Customer Reviews


60 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars painful and honest
This is a fascinating book. It is about the loss of Morrison's father to cancer at the age of 75. He was diagnosed late and died within four weeks of diagnosis. The book swings between memoirs of Morrison's time with his father as a child and at other key points in his life, interspersed with narrative of the last four weeks, and the funeral afterwards.
This...
Published on 24 Jan. 2008 by Mrs. K. A. Wheatley

versus
19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Uncomfortable to read, uncomfortable to review
Unlike most reviews I write in which I more or less say whether or not I like the book, this review proved extraordinarily difficult to write. It's a Life Memoir, a biography/autobiography of a man, Blake Morrison and his father Arthur. In criticising a life memoir you are essentially criticising the author themselves, I suppose.

Before I read it I felt like I...
Published on 22 Jan. 2013 by R. A. Davison


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Powerful & evocative memoir, 9 Dec. 1999
By 
itinerant (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: And When Did You Last See Your Father? (Paperback)
This memoir deeply resonated with me. Morrison is extraorindarily adept at describing attributes of character that most fathers share. I both laughed and cried reading this remarkable book. One of the best autobiographical books I have read this year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Love isn't perfect, 20 Feb. 2015
A very compelling account of a son's relationship with his father. For me there were quite a few parallels with my relationship with my own father and also between my husband and our sons. Love isn't perfect and Blake Morrison explores the complexities of family life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars STORY AND DEATH OF AN ORDINARY YORKSHIRE DOCTOR, 18 April 2013
In the ordinary course of life one would have certainly known nothing about the life of Arthur Morrison,and more importantly his death and the aftermarth,if a book had not been written by his son Blake Morrison.I found the book moving,sad,emotional,well written and enjoyable. It certainly made me think about my father who died 13 years ago.Many people experience the same emotions and frustrations as Blake Morrison did-frustration, cringing embarassment,love,lack of understanding and regret after their death. Blake Morrison writes well about his father dying days,which is interspersed with reminescences about his father, and admissions of hs own.
I enjoyed the book greatly,and felt that it seems marvellous that a book can be written about someone who we do not know or have even heard off,and yet at the same time we know so well,and can create such emotions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Read, 6 Nov. 2009
By 
V. O'Leary (Surrey England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Very good read, get your tissues ready. Heartfelt story, well written documentation of his relationship with his father , the good and bad no holds barred - but how they really loved each other regardless of how different they were!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars unfortunately too close to home..., 21 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Am unlikely to be alone in the feeling that these reminiscences at a time and location similar to my own experiences with my father will prove highly evocative and in many respectsainful. Interesting perspective.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 28 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Moving and funny. A great holiday read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Read, 23 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this for my Mother, she had been wanting to read it for ages. She was delighted and it came up to her expectations
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars And When Did You Last See Your Father?, 8 Jun. 2009
By 
Stephanie Ryland (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A loving memoir of a flawed but interesting man - Morrison writes well and fascinatingly about his father and family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A delightful read especially as I come from Skipton. I understand the eccentricities so well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Book, 18 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was recommended this bok by my sister - in - law as sh had enjoyed it and it was quite good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

And When Did You Last See Your Father?
And When Did You Last See Your Father? by Blake Morrison (Paperback - 12 Jan. 1998)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews