Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grapes and Wines: A comprehensive Guide to Varieties and Flavours, 10 Jan 2011
By 
This review is from: GRAPES AND WINES: A Comprehensive Guide to Varieties and Flavours (Paperback)
We are very lucky that the product 'Wine' is very closely related to the 'Vine' or Cepage as the French call it and to an important extent the 'Terroir'. Very few products have such a close relationship that we can taste and is visible.
Oz Clarke's book `Grapes and Wines: A comprehensive Guide to Varieties and Flavours', brings out the importance of knowing and appreciating the `story' of the different cepages and their occurrence in the various regions and continents. Carmenere, from Chilé, was considered to be Merlot, but later was found that Carmenere originated from Bordeaux, flourishes in Chilé but has disappeared from Bordeaux. And to our understanding, it is not found anywhere else with a Bordeaux climate.
The book is a delight to read and is also an easy reference book. Internet can provide good information and must not be excluded,but is not as comprehensive as this book.
I am following a three-year oenology course in Brussels, and find Oz Clarke's book very helpful to complement the lectures, wine tasting and field trips. There are far more vines than the `usual suspects' Merlot, Cabernet Sauvignon, Syrah, ... or Chardonnay, Sauvignon blanc, Semillion, in lesser volumes but not lesser taste, for lack of a better word.
Knowing something of a wine's cepage, helps in appreciating the wine much more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wine described from the grape perspective, 24 Nov 2010
By 
J. Suyderhoud (ouderkerk aan den ijssel, Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: GRAPES AND WINES: A Comprehensive Guide to Varieties and Flavours (Paperback)
Wines are normally described based on the location, wine yard or country of origin. Oz Clarke had however the brilliant idea to describe wines based on the grape(s) used. Information is given on each grape used for making of wine. For the most important grapes, further details are given such as history and geographic locations, viticulture and vinification, taste and a limited number of recommended producers and wines. Since the world of wine is constantly changing, this book is regularly updated, the latest revision is from 2008. It gives a very original, unique and informative look on the available wines around the world, therefore highly recommended for all wine lovers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive book, 30 Nov 2010
By 
Gary White "gwhitegeog" (Fulham, London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: GRAPES AND WINES: A Comprehensive Guide to Varieties and Flavours (Paperback)
Not your usual wine guide. This is specifically about grapes, terroir and wine styles. Invaluable and great value for money. Well written and illustrated
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Exactly what I was looking for, 2 May 2010
By 
Chupin Gregoire "Languedoc wine 30" (Nmes, France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: GRAPES AND WINES: A Comprehensive Guide to Varieties and Flavours (Paperback)
Imagine you have an interest in wine. You want detail on a wine grape. Use this book as a dictionary, you could find everything you wanted to know about grape varieties but where afraid to ask !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Encyclopedia of grapes, 1 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: GRAPES AND WINES: A Comprehensive Guide to Varieties and Flavours (Paperback)
Great book! It covers almost all known grape varities in the world. Don't think there is any other book similar on the market. I constantly use this book as a refrence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A SUPERB BOOK!!, 18 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: GRAPES AND WINES: A Comprehensive Guide to Varieties and Flavours (Paperback)
I bought this book for my son as he appreciates good wine and this would give him a great insight into grape varieties and what wines they produce.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars okay, 27 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: GRAPES AND WINES: A Comprehensive Guide to Varieties and Flavours (Paperback)
it is a former librabry book and I didn't expect this. Although the condition of the book is okay, I preferred a book without library lables. It was my fault though because it was written in the description that it was a library book and I failed to notice!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Recipient reads book in bed every night, 30 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: GRAPES AND WINES: A Comprehensive Guide to Varieties and Flavours (Paperback)
An interesting idea to classify the book by grape varieties. It's informative, covers a huge range of wines and is written in a readable style. I got a lot of credit for choosing it as a present, too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXpert viticultural knowledge, 31 Dec 2010
By 
Mr. Michael R. Shaw "Mike Shaw" (Cte-d'Or, France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: GRAPES AND WINES: A Comprehensive Guide to Varieties and Flavours (Paperback)
A brilliant book on grpaes and wines, written by someone who really knows his stuff - Oz Clarke, a Philosopher and Psychologist no less.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

GRAPES AND WINES: A Comprehensive Guide to Varieties and Flavours
GRAPES AND WINES: A Comprehensive Guide to Varieties and Flavours by OZ CLARKE AND MARGARET RAND (Paperback - 3 Nov 2008)
14.35
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews