Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW!!!
what an absolutely delightful book! absolutely astounding, and extremely funny, this book comprises a collection of interesting and sometimes not particularly flattering letters passed between Lady cottington and some of her confederates, most of which are stuck down by various squashed fairies in all sorts of interesting poses... this is easily one of the best books on...
Published on 30 Dec 2005 by Mara Greenwood

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Witty and wicked
This book is a beautifully presented spoof for adolescents and adults; it will appeal to those with a wicked (nay, warped???) sense of humour. Many of the letters are actual separate pieces of paper stuck in; others are enclosed in proper envelopes, so it is all very amusing and well-designed. The "author" is a nasty little girl with an obsession who has been writing to...
Published on 19 July 2011 by Peasant


Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW!!!, 30 Dec 2005
By 
This review is from: Lady Cottington's Pressed Fairy Letters (Hardcover)
what an absolutely delightful book! absolutely astounding, and extremely funny, this book comprises a collection of interesting and sometimes not particularly flattering letters passed between Lady cottington and some of her confederates, most of which are stuck down by various squashed fairies in all sorts of interesting poses... this is easily one of the best books on my bookshelf, and i am now currently tracking down all the rest of frouds books! Mr Froud and Mr Berk, if you ever read this, PLEASE WRITE LOADS MORE IN THIS SERIES!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Strange but interesting!, 3 Feb 2009
By 
Mrs. S. A. Pitt "Sarah Pitt" (Gloucestershire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lady Cottington's Pressed Fairy Letters (Hardcover)
This is not your average book of fairies, and is not really aimed at younger children, but I think older kids and adults would enjoy.

It's presented as a collection of letters and notes from various historical characters who are replying to correspondence from Lady (Angelica) Cottington (we don't see her letters) regarding the fairies which she delights in squishing between the pages of her books. The illustrations are charming and funny - some of the fairies have been pulling faces as they were squished, some are very pretty, whilst others are all nostrils and tongues like a face pressed against glass! Angelica quite often comments on how useful each squishing has been for sticking the letters into the book with.

The letters themselves are printed as if handwritten and are contained in various envelopes and fold-outs within the book. Each refers to their own writings and experience of the supernatural and the letter itself and accompanying mementos reflect the character of the writer. Oscar Wilde's note is scribbled on a menu, and Sir Arthur Conan Doyle's is accompanied by a bill from a spiritualist (on the back of a receipt for a wax hand, some black thread and luminous paint).

I've given four stars instead of five because there's no real narrative going through the book - it really is just a collection of letters which are amusing if you recognise the (both real and fictional) authors. There is a faint thread running through about Angelica trying to contact her mother which I found a bit sad and off-putting, and I found it difficult to read some of the more scribbley letters fluently. That said it is a charming and really beautifully illustrated book and I'd highly recommend it for anyone who enjoys the lighter side of the supernatural.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 29 Sep 2009
By 
M. Edwards (Cornwall) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lady Cottington's Pressed Fairy Letters (Hardcover)
I was sooo impressed with this had to buy one for myself when my daughter went away to uni and took hers with her. . . :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Witty and wicked, 19 July 2011
By 
Peasant (Deepest England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Lady Cottington's Pressed Fairy Letters (Hardcover)
This book is a beautifully presented spoof for adolescents and adults; it will appeal to those with a wicked (nay, warped???) sense of humour. Many of the letters are actual separate pieces of paper stuck in; others are enclosed in proper envelopes, so it is all very amusing and well-designed. The "author" is a nasty little girl with an obsession who has been writing to (among others) Conan Doyle, J M Barrie, Rudyard Kipling, Madame Blavatsky - all those figures of the turn of the century who expressed a rather dodgy interest in the supernatural and fairies in particular, so the replies are quite cleverly written in character. There are a lot of "in" jokes that the literary-minded will get, but kids wouldn't. Read Sarah Pitt's excellent 4-star review for more.

The drawback is that, once you've read through it (it would take a fast reader about half an hour) the joke is over, and some of the literary humour is a tiny bit predictable. This is, I admit, a drawback with many books in this genre, but compared to, say, a Terry Pratchett novel, packed with a similar vein of humour and bearing many re-readings, it makes for poorer value for money.

The anti-inspiration is clearly the Country Diary of an Edwardian Lady; if you loved that, you'll probably hate this, and vice versa. Look on it as one up from a funny greetings card for a friend who you want to treat, but don't know what to get.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Enchanting, 17 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lady Cottington's Pressed Fairy Letters (Hardcover)
Wonderfully written, very enjoyable and full of imagination and humor. I'm even tempted to buy some of the other books aswell
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, 24 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lady Cottington's Pressed Fairy Letters (Hardcover)
A nifty little gift and much prettier than I expected as it has features that come off and stick out. Delivery was fantastic as it arrived only days after order and that was just before Christams and arrived during the week between Christmas and New Year. Very impressed and would recommend as a gift! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars For a friend, 16 Jan 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lady Cottington's Pressed Fairy Letters (Hardcover)
This was a Christmas present for a friend. I was unable to find the Pressed Fairy Annual (Diary?) which I know, so sent this instead. My friend has an incredibly extensive library, but had never seen this, so I was in luck. It is a very strange and amusing book, well worth a look for anyone who enjoys the unusual. It is beautifully illustrated and presented. Well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good laugh not for the faint hearted!, 25 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lady Cottington's Pressed Fairy Letters (Hardcover)
i purchased this book as a gift for a friend with a good sense of houmour- who is somewhat into fairies and elementals.
its full of lovely funny suprises! and the art work is fantastic as well as funny.

it reads a bit like an old fashioned journal as in lady cottingtons pressed fairy book that i read some years ago. its slightly shocking and a good laugh- if you are a fan of fairies i hope you have a good sense of humour as it seems quite cruel-
makes a great birthday or christmas gift for people who like a bit of fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars more pressed faiires, 21 Jun 2009
By 
J. Ball "bookworm" (France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lady Cottington's Pressed Fairy Letters (Hardcover)
Loved it! Already bought the pressed fairy book, this one is just as good. If you're into fairies and slightly "skewed" humour, youll love it too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lady Cottington's Pressed Fairy Letters (Hardcover)
I love Brian Frouds art work
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lady Cottington's Pressed Fairy Letters
Lady Cottington's Pressed Fairy Letters by Ari Berk (Hardcover - 3 Oct 2005)
Used & New from: £2.91
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews