Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars thug
This excellent book is well written and well researched.It deals with the history of the Thuggee clans from early times upto the 1850s when the murderous tribes were finally suppresed.
The Thugs were credited with killing between 50,000 and one million travellers by strangulation from the c15-to 19 centuries It wasnt till 1829 when William Sleeman was made head of...
Published on 16 Nov 2008 by G.I.Forbes

versus
2 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars LIKES THE WORD INVEIGLE
I have not finished this book yet, however I am becoming weary of the continued use of the word "inveigled" and descriptions of the strangling item, ok I get it a scarf or a piece of fabric - surely the first ninety pages could be condensed down to forty or so, especially after a tremendously descriptive ominous and scary opening. Nevertheless, hopefully the story moves...
Published on 17 Nov 2009 by Mr. S. M. Mcclelland


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars thug, 16 Nov 2008
This excellent book is well written and well researched.It deals with the history of the Thuggee clans from early times upto the 1850s when the murderous tribes were finally suppresed.
The Thugs were credited with killing between 50,000 and one million travellers by strangulation from the c15-to 19 centuries It wasnt till 1829 when William Sleeman was made head of the Thuggee and Dacoity Department of the East India Company that positive caction was taken.
Sleeman developed advanced investigation and policing methods which among other things involved extensive daata collection.
The trials of the 1830s had a major impact and many hundreds were executed or imprisoned and it would appear the murders had stopped by the 1840s and the matter concluded by the early 1850s.
There are excellent notes,glossary,gazzeter and bibliography allof which take up 55 pages
The illustrations really make the book and are outstanding.
A book to be recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thug4life, 6 Dec 2010
A solid entertaining history book. He writes very well and is very good at backing up his opinions with evidence.

The subject matter is sensational but the book wasn't sensationalist at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The truth is stranger than fiction, 3 May 2007
The Thugs were a criminal tribe in India and their story makes fascinating reading. They were responsible for the murder of thousands of Indians, in the last century This book is absolutely gripping at times and a good read.

The book is also full of interesting facts as an example the great carpet at Windsor castle has 400 knots to a sq inch. Some of the thugs who were captured were put to work on this carpet and they took ten years to make it in their prison in Agra.

Some non fiction books make you think it's a strange world -

This book is one of them - If you are looking for something to read one afternoon, then this is a good Book. If you are thinking of finding something to read at night, then this is a bad book as it may keep you up all night.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting, 30 Jan 2014
By 
Allison Coe (Inverness) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I use this as one of the key texts for an A' Level course. It contains enough gruesome and bizarre details to keep them interested. I really enjoyed it as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating stuff, 19 Oct 2010
By 
Tommy Dooley "Tom" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love books about obscure history and Mike Dash is excellent at finding out about these things. This book is based around the cult/religion of 'Thugee' and their (the Thugs - where we get the word from)years or decades of preying on travellers in India, the bizarre way in which they operated and killed their victims. Everyone has a specific task including expert inveiglers - not something you would see advertised at Job Club.

He has used the work of Sleeman a British Justice who worked tirelesly to uncover the hideous truth about these men and how he went about bringing an end to it. I found this utterly absorbing, very well written and very well balanced, not too much theorizing which has become a trait of latter day historians, all in all he lets the reader draw thier own concusions and points you to do so in an unobtrusive way. Not really one for the beach but it made the daily tube journey flash by.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars History has its lid lifted, 27 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
So much here that I did not know or understand about the "Cult" of Thugee. Would recommend to anyone with an interest who thinks that Thugs were just devotees of Kali.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interestign Book, 24 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really enjoyed reading this book which opened up some of the myths and legends about India at this time in history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good history of a little understood subject, 15 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is excellent history. We all know the word 'thug', but where does it come from?
This book will explain all. The author has done his research very well, going back to the archives, rather than relying on others historians, allowing him also to avoid the varying levels of prejudice and hysteria that have accompanied the subject from the early nineteenth century right up to the present day.
The analysis is balanced and understandable, and the evidence presented in great detail. Indeed, my only criticism is that some of the book can be a little repetitive, as the author provides, for me, rather too many stories of thuggee attacks than is necessary to make his point.
Overall, though, a good history book, that will appeal to anyone with an interest in Indian history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Breathtakingly readable, 2 Mar 2013
If you ever wondered where the inspiration for Indiana Jones and the Temple of Doom came from - this is it - a real life account of the thousands of 'thugs' who roamed the Indian highways murdering almost in secret and getting away with it for hundreds of years.

So clever and complete were the methods of thugging - the process of putting travellers at ease, and then strangling them, then concealing the bodies - that the men who chose to go thugging escaped detection. Travelling hundreds of miles from their homes across a country riven by little rival kingdoms (and no telecoms) meant they escaped justice... until William Sleeman came along... and this book is also his story - of how he took down the Thug menace.

The book is such a page turner - and it's all true - based on written accounts from the East India company - which are still available. There are some very horrible details as well - this is mass murder after all - which made me want to cry. The high regard these murderers held themselves in - and the regaard their bounty sharing was held in - made me want to rage at the ability of man to commit such terrible crimes. But as a history book it has enriched my knowledge on a subject I never knew existed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Impressive, 1 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book shows yet again what a master of research Mike Dash is as regards getting to the truth and substance of his subject matter. This book is a tour-de-force on a little known aspect of British and Indian history, and throws the doors wide open, revealing all that is (probably) known about the murderous Thuggees. Evocative stuff interestingly written, and I didn't find it dry or boring. Fascinating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Thug: The True Story of India's Murderous Religion
Thug: The True Story of India's Murderous Religion by Mike Dash (Hardcover - 26 May 2005)
Used & New from: £8.90
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews