Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for the host who wants to serve delicious food AND to relax
This is a smashing book. It is perfect for anyone who wants to entertain friends with delicious food but WITHOUT any of the attendant stress that often goes with cooking.

The emphasis is - and the title might be a bit of a giveaway here - on food you can prepare mostly ahead of time. Meaning that you can neck a couple of cocktails with your guests and, dare I...
Published 23 months ago by Alastair I

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Buy Lucy's food instead
Quite complicated recipes/ingredients. Bought thinking it would make cooking easier but it's actually more difficult. The best cookery book I have bought recently is called Lucy's Food - absolutely brilliant!!
Published 6 months ago by Gemma


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quality., 15 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was hesitant to buy this initially for my Kindle Fire HD because I thought that the sale price was still a bit too pricy (Times are hard for most at the moment). However, it was worth the approximate £12 that I paid. The book reads well and 90% of the recipes had accompanying pictures-which is very important to me.

I have rated the book 4 Stars because I feel that other alternatives to meat should have been suggested. I don' t eat pork, so recipes with pig ears for example renders useless to me. It would have been great to be told of a substitute. In addition, some of the recipes contain alcohol where again a substitute would have been great.

All in all though, it is a wonderful read and it has inspired me to dust off my apron.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 3 Mar. 2014
By 
Andrew Muscat (San Gwann, na Malta) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Do-ahead Dinners: how to feed friends and family without the frenzy (Hardcover)
Original recipes, easy to execute. made the kahlua, hazelnut and fennel seed ice cream last night....what a great and unexpected idea.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extremely useful & a pleasure to read - what more can you ask for in a cookbook?, 30 Sept. 2013
This review is from: Do-ahead Dinners: how to feed friends and family without the frenzy (Hardcover)
There are cookbooks that find themselves on a bookshelf or even worse on a coffee table, but Do Ahead Dinners is one of those books that constantly gets relocated from the kitchen counter to your work desk and back to your bed stand. If you have dinners to do ahead with ingredients to be bought ahead also, you will find yourself relying on this helpful manual very often, even as you are on the move to your nearest groceries - what more can you ask for in a cookbook?

My copy of James Ramsden's latest work has a little bit of grease on the front page, splashes of gravy somewhere between the 4th and 5th chapter and is laden with folded pages that has added a little bit of bulk to the book. I use it the whole time.

You definitely won't find my copy of this book as a second hand, and it's certainly not because of the aforementioned stains.

In a jungle of oversupplied heap of cookbooks, this is a little gem that should be bought by anyone who wants to be organised with their dinner parties. Overall, I am a happy bunny with this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning book, delicious recipes, 11 Nov. 2013
This review is from: Do-ahead Dinners: how to feed friends and family without the frenzy (Hardcover)
I have been to the Secret Larder Supper Club and seen how James creates delicious, amazing meals whilst still being able to chat to his guests, have time to sit with us and generally not get in a flap, I knew that I needed Do-Ahead Dinners in my kitchen! The recipes are really original and unique but most importantly they work - the simple breakdown of how in advance you can prepare your meal really helps and ensures that you can create impressive meals but also spend time with your friends, not just ferrying food in and out and quickly eating before you have to get back to your kitchen to slave away. A godsend and a brilliant book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Two words; Life Saving, 26 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Do-ahead Dinners: how to feed friends and family without the frenzy (Hardcover)
Have eaten at James's supper club a few times so couldn't wait to get my hands on his book. The secret to an amazing dinner party is a stressfree host, delicious delicious delicious grub and this book is the bible to achieving this, plus i love anything slowroasted. Great pics, great recipes! Loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The recipes are very easy to, 9 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Do-ahead Dinners: how to feed friends and family without the frenzy (Hardcover)
Fabulous. The recipes are very easy to follow
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Buy Lucy's food instead, 1 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Do-ahead Dinners: how to feed friends and family without the frenzy (Hardcover)
Quite complicated recipes/ingredients. Bought thinking it would make cooking easier but it's actually more difficult. The best cookery book I have bought recently is called Lucy's Food - absolutely brilliant!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 28 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Do-ahead Dinners: how to feed friends and family without the frenzy (Hardcover)
Too much faff for me - super cooks might love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 Nov. 2014
This review is from: Do-ahead Dinners: how to feed friends and family without the frenzy (Hardcover)
really useful book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 28 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Do-ahead Dinners: how to feed friends and family without the frenzy (Hardcover)
Excellent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Do-ahead Dinners: how to feed friends and family without the frenzy
£16.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews