Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully written
This is a beautifully written and affectionate book on one of the defining pieces of Victorian architecture and engineering. It's hugely entertaining and informative and goes off on some lovely tangents, rather like a pre-Beeching branch line. You certainly don't have to be a railways enthusiast to enjoy this short work.
Published on 1 Mar 2010 by William

versus
28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Architecturally Interesting but Not as Good as Eulogies on Cover
The first third of the book is given over to a scholarly treatment of the derivation of the particular Italian gothic style employed by George Gilbert Scott to build the Midland Grand Hotel, the magnificent frontage to St. Pancras Station. The philosophical roles of Pugin and Ruskin are examined and details provided of the life and the architectural activities of Scott;...
Published on 3 Jan 2008 by Dr. R. Brandon


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Architecturally Interesting but Not as Good as Eulogies on Cover, 3 Jan 2008
By 
Dr. R. Brandon (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
The first third of the book is given over to a scholarly treatment of the derivation of the particular Italian gothic style employed by George Gilbert Scott to build the Midland Grand Hotel, the magnificent frontage to St. Pancras Station. The philosophical roles of Pugin and Ruskin are examined and details provided of the life and the architectural activities of Scott; some might think this the long route towards talking about the station per se. The design and construction of the train shed by William Henry Barlow is described very well. The almost unique (at the time) single unsupported arch construction is explained and compared with that used on other major railway termini. Interesting facts such as the spacing of the cast iron pillars in the undercroft being related to beer barrel size are fascinating and just the sort of detail enthusiasts will be looking for. The interior and Victorian usage of the hotel are described well. There then follows brief notes on the Midland Railway and changes which the railways wrought in society, the latter being of dubious relevance. A perfunctory description of the station resurrection is provided. This is an interesting book but leaves the reader feeling short-changed with regard to a direct treatment of the station and its renovation. It does not quite live up to the eulogies printed on the cover; it is not a masterpiece nor fabulous. The black and white printed illustrations are of poor quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully written, 1 Mar 2010
By 
William (Buckinghamshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a beautifully written and affectionate book on one of the defining pieces of Victorian architecture and engineering. It's hugely entertaining and informative and goes off on some lovely tangents, rather like a pre-Beeching branch line. You certainly don't have to be a railways enthusiast to enjoy this short work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very informative and entertaining, 23 Feb 2010
When I visited St Pancras station for the first time recently, I bought this book at Foyles bookshop on the concourse. I was at first disappointed that the book was published before the Eurostar services started to run from the newly-restored station. But as I got into the book I realised that it actually sets the scene beautifully for the restoration of both the hotel and the station itself.

The history is fascinating, and the author evidently has a good knowledge of both architecture and railway history. This is not a train buffs' book, though it should interset them (and as far as I can tell, is accurate in what it relates of railway technology). It lifted my heart to see how two important monuments that might have been lost were not only repserved but restored with great care.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars St Pancras Station, 30 July 2009
By 
A. P. Heard (Reading, Berkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A superb, comprehensive and thoroughly entertaining account of the true architectural wonder that is St Pancras Station. This book does full justice to what is undoubtedly one of Britain`s finest buildings. It explains how and why it was built, the background to the Gothic revival and perhaps more importantly the key role St Pancras has to play in the future as the `Gateway to Europe` and now the home to the `Javelin train` to the 2012 Olympic Stadium in Stratford. A must read for anyone interested in architecture, London, transport, social history, the Gothic revival and the work of Sir George Gilbert Scott. Hats off to Simon Bradley for a terrific piece of work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fascinating book, 1 April 2007
By 
J. B. L. Rhodes "Judith Rhodes" (Leeds, Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: St Pancras Station (Wonders of the World) (Hardcover)
This is so much more than a book about a single railway station and its hotel. Architecture, engineering, and the synergy between the two, social history, railways throughout the UK, stations throughout the world. It's one of the most interesting books I've read in a long time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A very wordy book., 6 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a very wordy book about the history of St. Pancras - the station and the hotel.
Not many pictures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 11 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
St Pancras Station is a great book with lots of interesting pictures and will make a great present for a railway enthusiast
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Railman, 16 Mar 2011
By 
cairns (Haddington) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: St Pancras Station (Wonders of the World) (Hardcover)
I really enjoyed this book-all the way through. I think that the preamble saves the reader looking to other sources to answer questions. The building of the Hotel was an organic evolution of what had gone before and as such this needs to be understood. The Station was a first in engineering terms and strictly speaking a one off, but it just didn't arrive one day, so the thinking behind it needs to be absorbed. The book makes a very good read and points you in the direction of other sources if you wish to follow up. We have to be thankful that neither edifice was swept away, both are completely different but sit well together. If they had of gone, where would Eurostar have departed from and with what extra costs for the construction? Don't be put off from reading it by some of the comments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent short introduction, 25 Dec 2010
By 
Andrew Walker "Andrew Walker" (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A book about a station may not sound too promising. This is a pleasant surprise, though, as it is about one of the most striking buildings of its type in the country and the writing style is excellent for a general reader, combining appropriate detail with a light touch. The chapters cover the Gothic style of building (the hotel fronting on Euston Road is an example), the train shed (which covers the platforms), the relationship between engineers (who built railways and sometimes stations) and architects (who had increasing influence over time), and the Midland Grand (who commissioned the whole thing). The final chapter, now a little dated, is about plans to restore the buildings in the 21st century.
A regret for me was that the paperback copy only has black and white photos but a Google search can help in that respect (type in "St Pancras Midland Grand"). I note one of the other reviewers refers to the scholarly treatment of the Gothic style and this dragged a bit for me as well, but fear not - you can simply jump ahead a bit and start the next section or chapter without any disadvantage; the chapters are relatively self-contained.
Otherwise, however, this was an enjoyable account that taught me more about architecture, engineering, hotel design and railway history without boring me! If you've ever passed through St Pancras or wondered about the building on Euston Road, I would recommend this as a good and informative read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 19 Oct 2009
By 
Mr. J. Plumridge (Ilkeston Derbyshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A very disappointing and irritating book. Disappointing as the first 60 odd pages were a discussion of why the early Victorians liked Gothic architecture but nothing about the station or the hotel at all. The rest of the book was well padded out with general average railway history, nothing much about St Pancras at all. Not much hard facts about the station; the rows behind the scenes during the building, the cost cutting exercises, change of plan and so on. No social history of what it was like to work in the hotel, no little anecdotes, no references of who stayed there and no reason why it had a fairly rapid decline. Irritating as the author kept referring to the station/platforms as the "Train Shed", which may be the correct name for a railway buff, but not being one it conjured up pictures of steam engines on a turntable waiting to go out and haul the next train, not a station platform! I have given it one star as it was well bound and printed on "nice" paper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

St Pancras Station (Wonders of the World)
St Pancras Station (Wonders of the World) by Simon Bradley (Hardcover - 25 Jan 2007)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews