Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Comprehensive Guide to Mixing Drinks (Safely)
Harry Craddock was once asked what was the best way to drink a Cocktail: "Quickly," he replied, "while it's laughing at you!"
The Savoy Cocktail Book first appeared in 1930. Since then it has been revised updated and perfected into an essential handbook.
I've worked on recipes published in the 1977 edition for as long as I can remember but...
Published on 24 Jan 2001 by quotesuk

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't Buy This ...
.. unless you are happy with an inferior looking product. The book you will receive is not the one pictured. This runs the risk of being false advertising and the seller should be held to account for this by Amazon. The picture, and the details from the 'look inside' section, relate to the 1999 edition which, it seems from another reviewer, is of much better quality. The...
Published on 21 Dec 2011 by ukvillafan


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't Buy This ..., 21 Dec 2011
By 
ukvillafan (Liverpool, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Savoy Cocktail Book (Savoy London) (Hardcover)
.. unless you are happy with an inferior looking product. The book you will receive is not the one pictured. This runs the risk of being false advertising and the seller should be held to account for this by Amazon. The picture, and the details from the 'look inside' section, relate to the 1999 edition which, it seems from another reviewer, is of much better quality. The book I received was the 2011 edition which has a cream cover and feels cheap. So disappointing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Comprehensive Guide to Mixing Drinks (Safely), 24 Jan 2001
Harry Craddock was once asked what was the best way to drink a Cocktail: "Quickly," he replied, "while it's laughing at you!"
The Savoy Cocktail Book first appeared in 1930. Since then it has been revised updated and perfected into an essential handbook.
I've worked on recipes published in the 1977 edition for as long as I can remember but felt an upgrade was called for when I realised that there was another 100 pages in the current edition. Perhaps there are other bartenders out there who are still using their yellowed copy too. Do them an favour and make sure they get a fresh copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another Bartender's must!, 27 May 2001
By 
Ulric Nijs (London, n.a United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Savoy Cocktail Book (Savoy London) (Hardcover)
Harry Craddock has often been refered to as the only drink purist, and was probably the world first mixologist. He is certainly well above his contemporary -sorry Mr. Dick Bradsell! As essential as this book may be to any pofesional bartender, it is not on the shopping list of "Ibiza"-styled barmen. Indeed, is has a refreshing lack of disco-drink, and focuses only on true classics -sometimes with a Craddock's twist!. However, before being enlightnened by his masterful exelency, one will have to get their heads around the measurments used in the recipes... -What on earth is a "Pony" or a "split"? But, this is a small price to pay for some of the finest drinks ever created. Last but not least, the packaging is superb!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Reading, 21 Feb 2013
By 
N. Barker (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Savoy Cocktail Book (Savoy London) (Hardcover)
I have a small collection of a few dozen books on cocktails and had been meaning to get this one for a while. I am delighted that I did so.

So far as I can tell, it is a beautifully produced facsimile of the 1930's original, with the original text and illustrations, in colour, printed on good quality paper. It also has a brief contemporary introduction with a few suggestions from the current staff at the Savoy American Bar. Frankly, I find it incredible that some other reviewers have questioned the quality of this publication.

These 1930's cocktails are very much to my taste, as they are generally short, sharp and alcoholic. These are strong drinks for a generation that had been through WW1. The author's comments are also often very funny. For more contemporary cocktail concoctions, mainly of fruit juices and fizzy drinks, it is better to look elsewhere.

Note also that as this is a facsimile, the drinks are simply in alphabetical order. You will get no assistance in terms of an ingredients index.

Not the first cocktail book for a novice, but well worth acquiring if you get a taste for these things.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 29 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Savoy Cocktail Book (Savoy London) (Hardcover)
A stylish coffee table book with great cocktail recipes. Have tried a few and am looking forward to trying more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars cheap xmas present, 30 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Savoy Cocktail Book (Savoy London) (Hardcover)
detailed book if the recipient holds onto it, i'm sure they will find it a mine of information at different times for different occasions
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Cocktail Book, 1 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Savoy Cocktail Book (Savoy London) (Hardcover)
Excellent selection of old and new cocktails to try out. Not sure the paper the book was made with is the highest quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent cocktail book, 4 Oct 2012
This review is from: The Savoy Cocktail Book (Savoy London) (Hardcover)
Wanting to purchase a classic cocktail book I was drawn to this one after enjoying cocktails at the American Bar at the Savoy after it re-opened a few years ago. I was a bit hesitant after reading some of the reviews on here, but thought that at this price it was worth a try, and i'm throughly glad I did. It's a fantastic book, and beautifully packaged. It looks as though it's a facsimile of the cocktail menu from the Savoy in the 1920's as it's very Art Deco in it's design and I find this really appealing. As to the cover I think it's quite classy, and the Art Deco style matches perfectly with the design inside, hence I don't see why people are complaining about it, unless of course they did not buy this edition (I believe there have been quite a few editions over the years, but this is the most recent). As to the cocktails, well a fantastic variety, and I think i'll be trying out new ones for many years to come as it seems to be a very comprehensive book.
Would definately recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The escoffier of Drinks..., 23 Sep 2009
This review is from: The Savoy Cocktail Book (Savoy London) (Hardcover)
Have had this book for a few years now, and can highly recommend it to anyone who works in a cocktail bar, or who is serious about what they drink. This man invented The White Lady(a kind of 1920s Cosmo), and brought the modern Dry Martini to Europe. Harry Craddock was one of the "3 Harrys" of pre 1939 Bartending, along with Harry of Harrys Bar in Paris and Harrys Bar in Venice that quite simply gave Europe a Bartending tradition.As a piece of history, this book also shows how far the world of Wines and Spirits has come. Many of todays leading lights in the bar world will use this as a source book when inventing new creations, or in some cases shamelessly ripping-off old ones! All in all a must for the serious Bartender.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not as expected, 17 Dec 2010
This review is from: The Savoy Cocktail Book (Savoy London) (Hardcover)
My husband received the black covered book for a birthday present. The book looked very classy, was printed on a nice quality paper throughout and was matt laminated. I decided to purchase the book for a school Christmas hamper and was very disappointed to receive a cream covered book which was not laminated printed on a poor quality paper. As I didn't have the time to send it back and purchase another book I had to send the book in to school for the hamper. Very disappointed indeed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Savoy Cocktail Book (Savoy London)
The Savoy Cocktail Book (Savoy London) by Harry Craddock (Hardcover - 30 Sep 1999)
Used & New from: £3.60
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews