Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great recipes, more photos of the dishes would have been better
With the winter coming up, there are some great platefuls of flavour-filled fresh ingredients here, but there is a good mixture of summer recipes too.

Where the recipes are accompanied by photographs of the expected outcome (so useful when you are cooking a dish for the first time) they all look mouth-wateringly fabulous. Many don't have accompanying photos...
Published 18 months ago by A. Byrnes

versus
0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed,
Disappointing. Basic Italian recipes not covered, e.g. Pizza dough and pasta. Crazy to demand more words in a review. Reviews should be concise and short
Published 15 months ago by C. Corbett


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great recipes, more photos of the dishes would have been better, 1 Oct 2012
By 
A. Byrnes "Andie" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gennaro: Let's Cook Italian: Favourite Family Recipes (Hardcover)
With the winter coming up, there are some great platefuls of flavour-filled fresh ingredients here, but there is a good mixture of summer recipes too.

Where the recipes are accompanied by photographs of the expected outcome (so useful when you are cooking a dish for the first time) they all look mouth-wateringly fabulous. Many don't have accompanying photos. There are, if you like that sort of thing, a lot of photos of Gennaro Contaldo and his family cooking and enjoying the food, an inevitable feature of celebrity chef books these days.

The table of contents is as follows: soup, pasta, quick meals, slow meals, Sunday lunch, special occasions, on the side, dough, sweet and preserves.

Each recipe is given its Italian name with the English translation beneath. The number that the recipe should serve is clearly shown, the ingredients are listed clearly, there's a paragraph to introduce the recipe, and the recipes themselves are easy to follow.

Examples of a few of the recipes included are, in the order that they appear in the book: Minestra di verdure (vegetable soup), beef broth with baby pasta, fresh pasta, spaghetti with courgette carbonara, lentils with pasta, buccatini pasta with aubergine, basic risotto, risotto with minced pork and savoy cabbage, steak alla pizzaiola (in tomato sauce), veal escalope with a caper sauce, filled mackerel, chicken with garlic, rosemary and bruschetta, gnocchi, potato gnocchi with Bolognese ragu sauce, baked filled courgettes in tomato sauce, red wine beef stew, pork stew with potatoes and peas, cannellini beans with spare ribs, home made sausages with spicy sauce, lamb with artichokes and sun-blushed tomatoes, marinated rabbit with olives and capers and pine kernels, red mullet with prosciutto, classic antipasto, stuffed roasted pork belly, fritto misto (mixed fried fish), skewered octopus, potato doughnuts, sauteed long stem broccoli with garlic and chilli, courgette chips with mint and vinegar, artichokes with olives and capers, dough, pizza, small calzoni filled with cheese, parmesan bread rolls, white wine jelly with fruits of the forest and strawberry sauce, Granny Genoveffa's apple cake, mixed vegetable pickle, peaches in syrup.

There is an excellent mix of different types of food - it's not all pasta and tomatoes, although there is a good selection of recipes using both ingredients. It is worth noting that there are quite a lot of pulses (beans, lentils etc) and there aren't many fish dishes. Particularly welcome are the sections on quick meals and slow meals, which represent different styles of cooking for different circumstances.

As well as the recipes there are anecdotes from Gennaro about cooking as he grew up, and his cooking today - again, this is inevitable in celebrity chef books, but they don't take up a lot of space and are quite nicely done.

The production values are excellent - the photography is super, the paper of top quality, and helpfully matt rather than shiny, and it is very well constructed.

Although I would much rather have had more photographs of finished dishes than pictures of pretty kids, this is a really good book, with a great variety of recipes, all of them with lovely, fresh ingredients and straight forward instructions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, 26 Sep 2012
This review is from: Gennaro: Let's Cook Italian: Favourite Family Recipes (Hardcover)
With Italian being my favourite food, I was expecting this to be a winner and I wasn't disappointed! The recipes are easy to follow, absolutely delicious, and the book is now firmly ensconced on the 'favourites' shelf in my kitchen. The spiced meat stew and fritto misto are dinner party winners and Gennaro's Granny's Apple Cake is to die for. The family touch is really nice-tried and tested recipes, personal favourites and photos really make the book feel special. Brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Italian cuisine, 28 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gennaro: Let's Cook Italian: Favourite Family Recipes (Hardcover)
If you like Italian cuisine, then this is a admirable book for you. Written with humour as well as good culinary sense.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another winner from the Neapolitan., 11 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gennaro: Let's Cook Italian: Favourite Family Recipes (Hardcover)
Arranged into simple chapter headings that neatly divide up the major themes of different Italian cooking occasions -- soup, pasta, quick meals, slow meals, Sunday lunch, special occasions, sides, dough and sweets -- this book is as packed full of bright colours and photos of the chef and relatives making expressive gestures as you would hope for from an Amalfi cook. The recipes themselves are, in general, simple and effective -- Gennaro's style is to take a Slater-esque preference for simple combos of big, punchy ingredients, all of them learned from his culinary upbringing in his heartland, and to transfer them to simple feasts of home cooking.

You may find just one cause to complain, here, about filler: I don't think most people picking up this recipe book need to be told how to arrange tomato and mozzarella on bread (bruschetta caprese); a couple of the salads feel like they're just there to meet the word limit; I also reckon I've read enough 'basic risotto' recipes to fill a book by themselves -- I know how to cook risotto, okay? This minor criticism aside, elsewhere the mouth will water over simple methods for bistecche alla pizzaiola (steaks with tomato sauce), a good recipe for caponata (a sublime Sicilian aubergine dish), a hearty porchetta (rolled pork belly), some great seafood, as to be expected from his regional home in Italy, and a neat little collection of simple sweets, which even I, with little sweet tooth, appreciated.

Combined with the spirit of Contaldo and his heart for cooking, which is easily translated through the sunny, friendly chapter and recipe headings, this makes a great addition to the cook's shelf, and a lovely gift for anyone interested in Italian cookery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Feel-good family cooking, 21 Oct 2013
By 
T. Williamson (South Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gennaro: Let's Cook Italian: Favourite Family Recipes (Hardcover)
I loved this book and all of Gennaro's descriptions. It may be idealist, but the book paints such a warm family picture of enjoying good food together - I just want to cook everything in it! Even if you never use the recipes, it makes for good reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great book, 21 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gennaro: Let's Cook Italian: Favourite Family Recipes (Hardcover)
Received on time,great recipes and great illustration my Italian food loving husband is really pleased with it so I am happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GENNARO, 1 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gennaro: Let's Cook Italian: Favourite Family Recipes (Hardcover)
GOOD BOOK LOVELY ITALIAN RECIPES EASY TO U NDERSTAND I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS BOOK ONE OF MY FAVORITES I LOVE ITALIAN FOOD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brings me back to Italy, 20 Mar 2013
By 
Josie Romeo (Burnaby, British Columbia Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gennaro: Let's Cook Italian: Favourite Family Recipes (Hardcover)
I love watching their shows and the amazing old style recipes they have rediscovered not to mention the beautiful scenes of Italy. I was so excited that they had a cookbook out as well. I look forward to trying some of the recipes!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Authentic, 2 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gennaro: Let's Cook Italian: Favourite Family Recipes (Hardcover)
Great Italian family cooking, contributions from family members and tips on getting those authentic Itallian flavours. Beautiful pictures, well laid out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Delicious, 3 Sep 2012
By 
This review is from: Gennaro: Let's Cook Italian: Favourite Family Recipes (Hardcover)
I was at The Big Feastival this weekend and was lucky enough to get a signed copy of Gennaro's new book Let's Cook Italian. have been looking through the book and being a vegetarian, am going to make the Sformato di pane alle verdure - that's Italian Vegetable Pie! - this weekend.
The recipes don't look over complicated and i love the family photos that are throughout the book of Gennaro's family - adds a great personal touch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0x9e6a1438)

This product

Gennaro: Let's Cook Italian: Favourite Family Recipes
Gennaro: Let's Cook Italian: Favourite Family Recipes by Gennaro Contaldo (Hardcover - 24 Aug 2012)
13.40
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews