Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential reading., 30 April 2009
By 
Matthew Rice "Ricey" (Whitehead, N.Ireland.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Essential Tales of Chekhov (Paperback)
This is a fantastic collection of stories. Richard Ford, a great short story writer in his own right, has chosen well in the twenty he has selected here. Checkov was a major influence on my favorite american writer Raymond Carver, which was reason enough for me to buy this book, but if you value stories about the pleasures and hardships of life told from all angles - even from a dog's point of view in the story "Kashtanka" - you will LOVE this. Standouts for me are "The Kiss", "Kashtanka", "Grasshopper" and "Ward No. 6". Filled with emotion but told with the edge of a cold-eyed onlooker, this collection must be read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Observations of the human condition, 7 Mar 2008
By 
This review is from: The Essential Tales of Chekhov (Paperback)
I am currently half way through this book. these are the early stories of Chekhov, written starting from when he was in his early twenties. Chekhov displays great insight and maturity for someone so young. He makes simple observations that tell us a great deal about what it is to be human, how to deal with sorrow and mistakes, and thus helps us to understand what it takes to really be happy. As i read these short stories I can think of many modern day situations into which they translate seamlessly. This collection of stories is a timeless observation of the human condition, chekhov demonstrates as mastery that few other writers can aspire to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent introduction that will also suit established fans, 4 Jan 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Essential Tales of Chekhov (Paperback)
Richard Ford the American writer, has revisited Chekhov, as by Ford's own admission he was not mature enough to fully enjoy in his college years. He has selected a glittering selection of stories ranging from the well known to unkown, one-pagers to the more substantial Ward Number Six. The stories are sad, funny and always observational. In the chosen stories, Chekhov's characters are portrayed in an honest fashion, demonstrating their strengths and more interestingly their weaknesses. The realisation that they are making mistakes and continue to do so, is relayed in a way that makes you feel accepting of human nature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Timeless Storytelling, 29 April 2010
By 
J. M. Salinas (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Essential Tales of Chekhov (Paperback)
I took on reading this selection of Chekhov after reading a selection of Carver's short stories.

In this collection, and this is only a small sample since he wrote hundreds, the are commmon themes that play out in several stories, chiefly among them affairs and forbidden love.

The geongraphical and time setting may be somewhat alien today, but the beauty of these stories is that they could very easily translate to a modern time and space without losing one bit their relevance or impact. The stories read easily and are not contrived or too clever for their own good. Chekhov was a great observer of the human condition and weakness, amply demonstrated in this selection of stories, conciesely and neatly described.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genius, 3 Aug 2012
By 
Mrs. A. Painter "Annie" (Leeds) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Essential Tales of Chekhov (Paperback)
First time I have read Chekhov - was recommended as one of best reads to do before well you know one of those! Bit strange at first but on a re-read it was what everyone says he is. These are so simple but as you read you realise you are a human with all that human beings are: jealous, angry, bitter, sad, lonely, frustrated. Chekhov manages to convey these emotions without using words. If you are confused about life, mixed up and need explanation then don't bother paying for costly listening, paraphrasing people, just read this. If you are human, look beyond the print and accept that this is what you are. Everyone should be given a copy, preferably at birth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars CHEKHOV SHORT STORIES, 16 Oct 2009
By 
D. North "delboy" (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Essential Tales of Chekhov (Paperback)
EXCELLENT
well written and read. paints a picture of Russia in the past.
great understanding of human nature
Derek
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great craft from The Master, 5 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Essential Tales of Chekhov (Paperback)
This collection cannot be faulted. The stories - some well known and others, not so, are wonderful. By my bedside, permanently.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars In the moment, 31 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Essential Tales of Chekhov (Paperback)
For short stories containing apparently nothing, there is something in that inbetween state of the moment. The moment you can keep going back to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful collection, 21 July 2011
By 
P. Griffin "Griff" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Essential Tales of Chekhov (Paperback)
Chekov reminds me of the realist movement of artists that formed in the early part of the twentieth century America. He has a gift for stunning technique clothed within a simple subject. And the closer you look the more wonderful his detail becomes apparent. Kafka had this ability, though he tended to focus on the less mundane subjects that Chekov did.
In this collection Chekov presents various stories of Russian life. His words and subjects still retain their vibrancy today, still as relevant as when they first appeared. He deals with faithfulness and vows, tradition and its decay and responsibility. In this he was similar to Fyodor Dostoevsky and indeed quite a few of his stories show some parallels to those slightly earlier works. Chekov had a rare gift for short stories and the ones gathered in this collection are some of his finest.

A wonderful read, my favourite being "Enemies." I would also advise any lover of fine writing and short stories to look at William Trevor, who has doubtless taken up Chekov's mantle and appears exceedingly comfortable with its fitment. Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Essential Tales of Chekhov (Paperback)
Refreshing and universal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Essential Tales of Chekhov
The Essential Tales of Chekhov by Anton Pavlovich Chekhov (Paperback - 29 Jun 1999)
6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews