Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Utterly brilliant!
Recipes that manage to be delicious, authentic and simple to prepare! This book is an absolute must have for anyone who enjoys really tasty food made from straightforward ingredients. For meals that are simple but nonetheless that you would happily serve at a dinner party, this book is fantastic. Came across it when staying at a friend's house in Spain (although...
Published on 29 July 2009 by L. Miller-Marshall

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing book
I was hoping for a book that delved into how to prepare and make some of the wonderful Spanish cuisine. It is very thin on content with recipes that do not reflect the true quality of Spanish food. I sent it back in disappointment.
Published 9 months ago by J. A. Mundigian


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Utterly brilliant!, 29 July 2009
Recipes that manage to be delicious, authentic and simple to prepare! This book is an absolute must have for anyone who enjoys really tasty food made from straightforward ingredients. For meals that are simple but nonetheless that you would happily serve at a dinner party, this book is fantastic. Came across it when staying at a friend's house in Spain (although ingredients would be very accessible in England), and had to buy it immediately!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Outstanding; a must for every cook., 24 Mar 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My word, how lucky was I to buy this book to add to my collection in which it now has pride of place?
If you live in Spain and cook it is essential; if you shop anywhere for fresh food it is essential and if you enjoy cooking it will give you enormous pleasure. If you shop in markets in Spain for fresh food that you are then going to cook it is biblical!
Well laid out with a preface to each section wonderfully describing the type of food in the recipes therein and where in Spain specialises in the ingredients. Each recipe is well written, easy to understand and has a picture so you know what it should look like. That in itself is recommendation enough for any collection of recipes: in this wonderful book Jenny Chandler goes further. For each recipe where a new main ingredient is introduced there is advice as to how to purchase that ingredient: how to ensure fish is fresh, which cut of meat to use and how to obtain it, how to select vegetables in prime condition; the list is endless. Each recipe also has tips on alternative ingredients and little shortcuts.
For those living in Spain there are descriptions of the specialities provided by each region and the verbal illustrations of the various markets where they can be purchased leave the reader salivating.
A really special book that promises much and delivers on those promises. If nothing else it is a wonderful, well researched guide to the local markets in Spain. It is a book that everyone deserves to own.
I really "get what the author is about" as I live in a place in Spain where the fresh catch from the fishing boats is sold to the public daily at 4.00pm, a small covered market operates daily (mainly for meat) and the weekly market, full of fresh fruit and vegetables, flavoured olives and other pickled items is a place where cheeses, pulses, charcuterie and local specialities abound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Authentic and Atmospheric, 2 Jan 2010
By 
G. Carpenter "Glo Carpenter" (Worthing UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An authentic and easy to follow cookery book with vivid colour pictures that brings the charms, aromas and feelings of Spain into the kitchen. A great and economical present, that's if you can bear to part with it.

Printed on good quality paper, it certainly deserves a place in every household that enjoys Spanish Cookery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very nice surprise, 10 July 2010
This book was a present, while we were spending three months in Spain, and I was very pleasantly surprised. I've only cooked a few recipes from it, but I was very pleased with the results. At least two recipes (the Catalan chicken with fruit and the gorgeous cherry compote) are already regulars in our house. As another reviewer says, if you are in Spain and shopping in markets, this book is a perfect companion, and the recipes really are authentic. But even if you're not in Spain, Spanish ingredients are getting easier to find elsewhere, or local ingredients can be substituted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you like Spanish cooking this is for you, 25 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Real Taste of Spain (Hardcover)
A wonderful book, beautifully illustrated and with lovely recipes. Look out for the macaroni bake, it's a real favourite with our teenage boys.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing book, 25 Dec 2013
By 
J. A. Mundigian "Jenny Mundigian" (Gloucester England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Real Taste of Spain (Hardcover)
I was hoping for a book that delved into how to prepare and make some of the wonderful Spanish cuisine. It is very thin on content with recipes that do not reflect the true quality of Spanish food. I sent it back in disappointment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Must have for any lover of spanish food, 16 Jun 2013
By 
Tamaartje (the netherlands) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Real Taste of Spain (Hardcover)
I have cooked every single recipe in this book, except for some of the deserts and I must say. Not a single one disappointed.
The recipes are easy to follow, haven't found any flaws in them and accompanied by beautiful pictures.

Even if your not going to cook from it it's a fun book to have, Jenny Chandler has a great writing style that really takes you on her travels with her. It's really a travel guide as well as a cookbook.
She has done extensive research on all her recipes and provides lots of useful info on where to buy (even if your not in Spain) or what to substitute if needed.
The book is full of classics that you can eat at the family restaurants and find on all the "menu del dia"s and all of them taste authentic. I much prefer this book to "1080 recipes" the so called bible of Spanish cooking. I own that as well, but have found this book to be much more useful and easier to follow.
There aren't any fancy recipes (although some do take a lot of work to cook) just classic home cooking. Most of the ingredients used are cheap as spanish cooking uses a lot of veg, pulses and cheap cuts of meat. It does have a lot of fish and shellfish recipes, those tend to be much cheaper in spain than in northern European countries.
Also loved her first book "The food of norther Spain" both books go with me every time I travel to Spain, which is often.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Lots of traditional dishes, 14 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great dishes and write ups, good healthy old fashioned Spanish cookery. Will make lots of use of this book during summer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Easy Family Cooking, 27 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Real Taste of Spain (Hardcover)
Well laid out easy to follow recipes using familiar ingredients.I liked the picturesand chatty style.It made me want to visit the markets soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simple delicious recipes, 9 Oct 2012
By 
THERESE JOHNSON (Bedfordshire -UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Real Taste of Spain (Hardcover)
The recipes are simple to make yet so delicious. We using so many of the recipes on a regular basis. Far better than any celebrity tv chef cook book we bought.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Real Taste of Spain
The Real Taste of Spain by Jenny Chandler (Hardcover - 5 July 2012)
£14.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews