Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


76 of 78 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Elusive Vettriano
This is a nicely produced book on the art of Scottish artist Jack Vettriano. If you are looking for an illustrated guide to the work of Jack Vettriano - then this is the book for you. Even though some of his better known works are missing from this volume it is still a good selection.
The reproductions are well thought out and presented, with the exception of one...
Published on 9 Dec 2004 by Robert Dixon

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars small book
this book is a smaller version of one which I purchased a couple of months ago and I was very disapointed that the pictures were crammed on a much smaller page giving the book less impact perhaps when you advertise the size of the book should be included
Published on 8 Dec 2011 by sydd


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars scottish artist, 17 Feb 2011
By 
G. I. Forbes (edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jack Vettriano: A Life (Hardcover)
It is pleasing to note that at least one Scottish gallery- The Scottish National Portrait Gallery -has finally recognised the importance of this artists work by hanging a self portrait.
The stupidities,jealousies and disdain of the so called experte of Edinburgh and Glasgow remain with only one gallery in Kircaldy-his home town-showing his pictures.
The boook is divided into 4 parts,
1987-1993 Tales of love and other stories
1994-1996 The passion and the pain
1997-2000 Lovers and other strangers
2001-2004 Affairs of the heart
All pictures are excellent many demonstrating menace and intense human relations.
It is high time the Scottish galleries mounted a retrospective exhibition of this artists work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bluebellgirl, 6 Nov 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jack Vettriano: A Life (Hardcover)
I love Jack Vettriano - and I love this book, a true coffee table art book, full of wonderful text and photographs of his work. Really inspirational. You get to see the story behind the paintings, can clearly see the brushwork if you're up to copying or if you want to imitate his style of painting! This is a great book about the man Jack, and the history of his painting. A worthwhile buy, a good present if you have an art lover as a friend and want to spoil them!
This book is picked up regularly by friends and family alike and they drool over these exquisite paintings. A good size book, a great buy and great paintings!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Vettriano Fan, 25 Oct 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My husband and I both Vettriano fans. Some time ago we found this book in a shop and briefly flicked through the pages. Not only were the well known paintings featured by also some, what can only described as risque prints! However, all done with extreme taste. We did not buy the book and have not seen it since until I discovered it through Amazon. I have decided to put this book in with my husband's Christmas present and I know he will be thrilled with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars superb, 19 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jack Vettriano: A Life (Hardcover)
A small format book but full page reproductions on every page and no text to distract from the work . A very beautiful book and good value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good present for a fan, 27 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jack Vettriano (Paperback)
Bought as a gift for my mum at Christmas- she really loves it even though I bought it in French!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My very favourite artist., 11 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jack Vettriano: A Life (Hardcover)
I have introduced so many of my friends to Jack Vettriano and like me they are collecting so many of his prints.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Vettriano, 15 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very useful reference book for art group work. An 'interesting' artist who must have been a right lad in his day!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nice artwork, 13 Dec 2013
By 
L. Bell (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jack Vettriano: A Life (Hardcover)
Thought it would have more of a write up on the artist, but as a book to muse the works of Vettriano without the need to buy prints it's a good buy. A nice stroll through the pages of his work
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Jack Vettriano Book, 9 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I would recommend this book, bought as a present for someone who was going to see his art exhibition and they loved the book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Jack Vettriano, 30 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Love this book, not looked at it thoroughly yet as it is a Christmas present, but have had a look at a friends copy. Not a lot to read, but great pictures of the artists work. Not heard of him until this summer but having seen this book I am hooked, hence buying this copy for my other half. Hopefully will get to his exhibition before it closes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Jack Vettriano: A Life
Jack Vettriano: A Life by Anthony Quinn (Hardcover - 28 Oct 2004)
Used & New from: 0.38
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews