wonderful book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marlfox is an exciting book full of adventure and thrills., 7 Dec 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Marlfox (Hardcover)
Marlfox is an incredible book with ideas that could have only been thought of by Brian Jacques. Once you have picked this book up you will not want to put it down. By Matthew Stanton
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutyballyspiffinghunkydory(qoute from tarquin L woodsorr, 5 Dec 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Marlfox (Audio Cassette)
Great .It was really well planned and basicly a wicked story.I've read all the redwall books but 1 (pearls of lutra)and this is one of the best .It made me cry and laugh.I recomend this book to any one who wants a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Book Displaying Brian Jacques' Talent, 18 Oct 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Marlfox (Hardcover)
I, a reader in the United States, have taken a trip to Canada just to purchase this book. Like all books in the Redwall series, I was not disappointed!
This book spins a story of the legendary Marlfoxes, who are said to have the power to vanish into thin air. They seek treasures and riches to take back to their High Queen Silth on an island in a tremendous and nearly bottomless lake. What have they stolen? The beloved Redwall tapestry! The Redwallers kill a Marlfox who has helped in the tapestry robbery, and the Marlfoxes decide that it's blood for blood. They will conquer Redwall no matter how much it takes.
This book, like all in the Redwall series, has scene after scene filled with extraordinary descriptions of beauty, power, and evil. All Redwall lovers will enjoy this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, well worth your time, 7 April 2012
By 
Ryan (England, Surrey) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marlfox (Redwall) (Kindle Edition)
I found this book extremely hard to put down, mainly due to the lovable characters, brilliant humor and the enchanting story line which had me laughing out loud on more than one occasion. Jacques captures an aspect of friendship rarely found in most books, with characters you will care about, and 'evil' characters you will truly hate. It is thrilling enough to keep you hooked, yet deep enough to reach your heart. Well worth the read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Tale Of Redwall, 2 Feb 2012
This review is from: Marlfox (Redwall) (Paperback)
Just One, Of The Many Tales Of Redwall, Amazing Book. My Favourite Book Series, By My Favourite Author Brian Jacques.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Quick and in good condition., 2 Oct 2010
Quick leverance and the book came in good condition, although there is a bend in the back cover, I suspect it might be from production because the bend isn't so much a bend as it looks like one from the outside, the cover in it self is alright.

Other than that it's in perfect condition and am very happy with it.

/sparrowcrazy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A book with lots of mysterious happenings, 19 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Marlfox (Hardcover)
This book is about a animals called Marlfoxes and they serve under their Queen who goes by the name of 'High Queen Silth' and she is the ruler of castle Marl. Castle Marl is in a hidden lake way down south and when one of her Marlfoxes goes to Redwall Abbey to steal something precious, only one person can stop them, his name is Dannflor Reguba!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa72f5618)

This product

Marlfox (Redwall)
Marlfox (Redwall) by Brian Jacques (Paperback - 2 Aug 2007)
6.44
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews