Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Through the keyhole for Jack fans
Sorry for gushing but I'm a real fan of Jack Vettriano's work - I love the story-telling within each piece and the glamorous world he paints. This book, I admit isn't all about the paintings - it is actually a look at the artist - how he creates the work and his inspirations. So you get to see into his house, his books and the models he paints. I'm quite nosy and this is...
Published on 25 Mar 2008 by RC

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars studio life
This book deals mainly with life in the artists studio rather than with his pictures.
There are 3 sections -1) in the studio 2)asense of place and 3)cultural influences. Apart from aeasonable text the book focuses mainly on pictures of the artist at work in his studio,the stodio and the artist in the environment.
Most of the pictures are quite good but many of...
Published on 12 Mar 2012 by G. I. Forbes


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Through the keyhole for Jack fans, 25 Mar 2008
By 
RC (Leicester (UK)) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Jack Vettriano: Studio Life (Hardcover)
Sorry for gushing but I'm a real fan of Jack Vettriano's work - I love the story-telling within each piece and the glamorous world he paints. This book, I admit isn't all about the paintings - it is actually a look at the artist - how he creates the work and his inspirations. So you get to see into his house, his books and the models he paints. I'm quite nosy and this is a classy piece of "through the keyhole" work. You get to see the artist in his natural surroundings. Plus I love the new paintings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good book with some flaws, 2 July 2008
By 
M. Mccurtin - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jack Vettriano: Studio Life (Hardcover)
I really liked this book, the pictures are great quality and being able to see Vetrianos studies was interesting. However as another reviewer said you don't actually get to see or read much about how the artist works other than some brief talk of music and inspiration, even with these small flaws it's still a book worth reading and one I come back to often for inspiration myself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Vettriano Disappoints, 22 Mar 2008
By 
This review is from: Jack Vettriano: Studio Life (Hardcover)
Vettriano Disappoints.

This book has been long awaited by Vettriano fans; it was due out last year. The question is, was it worth the wait and does it live up to expectations?

The sub title: ‘Studio Life’ gives the content away. The book sets out to show Jack Vettriano in his studio with some of his many models. However, we are also given a tour around Vettriano’s studio, all three of them, as well as his various apartments. Oddly, being a book on ‘Studio Life’, we are shown very little of Vettriano’s working methods. In fact, all we are really shown are photographs of Vettriano taking photographs as well as some of the end results. Only one photograph shows us his work in progress and, as this is in the very early stages of that work, it will mean little to most.

Photographs there are plenty of, however, many are wasted space: just how many photographs of jack Vettriano’s palette do we really need? How many close ups of his ‘fag ends’ is the reader interested in? Is anyone really interested in a close up of Jack Vettriano’s paint-spattered shirt?

Considering the fact that this is primarily an art book dedicated to one of Britain’s leading modern-day painters, it is disappointing to find only twenty-nine reproductions of his paintings and, of those, only about three are new. On this level, therefore, the book disappoints. If you are a died-in-the-wool Vettriano aficionados then you may be able to overlook the books shortcomings. If, as are many, you are looking for a book of Vettriano’s paintings then you will be certainly disappointed. If, attracted by the sub title: ‘Studio Life’, you think you are going to have a feast of pictures showing Jack Vettriano’s working methods then you too will be sadly disappointed. If you are new to Vettriano and have nothing else, then this may well whet your appetite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Novice Artist, 19 Mar 2009
By 
Mrs. P. Pearce (Cornwall UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jack Vettriano: Studio Life (Hardcover)
My interest in Jack Vettriano's style was fully covered by this book. As a novice it was very encouraging to see how someone self-taught can achieve such a high degree of success. There are many lovely illustrations,which help the beginner understand how a picture is seen and portrayed.This is a truly comprehensive and enjoyable book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 26 Jun 2008
By 
This review is from: Jack Vettriano: Studio Life (Hardcover)
Love this book, it is interesting and informative and worth reading more than once. This guy is Brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Super book, 2 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jack Vettriano: Studio Life (Hardcover)
I've been a fan of Jack Vettriano for many years, and ordered this book as a gift. It is a great book and provides a good insight into the way Jack works. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Book, 3 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jack Vettriano: Studio Life (Hardcover)
I bought this book as a gift for my aunt and she absolutely loved it. Lovely, well produced pictures and information
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Vettriano - Living Legend, 15 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jack Vettriano: Studio Life (Hardcover)
Whatever you may think about him, getting even a small insight into the workings of Britain's most successful living figurative artist is well worth the read. Great photos of many of his paintings, too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars studio life, 12 Mar 2012
By 
G. I. Forbes (edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jack Vettriano: Studio Life (Hardcover)
This book deals mainly with life in the artists studio rather than with his pictures.
There are 3 sections -1) in the studio 2)asense of place and 3)cultural influences. Apart from aeasonable text the book focuses mainly on pictures of the artist at work in his studio,the stodio and the artist in the environment.
Most of the pictures are quite good but many of the artist himself are so terrible they should never have see the light of day.
Not nearly as good as the authors previous books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Jack Exposed, 27 Sep 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jack Vettriano: Studio Life (Hardcover)
I'm going to gush too....I love Jack Vettriano's work - all of it! I've got another book of his but this is now my favourite! The book gives you insight into Jack the man, the plot behind the painting plus a lot more. The paintings are beautiful, the text inspiring and tells a story about Jack the man. I think he's exposed a lot more of himself here than he's done in other books. I'm really glad I bought this book. It's a proud addition to my coffee table. If you haven't bought one yet, get ordering!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Jack Vettriano: Studio Life
Jack Vettriano: Studio Life by Jack Vettriano (Hardcover - 3 Mar 2008)
25.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews