Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

37 of 38 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Required reading for anyone interested in Greece, 8 Oct. 2006
This review is from: Eurydice Street: A Place in Athens (Paperback)
Anyone moving to Greece or interested in finding out more about the contemporary country should read this book. The author, newly ensconced in Athens, takes the reader on the voyage of discovery through Greek customs, etiquette, culture and modern history that she herself has embarked upon.

As a Greek myself, I can vouch for the accuracy of her observations. She pinpoints precisely the things I love and hate about the old country, and does so in a way that is measured, yet passionate - and never less than engaging and articulate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Illuminating insight, 1 Nov. 2009
By 
Julia (Edinburgh, SCOTLAND) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Eurydice Street: A Place in Athens (Paperback)
Written by a bright + interesting woman this book works on several levels. For me it presented a richly informative portrait of a culture that I was curious about. What grabbed me was the fact that it was the story of one woman's journey into making a life in Greece with her family told from her individual experience. Because of her background as an Anthropologist + her marriage to a Greek man this book goes way beyond the limits of domestic encounters with the natives.
Although the writing style seemed a little awkward at first I was quickly absorbed into the warm + often very funny observations of Greek life. Indeed, as a lone woman traveller I was very glad of her shared knowledge of the 'Kamakia' or "Harpoonists" (usually cafe-based gaggles of predatory men!) and many other Greek institutions + customs. The book goes on to offer a perceptive account of events in Greek history which have shaped both the people and the place. If like me, you have an aversion to dry or pompous history books + travel guides then try this wonderful book. I quickly began to understand the strengths and vulnerabilities of a people told in a very human way. Don't go to Athens without it !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful book, 25 Mar. 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eurydice Street: A Place in Athens (Paperback)
I am a Greek who has lived in Britain for a very long time so this is why this book appealed to me. The author writes beautifully and the book just flows. She does really know life there first hand so her comments are real and I nod my head in agreement when I read them. The fact that her husband is Greek has made a difference here and she has had to immerse herself into the Greek life rather than seing things from a distance. Strongly recommend this book. It goes beyond the silly stereotypes of zorba the greek, plate smashing etc and gives the reader a flavour of the real life in Greece in recent times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Growing Grecian Roots while Rooting for Greece, 21 Nov. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eurydice Street: A Place in Athens (Paperback)
The author married Vassilis, the Press Attaché at the Greek Embassy in Moscow. For several years they lived in Moscow, London and Rome before returning to Greece. By 2001 when they did return they had two young daughters in tow, Anna and Lara. This is the story of their first year settling in. Only it is so much more than a diary of events ....

Sofka Zinovieff's text is part translucent biography, part penetrating travelogue; it weaves an amazingly detailed portrait of a Greece in transition and covers most squares on the human chequerboard from etiquette and folklore to politics and economics. She has a slight advantage having studied anthropology at Cambridge and gains some stereoscopic vision from having done a year's fieldwork in the mid-eighties for her Ph.D in Nafplio, now a modest tourist resort although briefly the capital of Greece after independence in 1834. Her book is effectively a fount of mythological associations and historical facts, yet full of food description and accounts of age-old custom, made all the easier to assimilate for having been sown into such an interesting real-life story.

It does not fall short on humour and generally makes for such a pleasant read that it can be disappointing to reach the end so quickly ! But before you do, you should have learnt amongst other things about "katharevousa" (or purist Greek v. demotic modern Greeek), "filoxenia" (Greek hosptiality to strangers unless "allodapos" - aliens), "filotimo" (sense of honour and pride), "kamakia" (local competition between males to score with female tourists), "fakelaki" & "rousfeti" (envelopes under the table and favours), "rembetika" (Greek Blues music), "Ochi Day" (28th of October , celebrating 'saying No' and the rout of Italians in 1940) and the Greek Revolutionary Organisation '17 November' (founded after the fall of the military junta in 1974).

All of the above is but a small fraction taken at random of the information woven in so cleverly - almost guilelessly! - into her imaginative tapestry based on real experience. It is literally awe-inspiring that such an outwardly modest book contains such a wealth of knowledge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Living with an Athenian !!, 16 Nov. 2006
By 
This review is from: Eurydice Street: A Place in Athens (Paperback)
A beautifully written book, giving some insight into Greek culture and the etiquette of living and surviving in Athenian society.

I loved it & learnt much that I didn't already know from my many visits & my Athenian Husband. I recommend it to anyone interested in Greece or the Greeks .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, 23 April 2011
This review is from: Eurydice Street: A Place in Athens (Paperback)
Everyone who contemplates visiting or staying in Greece should read this book. As somebody who is Greek and lived for 8years in Italy and for the last 10 years in England and plans to return soon in Athens I have to say that her comments/remarks are to the point. Particularly for me, that spent my summers as a child and teenager in Vouliagnmeni with my grandparents not far away from where Sofka lived brings up pleasant memories.
Thank you Sofka for your excellent book and your love for my city and country.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended, 22 Jun. 2005
By 
Angela Jones (Neath, Neath United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Eurydice Street: A Place in Athens (Paperback)
A great read for those who love Athens and all things Greek.
The characters you meet are sometimes surprising, but I found it
entertaining, moving, and beautifully written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book about life in modern-day Athens, 4 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eurydice Street: A Place in Athens (Paperback)
As a trained anthropologist, Sofka Zinovieff has a discerning eye for the various aspects of daily life in Athens in combination with the history, traditions and physical environment of modern Greece. She writes well and conveys her love of the country while keeping to an objective and fair-minded approach. The book is easy to read, amusing and enjoyable as well as informative.
It is interesting however to see how much has already changed in the 10 years since it was first published and since the still ongoing 'crisis'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The real Greece, 25 Aug. 2005
This review is from: Eurydice Street: A Place in Athens (Paperback)
This is a smashing read. I read it whilst buying a property in Greece, and it made the whole experience enjoyable rather than stressful, as the author described and explained Greek social culture and customs. I recommend it to anyone who wants to know more about Greece, its extraordinary people and what it might be like to live there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A REAL view inside Athens/Greece, 23 Dec. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eurydice Street: A Place in Athens (Paperback)
Simply the best book about Greece/Athens, I can't praise it enough. One of those books I really couldn't put down. The book is filled with cultural references and words that Greeks use that you won't learn anywhere else! Using these and understanding their true meaning (sometimes different to what you think) will make you seem like a native in no time. The descriptions of all the Athenian suburbs will also make you feel much more comfortable when you are actually there.

The story is also very interesting, I couldn't put the book down because I wanted to find out what was going to happen next, being true makes it even better. It helps that Sofka is a naturally brilliant writer, her descriptions of Athens and Greece will make you feel like you are there with her. I can't wait to read some of her fiction, I'm so glad I stumbled upon this little gem of a book :)

If you're interested in Greece/Athens and its everyday culture and people, this is the book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Eurydice Street: A Place in Athens
Eurydice Street: A Place in Athens by Sofka Zinovieff (Paperback - 2 May 2005)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews