Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


76 of 78 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Elusive Vettriano
This is a nicely produced book on the art of Scottish artist Jack Vettriano. If you are looking for an illustrated guide to the work of Jack Vettriano - then this is the book for you. Even though some of his better known works are missing from this volume it is still a good selection.
The reproductions are well thought out and presented, with the exception of one...
Published on 9 Dec 2004 by Robert Dixon

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars small book
this book is a smaller version of one which I purchased a couple of months ago and I was very disapointed that the pictures were crammed on a much smaller page giving the book less impact perhaps when you advertise the size of the book should be included
Published on 8 Dec 2011 by sydd


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

76 of 78 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Elusive Vettriano, 9 Dec 2004
By 
This review is from: Jack Vettriano: A Life (Hardcover)
This is a nicely produced book on the art of Scottish artist Jack Vettriano. If you are looking for an illustrated guide to the work of Jack Vettriano - then this is the book for you. Even though some of his better known works are missing from this volume it is still a good selection.
The reproductions are well thought out and presented, with the exception of one or two. These suffer the same fate as other books on the artist in that they are printed across the spine of the book.
If, like some, you are looking for an insight into the life of the artist, then you may be dissapointed here for there is very little narrative and, what is there is well known already. There is still room for an in depth look at the artist as well as that other vital ingredient, the artist's models.
This is an excellent illustrative guide to the work of the artist with a large number of well presented reproductions. Highly recomended for both the new-comer and the dedicated Jack Vettriano fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most comprehensive Vettriano Book on the market, 29 Dec 2009
By 
Nathalie Martin (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Although published in 2004, 'Jack Vettriano: A Life', remains currently the most comprehensive visual reference book on Vettriano available to date covering, as it does, works from 1992 to 2004. The paintings are helpfully arranged both chronologically and around the fifteen exhibitions held of Vettriano's work during this twelve year period. This is the first book to list the paintings that appeared in Vettriano's exhibitions and as such, provides useful information for anyone wanting to study the artist's work and career in detail. A selection of paintings not featured in exhibitons are also illustrated in this book. Until a definitive catalogue raisonne is published of Vettriano's work, this is the book to go for if you are looking for a broad overview of the artist's career. The text is provided by Anthony Quinn, film critic for The Independent and himself a collector of Vettriano's work; it is biographical in content covering the artist's childhood through to his rise to prominence as an artist and ending in 2004, the year in which Vettriano was awarded an OBE for Services to the Visual Arts, was featured in a major documentary for The South Bank Show and the year in which The Singing Butler sold for just over 740,000. If you are looking for information on Vettriano's working methods, his cultural influences and his influence on mainstream culture, you should take a look at Jack Vettriano: Studio Life, published in 2008. Studio Life has very few illustrations of Vettriano's paintings but it features an in depth essay by Tom Rawstorne on Vettriano's work and how his life informs his work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A sumptuous volume, 15 Jan 2008
By 
Benjamin (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Jack Vettriano: A Life (Hardcover)
The introduction and subsequent text is very brief, and provides a glimpse into the artist's background and rise to success. The text makes little if any critical comment about the artist's work, perhaps leaving the paintings to speak for themselves. The book concludes with a list of the artist's paintings and exhibitions. The book really is all about the pictures.

There are about 160 full colour reproductions of Vettriano's paintings of which about half dozen are small images illustrating the text, there are over thirty full page bleed pictures many of which in fact amount to a page and a half and include one double page spread (the best in the book?). However the bulk of the illustrations range from almost full page images to those which occupy about half a page or occasionally less. The quality of the reproduction is excellent, and the varied and attractive layout suits the images well, bold yet without detracting from the work.

For those of us who are perhaps used to seeing Vettriano's paintings merely as small reproductions adorning cards and the like, it is a revelation to see them produced so well and to a good size. Seeing them so it is easy to label his technique as commercial and slick; but there is no denying the immediate appeal and impact. Whether or not you are a fan of Vettriano's this is a book worth having, it shows the range of his work, from the dark and sensual to some very appealing high key paintings. Altogether it is a most sumptuous volume.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars small book, 8 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this book is a smaller version of one which I purchased a couple of months ago and I was very disapointed that the pictures were crammed on a much smaller page giving the book less impact perhaps when you advertise the size of the book should be included
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow!, 20 April 2010
By 
Enquirer (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
My skin rarely tingles when I read or view an art book. It does when that artist is Jack Vettriano. This particular offering has several strengths - decent size reproductions of the paintings, a very good range, which includes many lesser known works, a chronology of the exhibitions that made him - with full listings of the works exhibited. This appeals to the aesthete in me and the geek in me, as well as the voyeur! I recommend this book as the best intro to Vettriano, both for fans and those who don't 'get' him at all. (Although I will say that those who fail to get Vettriano are just being wilfully snobbish.)Have a good stare at the less sexual offerings and consider their power as mood poems. Have a good stare at the more sexual ones and consider how much they say about things other than sex.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars evokative, 17 Sep 2006
This review is from: Jack Vettriano: A Life (Hardcover)
I have been a Vettriano fan for many years and am delighted at his rise to fame, so this book is a delight to me. I love the rawness of the subjects, the earthiness. Times past-alas. I nice book and it would make a nice gift to someone who is "new" to Vettriano.

Rina
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not used much yet, 9 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jack Vettriano: A Life (Hardcover)
As I ad some creams to finish up, I haven't really used this cream much, however the short time I have used it , I like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Too small, 2 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This edition is tiny and the print so small I can barely read it. My copy from the library was the usual A4, however this one is just over A5 and the paintings and text are useless. I expected a full size edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great collection of Vettriano's most popular paintings, 26 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jack Vettriano: A Life (Hardcover)
This book contains a great collection of Vettriano's most well-known paintings. The quality of the paper and the colour reproduction are excellent, however the layout could be improved, as some of the images are split across the spine of the book.

The book also includes a limited amount of historical information on Vettriano's life, but this does not have a great deal of depth. The book is primarily intended as a collection of Vettriano's paintings however, and so I do not feel that the relative sparseness of information detracts from the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful for fans of Vetriano, 15 Dec 2011
By 
I bought this last year for myself and bought this for a friend for christmas. It is a beautiful book and very informative. For fans of Jack Vetriano this is a wonderful addition to have in your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Jack Vettriano: A Life
Jack Vettriano: A Life by Jack Vettriano (Hardcover - 20 Nov 2011)
30.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews