Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What I've been waiting for
This book is great. I have lots & lots of books on my favourite band & I thought I had seen most, if not all, the photos there were. The early days stuff (pre Queen) is amazing! Where did they find those! Other reviews have mentioned that the latter years were glossed over somewhat but personally it is the early years that hold most interest. If the attendance at the...
Published on 23 Nov. 2011 by Soul Brother

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good but not the best
IIt's a good queen picture book with a lot of are never published Photographs.some of them are spread over two pages,amazing.also the bicycle race video shoot pictures are fantastic.on the other side sometimes its too much freddie and some pictures are too blurred and only 3 picture after '85 so the text on the cover(65-91)is misleading.
Published on 24 Aug. 2012 by dutch man


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What I've been waiting for, 23 Nov. 2011
This review is from: Queen, On Camera, Off Guard (Hardcover)
This book is great. I have lots & lots of books on my favourite band & I thought I had seen most, if not all, the photos there were. The early days stuff (pre Queen) is amazing! Where did they find those! Other reviews have mentioned that the latter years were glossed over somewhat but personally it is the early years that hold most interest. If the attendance at the 'Stormtroopers' exhibition in London this year is anything to go by, I am not alone.

The text, whilst not extensive, reads as if meticulously researched. I guess this is by Andy Davis as he used to be Record Collector editor and really knows his stuff. Again, the fact there is not too much text is brilliant - for me, this is a photo book and the words merely help. Having background on the images is a bonus too.

I especially love the shots by the van of Freddie & all his mates, off on tour. The double page spread of Ibex live is like the crown Jewels. It is totally blurry and you can only just make out Fred on stage but that is not the point. It is the only picture to feature him on stage at that period & deserves its place, in this book, across two pages.

My other favourite image is the newly leather clad Mercury. Amazing to see him in this environment, with those stage clothes on. It must have excited him to have the new kit & couldn't wait to show them off!

I expect there are loads of photos in Hayward's collection that didnt make the final edit. I, for one, am a jealous Queen fan! I am thankful though that this book has been published. You can tell it has had a lot of work put in by people who care about how things look & read. NOT another Queen cash in, rehashing the same old story & pics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Queen photo album, 23 Nov. 2011
By 
Andrew Banks - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Queen, On Camera, Off Guard (Hardcover)
This book is written by Mark Hayward, who owned Vinyl Experience, a rock memorabilia shop in London, and it is part of a series of books about rock bands "on camera, off guard" written by Hayward and published by Pavilion/Anova Books. The first two titles in the series were about the Beatles and the Rolling Stones. This latest book about Queen is quite expensive. It has a recommended retail price of £25. However, it is a good quality hard back which contains a lot of rare photographs of Queen, and so if you are an admirer of Queen, it is worth the purchase price.

The book includes some very interesting photographs of Queen's band members before they joined Queen. These early shots include a photograph taken in Truro of a sixteen year old Roger Taylor in a band called the Reactions, and some photographs of Freddie taken at Ealing College in 1968 by his friend Paul Humberstone. Later on there are also some high quality colour photographs of Queen in concert at the Paddock in Canvey Island, Essex taken on 22nd March 1974.

The book features some photo shoots from the recording of their promotional videos, including some interesting polariods taken during the filming of the 'It's a Hard Life' video at the Arri Film Stuios in Munich, Germany in June 1984. Roger Taylor described the 'It's a Hard Life' promotional film as the band's "worst ever video", but the book also includes some excellent colour photographs of my favourite Queen video, the 'Bicycle Race' video shoot taken at Wimbledon Stadium in South London on 17th September 1978.

As other reviewers have stated, the book does tend to concentrate on the early days and the 1970s. There is relatively little coverage of the 1980s and early 1990s, hence the reason for me giving the book only four stars rather than five, although even in the later chapters there are some gems, including a good photo of Freddie wielding a Fender Telecaster at Wembley during the Live Aid concert on 13th July 1985. The text, whilst not extensive, provides a good commentary on the photographs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended!, 17 Nov. 2011
This review is from: Queen, On Camera, Off Guard (Hardcover)
One of the best book about Queen. From all releases of this this year only two books are claim attention - "Queen 40" and "Queen on Camera, Off Guard". Many rare photos, good print quality, page size A4... It`s large and heavy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good but not the best, 24 Aug. 2012
This review is from: Queen, On Camera, Off Guard (Hardcover)
IIt's a good queen picture book with a lot of are never published Photographs.some of them are spread over two pages,amazing.also the bicycle race video shoot pictures are fantastic.on the other side sometimes its too much freddie and some pictures are too blurred and only 3 picture after '85 so the text on the cover(65-91)is misleading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some good photos, 3 Nov. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Queen, On Camera, Off Guard (Hardcover)
This book just arrived this morning, and it has some good photos of the band relaxing and as the title says "off guard". Whilst the book states 65-91, it seems to skip from 1980 to 1991 in a relatively small number of pages. Some of the pics are a bit blurred, but still worth having in your collection if your a big Queen fan. Certainly glad i bought this book and i would recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars RARE PHOTOS, 8 Nov. 2011
This review is from: Queen, On Camera, Off Guard (Hardcover)
IM GLAD THEY HAVE NOT ATTEMPTED TO TELL THE WHOLE STORY OVER AGAIN ,FILLED WITH AMAZIG PHOTOS I HAVE NEVER SEEN BEFORE AND GOOD ACCOMPANYING SCRIPT ,GREAT BUY FOR ANY SERIOUS QUEEN FAN
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Queen, on Camera, off Guard, 15 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Queen, On Camera, Off Guard (Hardcover)
this is a great book to buy for any queen fans out there, it goes back to the early sixties up to the nineties, lots of photographs which have never seen before, great reading and lots of pictures great for a queen collector.great book to buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 14 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Queen, On Camera, Off Guard (Hardcover)
Item arrived in excellent shape and super FAST! Awesome book for any Queen fan, numerous photo's of Queen early on and a great read, well worth the purchase price. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Nice book for ardent fans., 22 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Queen, On Camera, Off Guard (Hardcover)
This book is in my opinion ideal for ardent Queen fans like me who have supported the band for over 40 years.
a nice addition to my Queen book collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must have, 22 Feb. 2012
By 
Svetlana Polikanova (Moscow, Russia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Queen, On Camera, Off Guard (Hardcover)
Stunningly either rare or totally unseen pictures inside, LOADS of pictures, I'm deeply shocked in the best meaning of the word. Great experience!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Queen, On Camera, Off Guard
Queen, On Camera, Off Guard by Mark Hayward (Hardcover - 24 Nov. 2011)
£15.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews