Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a real inspiration
over the last couple of years I have managed to compete in some of the races that this book covers... and all I can say is that this book totally encapsulates the races, their ethoses and also the real challenges that they represent. It has made me want to do more, as well as also being really informative .. it's a great read for those wanting to find out about the best...
Published on 10 Feb. 2008 by B. J. Phillis

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Coffee table travelogue
It's an attractive book to have on the coffee table and you'll get some pleasant moments dipping into it and learning about some of the extreme running events that exist around the world. 24 ultramarathon races on all continents in all possible conditions are showcased with details about the length of the race, the conditions and all with some lovely photographs...
Published on 25 Sept. 2008 by P. Fitzpatrick


Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a real inspiration, 10 Feb. 2008
By 
B. J. Phillis "B" (Berkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Extreme Running (Hardcover)
over the last couple of years I have managed to compete in some of the races that this book covers... and all I can say is that this book totally encapsulates the races, their ethoses and also the real challenges that they represent. It has made me want to do more, as well as also being really informative .. it's a great read for those wanting to find out about the best races out there, and also perfect for the armchair extreme runner.
Nice one Kym and Dave for producing a really readable book with great pictures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Coffee table travelogue, 25 Sept. 2008
By 
P. Fitzpatrick (Hebden Bridge, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Extreme Running (Hardcover)
It's an attractive book to have on the coffee table and you'll get some pleasant moments dipping into it and learning about some of the extreme running events that exist around the world. 24 ultramarathon races on all continents in all possible conditions are showcased with details about the length of the race, the conditions and all with some lovely photographs.
What you don't get is any great insight into what it is like to take part in any one of these events. With only a few pages per event, there is no time for an enthralling story detailing epic struggles - just the occasional snippet from a runner's diary.
Ranulph Fiennes is given some prominence on the cover but only contributes a one-page introduction. With his wealth of experience that's a great shame.
All in all it's a book that looks good but doesn't provide an engaging read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Motivational stuff, 5 Dec. 2008
This review is from: Extreme Running (Hardcover)
I must beg to differ with Mr Fitzpatrick. "Extreme Running" never claims or intends to be an emotional in-depth account of some of the worlds most testing footraces. It doesn't aim for that "saga" title. Rather it is a collection of brief descriptions of the toughest 24 races across 5 continents. It's goal I'm sure is to make this crazy and wonderful sport more accessible to the average reader/athlete. Each event entry is accompanied by a useful stat box stating location, distance, date, characteristics, ascent/descent, records, %finishers and contact info for the said event. The book is littered with fantastic photos relaying the isolation and gruelling challenges faced by competitors, coupled with extraordinary landscape scots. Indeed Extreme Running makes a great coffee table book for this reason alone. But It also introduces us to a compilation of similar sporting events - something that hasn't been done before with this sport.
A wonderful reference book and by far the most inspirational thing I've read in a long while - if only as a result of the glossy pics and horiffic (though enticing) stats. Worth buying alone for the list of event websites mentioned and the "Maybe I will..." rush you get reading it.
It certainly made me dig out my old runners and head for a cold December romp in the woods.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars You can judge this one by the cover, 13 Aug. 2010
This has been described as a coffee table book and that's exactly what it is. The photography is excellent, the stats are interesting but there is no information on any of the races that is surprising or memorable. If you have an obsession with ultras then this is a book that you should get to at some stage, but there are dozens of more inspirational and educational books on the subject. Buy it because it is well priced or buy it because you have read everything else on the subject, but dont buy it to become a better ultra runner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars You want it you get it, 26 Nov. 2010
The first time i see this book i khew it would be mine, the tittle is just magic, if you are a long distance runner this is pocket "runningpedia", with some of the most amazing races all over the world. Nevertheless is just that a review of the races, there is nothing more, it doesnt show the great spirit of the long distance show, extreme running its not a extreme book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Extreeeme, 11 Feb. 2012
It is a great book for persons who are addicted to the limit-finding races. It is also a book that everybody who opens it will be surprised with these races, so you will feel proud of loving this sport.
(sorry for my English, it is not my language)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars For Anyone Interested in International Ultra Running!, 15 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Extreme Running (Hardcover)
Beautifully pictured book display information on the phases of work classic ultra runs. Great as a guide to picking out your next challenge and the problems you'll encounter on route.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Extreme Running Book, 29 Dec. 2011
Great book. For anyone into running this book shows fab pictures of the most amazing runs around the world. Talk about Endurance!! Great dip in and out book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 26 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
RECEIVED. PROMPT. AS DESCRIBED. NEW
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Extreme Running
Extreme Running by Dave Horsley (Hardcover - 26 Sept. 2007)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews