Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The easy way to becoming a 'wine ponce'!
For anyone who enjoys a glass of red, white, rose or even 'bubbly' but is keen to know more about what they're actually drinking, Oz's book is a must read - particularly at the price charged by Amazon. Written in Oz's unique style you can always sense his passion for all things wine - well most of them - but it is also full of 'wine facts', which will both please a...
Published on 18 Aug 2010 by Paulo

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Markedly "Oz" but still a useful starter's book
Before I start, I should make it known that I find Oz Clarke a very engaging and entertaining character with whom to run through the minefield of oenology. His TV show with James May was utterly fantastic, his frustrations at May's philistine nature showing through time-and-time again. On paper, however, his personality isn't so infectious and it instead left a rather...
Published on 13 May 2011 by C. Dearden


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Markedly "Oz" but still a useful starter's book, 13 May 2011
By 
C. Dearden (Sheffield, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Let Me Tell You About Wine (Hardcover)
Before I start, I should make it known that I find Oz Clarke a very engaging and entertaining character with whom to run through the minefield of oenology. His TV show with James May was utterly fantastic, his frustrations at May's philistine nature showing through time-and-time again. On paper, however, his personality isn't so infectious and it instead left a rather lip-smacking, tannin-rich after taste having read this book.

I am an absolute novice when it comes to all things grape. That's why I plumped for this book - with many of the recommendations pitching it at just my level - and parts of it are certainly very useful in developing one's knowledge of wine. However it did at times feel as though you were being led on Oz's wine tour in which he goes into detail about the wines to which he is partial and always providing subjective insights into the wines, regions and grapes. There are useful guides, yes, but there is also a lot of wit and diatribe which, for me, took away from the guidebook essence of this volume.

I wouldn't urge anyway to shy away from this book as it is an accessible start-up but I would almost certainly recommend you supplement it with a more hardy and objective tome like the Oxford Companion to Wine if you are truly to become the cultured student of oenology.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The easy way to becoming a 'wine ponce'!, 18 Aug 2010
By 
Paulo "TVR-nut" (North Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Let Me Tell You About Wine (Hardcover)
For anyone who enjoys a glass of red, white, rose or even 'bubbly' but is keen to know more about what they're actually drinking, Oz's book is a must read - particularly at the price charged by Amazon. Written in Oz's unique style you can always sense his passion for all things wine - well most of them - but it is also full of 'wine facts', which will both please a certain Mr James May and make your trip around the local supermarket's wine section all the more enjoyable. However be prepared to spend time - and I mean alot more time - mulling over the various labels in order to search out a particular grape variety, region of France or even vineyward which appears to happen when you're on the road to becoming a 'wine ponce'. Cheers Oz!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If there's something about wine that's not in this book then you don't need to know it., 3 Feb 2014
As usual I received this book for the purposes of review; this time from NetGalley. Also as usual I will give my candid opinions below.

Usually what I would do next is give the positives and negatives of the book. In this case it's difficult to be sure since everything I say can either be interpreted as positive or negative. Therefore, I resort to bulletpoints.

* This one is most assuredly positive. The book is just filled with all manner of photos, maps, diagrams and every other imaginable visual aid.

* The book is meticulously detailed. This is no beginner's guide; I've seen textbooks in Organic Chemistry that contained less information. For each wine you get enough information that you could practically grow the grapes yourself.

* In addition to the depth of knowledge, the book's scope is amazingly broad. It tells you not only how to choose a wine but where it was grown, what weather conditions it prefers and all the way to how to get the cork out.

In summary, you really only need one book on wine and this is that book. If there's something about wine that's not in this book then you don't need to know it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Peels away the snootiness of sniffers, 15 April 2012
This review is from: Let Me Tell You About Wine (Hardcover)
A good first wine book for those who would rather not be intimidated by wine snobs. Clarke writes like his TV persona and makes the grape accessible. Given this by a family friend who came with us on a sipping trip through Languedoc Roussillon not long ago. Meant that all members of the party could ask intelligent questions and it was a bit of a confidence boost even for those of us who are used to tasting wines in the vineyard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very useful book, 2 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Let Me Tell You About Wine (Hardcover)
I found this to be a very useful source to feed my initial interest in wines. It's rather comprehensive book covering general 'consumer' information such as types of grapes, wine making, tasting, finding the right glasses, understanding wine labels, ordering wine in restaurant, selecting wine for food (or vice versa), etc The second part of the book is very descriptive guide to world wines covering famous as well as more obscure producing countries. Its written very well and helps one to like wine rather than be discouraged by all the pomp and industry around it. One of the immediate effects of the book is that I can find exaqctly the type of wine I need in shops and enjoy these better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Useful reference book for beginners, 18 Mar 2014
This review is from: Let Me Tell You About Wine (Hardcover)
A great beginners guide to wine, written in Oz Clarke's typically clear and honest style. The text is easy to understand and concise. This is a useful reference book which also contains great pictures.

Recommended for people who like wine but want to know more about it.

I received an ARC of this book via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Oz makes things simple, 18 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Let Me Tell You About Wine (Hardcover)
There is so much pretension around wine so Oz's approach is much better. Strips away all the rubbish and explains very simply what to look for. This is by far my favourite wine book. Most other books talk about recommended wines that most people are never going to remember let alone come across. This is better by focusing on taste and the basics of wine making. Especially good is the flavour wheel to show what to look for in a grape and guide that shows you what food goes with that grape.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars About Wine, 4 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Let Me Tell You About Wine (Hardcover)
My first book about wine. As you read this book Oz Clarke explains about the wine. But you also feel how must he loves and enjoys wine and try's to share this love of wine with you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Let me Tell You About Wine Oz Clarke, 28 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Let Me Tell You About Wine (Hardcover)
This book was bought as a Christmas present, so the 5 stars were given by the owner, who thought the book excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says on the tin!, 3 Jan 2012
This review is from: Let Me Tell You About Wine (Hardcover)
Bought for my sister in law, who has a basic understanding of wine.
Very informative and easy to read. Covers a bit of everything.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Let Me Tell You About Wine
Let Me Tell You About Wine by Oz Clarke (Hardcover - 3 Oct 2013)
11.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews