Customer Reviews


62 Reviews
5 star:
 (49)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars cant be all THAT bad....
It kind of says something about an author when they write a book intended for readers aged 9 or above and still have it read by people aged 19 or more - like myself.
I first heard of this particular series on a book review T.V programme, and decided it might be worth a look. When I got the book, I could hardly put it down. That was when I was about 12.
7 years...
Published on 14 Mar 2003 by Martyn Currill

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars gift
Gift
Published 5 months ago by Tina


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars cant be all THAT bad...., 14 Mar 2003
This review is from: Redwall (Paperback)
It kind of says something about an author when they write a book intended for readers aged 9 or above and still have it read by people aged 19 or more - like myself.
I first heard of this particular series on a book review T.V programme, and decided it might be worth a look. When I got the book, I could hardly put it down. That was when I was about 12.
7 years later on, and the same still holds true, and this book is one of the best in the series.
The story revolves around Matthias, a novice in the order of Redwall. He is young and clumsy, and dreams of being a warrior like Redwall Abbey's founder, Martin.
Little does he realise that Cluny the Scourge and his horde of rats are fast approaching the Abbey, and his chance to test himself may come sooner than expected....
this book has great characters, a great plot which follows the basic good-versus-evil principle, and some wonderfully emotional moments. even at 19, im still loving it, and i probably will for a lot longer. get it soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "The day of the warrior is gone, my son", 18 April 2005
By 
Sebastian Fernandez (Tampa, Florida United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Redwall (Paperback)
I am a big fantasy fan; and every time I found myself at the bookstore I would see the vast amount of books by Brian Jacques on the shelves and wonder if it was a series I would like. I had heard that the books were written for young adults, so I was not sure if they were my cup of tea. Luckily I decided to give "Redwall" a try, since the result was very satisfying. The author uses a wide variety of animals in order to create this fantasy setting, and portrays the typical battle of good versus evil in a crisp and simple way.
The main character in this first book of the series is a small mouse, Matthias, who is a novice and who dreams with becoming a warrior someday. His idol is Martin the Warrior, who according to many was the bravest mouse to ever set foot on earth. Matthias lives in Redwall and is part of the Order of Abbot Mortimer, and Order that professes peace and that has vowed never to harm another living creature. But all this peace and happiness is now in jeopardy, since Cluny the Scourge, a ruthless rat with an evil army, is heading towards Redwall, leaving mayhem through his path.
Cluny is the subject of a legend used by parents to scare their kids and to get them to do what they request, but now the threat is real and has to be faced. The terrifying rat is relentless, but hides a secret of his own, since in his nightmares, he receives the visit of a brave mouse that puts him to shame. The mouse is no other than Martin, who also talks to Matthias in his dreams. When the attack finally comes, we get to see a David versus Goliath type of fight that keeps up the excitement and that looks as if it will only end with the total destruction of one of the contestants.
Jacques proves that he has a lively imagination, and presents a world with many different creatures, who behave by the rules of what people usually associate them with. For example, the rats are evil, the foxes are sly, etc. The narration has a good pace and the book never gets boring, so overall it is a recommended experience. People that like straightforward plots will probably enjoy this novel. However, those looking for complex fantasy, in the style of George R. R. Martin, will be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Redwall by Brian Jacques, 14 May 2005
By 
Mrs. D. Messenger (Alton, Hampshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Redwall (Paperback)
I loved this book! The story is action packed,exiting, funny, aggressive in places and the best book I have read so far in my life!!!!Even better than the Harry Potter books.
My favourite characters are the paw sucking squirrel Silent Sam, the hero of the book Matthias Mouse, and the evil villain, Cluny. I also loved Constance the badger. I can't wait to start Mossflower, the next in the series & I would love it if my Mum got me the whole set.
Harvey aged 8.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliantly drammatised cassette, 26 Aug 2001
By A Customer
The author and a splendid cast bring this tale to life with fantastic voices and a superb plot. a great work. i would definitelly recommend this to annyone who likes a good story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Redwall-Brian Jacques best???, 23 Mar 2009
By 
This review is from: Redwall (Paperback)
Redwall is certainly my favourite of all the redwall books and if you are a new reader, this is where to start. It isn't the 1st of the series, but if you're unsure whether you want to give that a go, redwall will make up your mind. A tale of a daring adventure of woodland animals-yeah, i know that that sounds a tad wierd. Well, it isn't. Don't not read the books because of that, because Brian Jacques produces fantasy that reads like realism and this will definitely cheer you up. I started reading this series when I was 8, but I would say that there is no age rsnge on it. A thorably enjoyable book for all ages, boys and girls, but more so boys-perfect for tom boys ( you'll enjoy it more if you're younger because you have better imaginations then :D .)
Mikaela (age 14)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A thrilling book with bravery and cunning!, 1 July 2000
By A Customer
You MUST join in the adventures of Matthias descendant of Martin and find out how he and Methuselah along with some willing friends find the legendary sword of Martin the Warrior.Martin was the founder of Redwall Abbey, he brought fear into the hearts of the coldest of vermin throughout the land of Mossflower and surrounding country.He was the legend of legends until he died. When he died he left a puzzle which only one creature-a true warrior-could find.One which he allready new much about, the next warrior to be, Matthias his great descendant. You will not want to put this book down, you will say "Oh just one more chapter" until you finally realise what Matthias must do in his quest to save Redwall Abbey from the marauding army of Cluny the Scourge!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Bug's Life meets Watership Down, 7 Jan 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Redwall (Paperback)
Really, I mean, a story about a load of furry woodland animals! That's Beatrix Potter-land. Well, all right, Richard "Watership Down" Adams did take the genre to a different level (I started it once but never finished it). What self-respecting child would read this stuff, or admit to reading it, let alone an adult? Well, I did! And I couldn't put it down! Brian Jacques has created a completely believable and endearing world of little creatures: the story is good, keeps you wanting to know what happens next; there's suspense; there's a mystery to puzzle out (where is the legendary sword of long-dead Martin the Warrior?); the dialogue is well done with all the major characters given a distinctive way of speaking; and the good guys win in the end. Remember how much fun Pixar had with ants and grasshoppers in "A Bug's Life"? I'm surprised Pixar haven't bought the rights to it (or maybe they have?). It's a lot of fun. Although it's obviously billed as "children's literature", some of the vocabulary might be a little hard for a child under 11. I'm reading it aloud to my 8- and 11-year-olds (my 17-year-old turned her nose up at it, though). And there's a whole series of these to keep enthusiasts happy! The New York Times ran a piece a while back about how sales of Jacques books have surged up in the wake of Harry Potter (those kids who desperately need something while waiting for the next book to come out). Jacques' book is more low-key, but has many similar ingredients for a good tale. I've re-read Redwall several times, but so far have not revisited any Harry Potter story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant book about a group of talented animals., 16 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Redwall (Hardcover)
Redwall is a fantastic story about a group of animals who live in an abbey called Redwall. An evil rat called Cluny the Scourge decides he wants the abbey for himself. The abbey creatures refuse to give up their abbey and so he vows he will slay them all. The main character is Matthias. The founder of Redwall abbey (Martin the Warrior) lives through Matthias. Matthias realises that to save the abbey he must find the lost sword of Martin. To do this he must go and talk to Captain Snow and then slay the snake Asmodeus. I think this is a brilliant book. It is full of humor, solemness, mystery and much more. Everyone should read this book and the rest in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A complex tale of adventure, friendship, and determination, 21 Dec 2000
By A Customer
The story of Redwall is a majestic mixture of adventure and friendship set in an imaginary world inhabited by animals of the woodlands. In the voices of Brian Jacques et al. these creatures take on an identity and have character unmatched by many a storyteller. The imagery developed in the rich language of the text appeals to young and old as you are swept into the lives of the friends and foes of this woodland community. There is a character for every listener to find a kindred spirit. The determination of each creature, struggles for survival, relationships which unfold, and the lavish descriptions of the forest, the characters, and the food all help to create an experience to be shared. It is a wonderful introduction to a series of books which our family has enjoyed for many years, and which has led to many discussions and activities. I would recommend it for very sturdy and adventuresome listeners ages 6 and up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For Everyone, 4 Jan 2003
This review is from: Redwall (Hardcover)
Redwall is series of books based around the lives of a group of animals and their fight for good over evil. Each book is packed full of charming, wity and funny characters whose epic adventures will lead you far and wide with plenty of fun on the way.
The whole Redwall series is fantastic, not just for kids but for adults too, read one book and you'll be hooked.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Redwall
Redwall by Brian Jacques (Paperback - 3 Aug 2006)
£6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews