Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
23
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
21
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£19.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 November 2013
I bought this for a friend who expressed an interest in The Great War mining business after seeing the BBC program 'Peaky Blinders' in which some of the characters were mining engineers. I had read the book some years ago in hardback from my local library and this paper back edition is a great find. Great condition, good price and arrived quickly. I would recommend this seller to anyone.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2015
Fans of Peter Barton will not be disappointed. Here is another meticulously researched book that at points leaves a lump in the throat and leaves one shocked by the courage and commitment of these fine young men.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2009
Another very interesting book on the Great War, by the prolific Peter Barton. Not bought a book yet by this author that has disappointed, thorough research on a relatively unknown aspect of the war, makes this well worth purchasing.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2010
I am researching for a planned novel about the Great War Tunnellers and this was a wonderful find. I bought it after meeting Johan Vandewalle, one of the authors. Johan fired up an already powerful urge to write my book. This comprehensive account is packed with technical facts but the human side is never lost. After you've read it, go to the places in it. Especially visit Anzac Rest cafe on the edge of Polygon Wood near Zonnebeke and talk to Johan. You will never forget the experience after reading this book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2011
Having waited nearly two years for this book to come back into print I hoped the wait was worth it. I was not disappointed. Initially puzzled at the way the book starts by covering early seige warfare of castles etc I was tempted to skip on to the 'meat' of the subject. However, I would thoroughly recommend reading this book fully from the beginning in order to provide a greater/ better understanding of the whole concept of tunneling . The graphics are execellent and as to be expected from Mr Barton and colleagues, the subject is thoroughly researched.

Most impressive is the fact that such a dry subject with arguably limited appeal has been made into an extremely initeresting subject. The coverage of Messines tunneling should be especially mentioned. Ulimately the triumph of the Allies over their counterparts is proof that quirkiness and ingenuity would win over Prussian intransigence. An excellent read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2013
a fantastic book best one on tunnelers of the first world war i have read yet.

and a great insight into the dangers that faced them deep below the surface
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2013
Very interesting and thorough, many diagrams, photos and first-hand accounts of those brave men.
Very well researched and a valued addition to my WW1 collection
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2012
A thoroughly researched and smoothly written book on a fascinating subject. How did the 'moles' cope with the claustrophobia? VC's all round.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
What I would expect from Peter Barton, a very well presented study of Tunnellers for WW1.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2014
Bought for a WW1 fan who found it very interesting... Lots of detail... And photos
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)