Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A solid introduction to vintage hair styling
I have spent the past couple of years looking at YouTube videos about how to create vintage hairstyles, and even splashed out on a one to one lesson with a vintage hairdresser. I found this book to be a good companion, consolidating some of the knowledge I have learned. So here are some pros and cons:

PROS

1. An ideal gift - the book is beautifully...
Published on 9 Jun 2011 by L. Hulme

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Introduction
This book is really nicely presented even if some of the models are abit scary.
I did feel though that it was more like an introduction and was missing the rest of the book.
There is NOT a lot of styles.
I recommend this book if you have short hair because most of the styles are for you.
I also recommend it for those who want just a couple of hair...
Published on 28 Jun 2011 by L


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 10 Jun 2011
This review is from: Style Me Vintage (Hardcover)
This is fantastic. I love the styles, they are easy to recreate and the guide is very good. I particular like that the model seems to make the hair on herself.
The book is lovely detailed, the pictures are beautiful, there are many styles to choose from, but I do miss styles that are set with curlers and not a curling iron (what's it called).
All in all, I am very pleased. I love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars FABULOUS, 20 Feb 2011
This review is from: Style Me Vintage (Hardcover)
LOVE, LOVE, this book. I've already tried out the styles, & they are FAB. Really worth the money, & definitely would recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Things you wondered, but never knew, 17 May 2011
This review is from: Style Me Vintage (Hardcover)
This is a good book. It shows classic styles and how to achieve them such as victory rolls, quiffs and waves. There are not a lot of styles, but what it shows is good. If you are looking for ideas, this is not the book for you, but if you want to know how to get that classic old style look, this is very good. Great price too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Style Me Vintage, 31 Dec 2010
This review is from: Style Me Vintage (Hardcover)
Pretty Book, but not as good as expected. Too many pictures of modern stars, this space could have been used to give a greater choice of hair styles. The styles shown were very basic and I have seen better basic examples. Loads of 60's stuff, which with me being in Rock n Roll, Rockabilly and the 1940s and 50s was a total waste of space for me. On consideration if I could have seen inside I probably would not have purchased.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A gorgeous book, 9 Nov 2010
This review is from: Style Me Vintage (Hardcover)
Not as many styles as other vintage hair style books but good photos on how to create the styles. Some of the styles in the book are a bit 'naff' and the pages would be better devoted to variations on the more popular vintage hairstyles.
The cover of the book is lovely and the photos of both modern and golden era celebs are good for inspiration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love this book, 6 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Style Me Vintage (Hardcover)
Nice book with lots of vintage information.
Plenty of vintage hair styles to learn .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 16 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Style Me Vintage (Hardcover)
Great book full of pics, step by step pics to learn & with clear instructions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Style Me Vintage (Hardcover)
Arrived today......its a book. I shall use it to beat my kids with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 5 Oct 2014
This review is from: Style Me Vintage (Hardcover)
Love the hair styles and great pics to show you how to get them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Practical, Perfect, Usable, 21 Dec 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Style Me Vintage (Hardcover)
This book is a must for someone starting out with recreating vintage styles, and an excellent buy for any vintage lover.

The book covers a variety of step by step styles, with plenty of room and encouragement to experiment and take the looks in different directions. I particularly liked the lists of equipment and the easy to follow picture guides.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Style Me Vintage
Style Me Vintage by Belinda Hay (Hardcover - 4 Oct 2010)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews