Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The perfect book for this time of year
Wild At Heart is a company that was formed by Caro Willson and Ginny Knox after giving up their corporate careers. Their company provides a range of jams, jellies and chutneys inspired by ingredients that grows wild in our British hedgerows.

The subject matter of this recipe book really appealed to me. I have recently developed an interest in foraging, so it...
Published 20 months ago by Mutherfudger.co.uk

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Makes for interesting reading
This book was recommended to me by a friend and I may well have been too excited to read it because when it came I was slightly disappointed that many recipes seemed to be remakes of regular recipes but just with the word 'wild' inserted at the beginning of the title. It is a book, to my mind, with fairly well known recipes but just with the addition of one wild...
Published 10 months ago by Bee magic


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The perfect book for this time of year, 2 Sept. 2013
This review is from: The Hedgerow Cookbook: 100 Delicious Recipes for Wild Food (Wild at Heart) (Hardcover)
Wild At Heart is a company that was formed by Caro Willson and Ginny Knox after giving up their corporate careers. Their company provides a range of jams, jellies and chutneys inspired by ingredients that grows wild in our British hedgerows.

The subject matter of this recipe book really appealed to me. I have recently developed an interest in foraging, so it seemed fortuitous that there was a recipe book that contained recipes for my scavenged goodies. I am following in my ancestors footsteps and seeking food that nature gives up freely, with just a little effort required on my part.

The book starts with an introduction from the authors on why they started up their business. The next section is a useful note on the legality of foraging. In the UK, you have a common law right to forage for fruit, flowers, funghi and foliage as long as it is for personal use, not for re-sale and providing it has not been planted as a crop. There is also a very useful seasonal chart showing the availability of the ingredients covered.

The recipes are structured into chapters, each one focusing on a type of foraged ingredient, such as berries, leaves, or fruit. They are a variety of sweet and savoury, from main courses to side dishes.

The pictures are beautifully staged and photographed, and all the dishes look incredibly appealing. The recipes I tried were very easy to follow. I am pleased to note that the measurements are in grams, ounces and cups which I like to see as it makes the book try. My favourite recipes were the Sloe Vodka, Crab Apple Butter and Blackberry and Apple Crumble Cake.

This is the perfect book for this time of year when the trees and hedgerows are bulging with produce. Do yourself a favour and pick up a copy, then head out into the countryside. It has inspired me to open my eyes, and broaden my tastes from the usual blackberries, and seek out foraged foods I would normally walk by.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Much better than expected!, 25 July 2013
By 
I. Darren (Fi) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Hedgerow Cookbook: 100 Delicious Recipes for Wild Food (Wild at Heart) (Hardcover)
Free food... who doesn't want a bit of that in this day and age? Yet is anything really free unless you go dumpster diving? Yes, it can be, and this book shows you how!

To claim your free food you need to keep your eyes open and, at the same time, you get a bit of fresh air and exercise as you look around, harvesting "your own produce" from hedgerows, meadows and woods that may be around where you live. Of course, this book cannot give you a localised menu of everything you might find in your neighbourhood, yet you will get a good overview to the subject and be able to research any small local differences with a much wiser head on your shoulders.

Your eventual larder is split into key chapters for "flowers and hips", leaves, berries, fruit with stones, fruit with pips and nuts. Each chapter focusses on individual ingredients and their preparation as well as providing some recipe suggestions for their use. So elderflowers are, for example, shown to be capable of making various drinks (including elderflower champagne), cakes, desserts, jams and preserves. When you start to browse through this book you will see just how versatile many of these free ingredients can be - yet it is something that our forefathers might have taken for granted and it is only latter generations who have tended to eschew such items in favour of supermarket-provided food.

The recipes do have a natural bias towards the items found in England, so those based in other countries might need to undertake a bit of experimentation and substitution of ingredients yet that can be part of the fun too! The individual recipes do encourage you to learn, try and possibly experiment. The authors have managed to make this book a fairly open, accessible read without plastering it with various ecological mantras and lecturing that other "natural food" books tend to do. In many ways this could still be a great little read, particularly with its low price, for city-dwellers who never visit the countryside as you can still marvel at and feel possibly envious about those who have access to these great "hidden" ingredients.

Many of the recipes might, at first glance, sound strange due to their unfamiliarity, yet if they were written with a French name and served in a high-class restaurant you might think you are getting something cutting edge. Rabbit Casserole with Nettle Dumplings anyone?

There's not a lot else to say. You can sense the enthusiasm of the authors to their subject. They let the ingredients do the talking. This reviewer was a tad sceptical as to whether this book would really work. Fiddlesticks! It is not hyperbole to say that this is quite an innovative, intriguing little book that should be in every "more adventurous" cook's personal library. Just one different recipe is all it takes for you to get your money's worth, if the vast amount of thought-provoking background information is not enough for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hedgerow Cookbook, 18 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hedgerow Cookbook: 100 Delicious Recipes for Wild Food (Wild at Heart) (Hardcover)
If you are somebody who reads cookbooks for pleasure like me, then it is a goood read. Also if you love feeling you are cooking with free stuff! I have only tried about 4 of the recipies so far but they have been really great. (The sorrell and cheese tart was fab) I can't wait for the soft fruit on my allotment to start coming ready so I can try some variations with not exactly wild food. I do love the idea of the seasonality but the waiting for some of the "wild" foods can be frustrating- hopefully I will appreciate them all the more as the seasons develop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fab cook book, 20 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hedgerow Cookbook: 100 Delicious Recipes for Wild Food (Wild at Heart) (Hardcover)
Exactly like a great cook book should be - a fab mix of sweet and savoury recipes, lots of beautiful photographs and clear directions.
I'm looking forward to making the slow roasted pork with damsons and some sloe gin but in the mean time, until they are in season, what's in season now... back to page 11.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Makes for interesting reading, 13 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hedgerow Cookbook: 100 Delicious Recipes for Wild Food (Wild at Heart) (Hardcover)
This book was recommended to me by a friend and I may well have been too excited to read it because when it came I was slightly disappointed that many recipes seemed to be remakes of regular recipes but just with the word 'wild' inserted at the beginning of the title. It is a book, to my mind, with fairly well known recipes but just with the addition of one wild ingredient, rather than entirely from, wild foods.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best hedgerow cookbook yet!, 13 April 2013
This review is from: The Hedgerow Cookbook: 100 Delicious Recipes for Wild Food (Wild at Heart) (Hardcover)
Was given this cookbook as a gift, and cannot wait to start using it, such inventive recipes that look delicious!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 15 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hedgerow Cookbook: 100 Delicious Recipes for Wild Food (Wild at Heart) (Hardcover)
The recipes have opened new horizons for me re foraging. As a beginner I didn't know about half of the things you can use to eat so am enjoying the challenge. The book is easy to follow; clear instructions. Love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Hedgerow Cookbook: 100 delicious recipes... Wild at Heart, 31 Mar. 2015
By 
This is definitely one of the more enjoyable and accesable books to do with foraging and wild food. It's true that some of the recipes only include one or two foraged ingredients but to be honest it would be really tricky to make an entire meal just from foraged ingredients. It certainly makes you feel good when you can forage at least one of the ingredients, i think it links you closer to the food you're about to eat. It also brings you closer to the seasons to be eating a certain thing that is only available at that time of the year and doesn't come from a big supermarket.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating and informative, 15 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hedgerow Cookbook: 100 Delicious Recipes for Wild Food (Wild at Heart) (Hardcover)
Bought as birthday gift for a girl new to country life. Clear instructions and information. Fascinating recipes easy to follow. I like the format.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars informative, 15 July 2013
By 
J. S. Anslow "jsa" (Surrey,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hedgerow Cookbook: 100 Delicious Recipes for Wild Food (Wild at Heart) (Hardcover)
Everyone should have one of these. Should be supplied to all junior schools.
Easy to follow and saves a fortune from shopping bill.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Hedgerow Cookbook: 100 Delicious Recipes for Wild Food (Wild at Heart)
£16.54
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews