Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Takes the Fear out of Fish, 22 May 2012
This review is from: Fish Easy (Hardcover)
Restaurateur, fishmonger, food writer and self taught cook (as well as being an ex-accountant) Mitch Tonks has written a new book, Fish Easy, promising over 100 simple, 30 minute fish recipes, most of which are pictured.

The recipes are arranged by cooking style: on the grill, in the pan, in the oven, raw cured and salads, and finally a chapter on mayonnaise and other basics. The simpler recipes are presented very straightforwardly in just a page of larger font. More complicated recipes are shown traditionally, with a list of ingredients and detailed instructions. As the essence of fish cooking is fresh ingredients and simple preparation, none of the recipes are particularly long or complicated.

I can't imagine not being inspired by this book - if not to follow the recipes as written, then just to use them as a starting point for your own creations. This is not to say the recipes don't look interesting: I'm very keen on trying sea bass with clams and sherry, sardine fritters with caper mayonnaise, fish in salt pastry with lemon, garlic and rosemary, monkfish with sage and roasted garlic, and especially the recipe for salt cod - one of my favourites;an entrant to my all time best dishes was salt cod at Petersham Nurseries. About the only recipe not included is one for fish pie, which I suppose sums up the book not doing the obvious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Fish book I own!, 4 Oct 2012
This review is from: Fish Easy (Hardcover)
Lovely recipes and really easy to follow . Simple yet very tasty! Unlike a lot of fish books he relies on good, well sourced, fish to be the star of the recipe. The rest of the ingredients are simple and easy to find. Well worth a look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars YUM!, 18 April 2012
This review is from: Fish Easy (Hardcover)
I am a massive fan of seafood so this book is right up my street! I was so excited to see that Mitch was bringing out a new book as I loved the last one so much, and I have to say this does not disappoint-all the recipes are simple and quick, without being too 'easy'. Some look like you have slaved away for hours, so are perfect for entertaining, and there are even recipes for extras, such as your own pate, tartare sauce, aioli and saffron mayonnaise. Absolutely delicious and highly recommeneded.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simple recipes, sustainable fishing, 4 Oct 2012
This review is from: Fish Easy (Hardcover)
I love how this book is laid out with simple instructions for cooking, 'what to ask from the fishmonger' sections and the chapters organised in cooking methods - very helpful! I love how quick a lot of these recipes are and the fact that all the recipes are using sustainable fish is very reassuring. Mitch Tonks is the king of cooking fish!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A+, 18 April 2012
This review is from: Fish Easy (Hardcover)
I bought this book because I enjoyed Mitch's previous book, 'Fish', so much. I particularly like the 30 minute angle - sometimes you just don't have time to slave for hours, but still want a delicious fish dish! Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fish easy, 12 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fish Easy (Hardcover)
this book gives me everything i need its good to look at to see what foods look like when cooked , plenty of recipies for dirrerent choices of fish,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fish easy, 1 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fish Easy (Hardcover)
LOVELY BHOOK EASY TO UNDERSTAND EASY RECIPES WELL PRESENTED I LOVE FISH AND THIS IS THE BOOK FOR ME I WOULD RECOMMEND IT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simple and Delicious, 16 April 2012
By 
This review is from: Fish Easy (Hardcover)
i'm a huge fan of Mitch Tonks and have all of his fish recipe books at home...they are well thumbed through and used! i like that the recipes in his new book are quick and easy to make and follow. will definitely have fun cooking from here for friends and family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great book from Mitch Tonks, 16 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fish Easy (Hardcover)
I have all of Mitch's books, love them as they are such easy recipes. We now live in Jerez where we buy amazing locally caught fish. I LOVE it! This one is fantastic. I love it as much as his Bristol restaurant!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fish easy, 22 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fish Easy (Hardcover)
the book is excellant, myt husband is a chef and is really pleased with the quick and easy dishes and would recommend to fish lovers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fish Easy
Fish Easy by Mitchell Tonks (Hardcover - 16 April 2012)
13.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews