Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


84 of 87 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars as good as it gets
There are almost as many Thai cookbooks as there are Thai restaurants in London. However, the majority of both offer toned-down, inauthentic fare that would be laughed at in Thailand itself. This book is a definitive compilation of carefully researched recpies that capture the enormous complexity and variety of one of the world's great cuisines - one that is all too often...
Published on 21 Oct 2002

versus
64 of 71 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Authentic and Comprehensive.... perhaps a little too much so
This is a beautiful and well written cookbook. it aims at being comprehensive and authentic and definitely succeeds. However, the author has the most exacting and uncompromising approach to ingredients and recipes i have ever encountered in a cookbook and this really undermines it in the long run. This book is all about producing the food that Thais eat in Thailand and as...
Published on 12 Nov 2008 by Tomasf


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best cookbooks ever....no hyperbole!!!, 11 Sep 2009
This review is from: Thai Food (Hardcover)
This is a fantastic cookbook for an accomplished home cook who wants to understand the flavours in Thai food, rather than just knock up a quick green curry on a Saturday night. Don't buy this book if you just want a "how to...." book, there are instructions and ingredient lists on tubs of curry pastes and tom yam. If you really want to make a genuine Thai meal do make the effort to follow this book through: the sections on making pastes for currys is worth the price alone. You will have to buy a big mortar and pestle, and track down a grocer who stocks the fresh stuff you need (search online, you can get literally everything you need delivered to your door) but beyond that all you need is a bit of time and comitment.

This is not for the faint hearted and you need a certain level of culinary confidence before you start, but if you make the effort you'll be rewarded a thousand-fold....... I can now turn out better food than any Thai restaurant with 50 miles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 star, 21 Nov 2007
By 
This review is from: Thai Food (Hardcover)
i was recommended this book by a chef who specialises in thia cookery. it is a fabulous book and very well written.
the only problem is localing the ingredients in the south west
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Book, 11 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thai Food (Hardcover)
A very handsome book, with a clear, detailed, informative style of writing. Probably not the book you want just for a curry on the odd Friday night. But if you want to learn how to build Thai flavours from scratch, look no further. A lot of people on here are whingeing about the impossibility of obtaining various esoteric ingredients. Hello? It's food from the other side of the world, what were you expecting exactly? Happily, the author describes each dish well, and the book contains extensive glossaries and explanations, so any half-decent cook should be able to run with it and knock up something spectacular. Only today, I made the Smoked Catfish & Green Mango Salad for lunch, in ten minutes. Catfish (smoked or otherwise) are rare round here, so smoked mackerel it was, and although I can occasionally get green mangoes, I only had pink grapefruit to hand. Nevertheless, my guests were amazed by it. Thai cooking is nothing if not eclectic, and I'm sure the Thais who live in England make frequent use of clever substitutions, rather than sulking about, complaining about the lack of stuff...

NB. This book seems to have been reprinted, and as such, is now an absolute steal. I was looking for it a while back, and it was only available at very high prices, second-hand. Don't let it slip through your galangal-scented fingers again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an excellent book, 28 Sep 2004
This review is from: Thai Food (Hardcover)
The book is simply superb, great recipes, well presented and put together. It is, however, not for the faint hearted as some of the recipes really do require some skill. I found the greatest pleasure from this book was the hunting out of ingredients and then the patient cooking required to bring out true SE Asian flavours - A must for anyone who has sampled the real thing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic insight into Thai cuisine, 11 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thai Food (Hardcover)
Honestly? A slow burner for me. I'd had this book for a while and whilst I had dipped in and out of it, cooking some great dishes, it never quite pulled me in....until I was stuck with some pork mince that needed using up and tiring of the usual repertoire, I pulled this from the bookshelf and made the most amazing, simple soup with soy sauce and rice noodles. Since then I have cooked so many wonderful things from this book both quick and complex, I can't recommend it enough. A little preparation is needed - some ingredients are a bit obscure but if you grab some cupboard staples like coconut cream, soy & fish sauce, freeze dried kaffir lime leaves and freeze some others, Lemongrass, chillies and galangal then you can pretty much grab some meat or veg and jump right in. Honestly? Just brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BEST GREEN CURRY EVER, 26 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thai Food (Hardcover)
i made the green curry of trout dumplings and apple eggplants and it was unreal i didnt cut any corners and i can safely say its the best curry iv ever eaten. Only neg bit was you need alot longer than a couple of mins to cook the apple eggplants ant i couldnt get fresh red turmeric so i just put a tea spoon of yellow in and i couldnt get kaffir limes so i just thinly sliced a few leaves instead.Go and buy the book you wont be disappointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You Won't Find a Better Book on Thai Cooking, 5 Aug 2011
This review is from: Thai Food (Hardcover)
Having been treated to an excellent Thai cooking session by my wife I wanted to know how I could create more of the wonderful flavours that traditional Thai food gives you. I looked through all the available books on Thai cooking and this seemed to win hands down for a serious, authentic Thai cookbook. The main problem with the book appeared to be the difficulty in getting authentic Thai ingredients. I don't know if we are better served with good Oriental supermarkets than the rest of the country but I have had no trouble so far in getting things like kaffir lime leaves, palm sugar etc for the recipes I have attempted.

One of the other reviews mentioned that the book had no illustrations, this may have referred to an earlier edition of the book because the book I received certainly has some great illustrations of the recipes.

In conclusion, if you enjoy being in the kitchen creating authentic Thai food then look no further this is the book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, but not for the timid cook, 1 Oct 2010
By 
Mr. J. Horsfall (sheffield, uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Thai Food (Hardcover)
As most of the other reviews mention, this book has recipes using ingredients that are hard to find. If you live in a city with Chinese, or even better Thai, supermarket you should be ok though (if not near a city you may have trouble with ingredients). I think the use of authentic ingredients in the book make it a top notch recipe book (if you want a 'thai style' meal look somewhere else, if you want authentic thai food this is for you).

The recipes are easy to follow, if a bit long to prepare. But the food I have made from the book has been excellent (if I do say so myself).

There is good info on Thailand, and ingredients that are a good grounding in Thai cuisine and culture. And it is written very well throughout. I want to go back to Thailand after reading it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Thai Cookbook available if you are serious!, 21 Jun 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thai Food (Hardcover)
I bought this for my husband's anniversary present because he is a very good Asian cook. He needed a Thaicookery book and he was very pleased with this, the recipes are not particularly easy but authentic and if you have the passion and the time to do this cuisine well this is the book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A comprehensive guide to thai cuisine and culture, 8 Sep 2009
This review is from: Thai Food (Hardcover)
If your interested in cooking thai food then this book is a must have. As well as having hundreds of mouth-watering recipes the book itself is beautifully designed with stunning photography and easy to follow texts.

Its worth bearing in mind all these recipes are made from scratch, so if you are not interested in making your own curry pastes this is probably not the book for you. But don't let that put you off there are also some speedy recipes if you don't have lots of time free.

All in all I think this is a great book, I was initially put off by the fact is was written by a westerner but this quickly vanished as most (if not all) the recipes are created by Thai's. My only gripe is the fabric cover can not be cleaned, my copy has lots of fat stains now ;-(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Thai Food
Thai Food by David Thompson (Hardcover - 18 Oct 2002)
15.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews