Customer Reviews


53 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


43 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb for any age !
Wonderful for anybody that wants to know the answers to life's sometimes baffling questions (especially if you have children that want the answers to questions that sometimes you even have doubts about). This book is almost certainly for you (look really clever in front of the childern, no more ask the teacher the answer to that one). Boys will love the question on...
Published on 23 Feb 2007 by Alessi Lover

versus
29 of 32 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars enjoyable
I enjoyed both books equally; the questions were simple enough the answers even simpler in some instances. Now I know why the penguin's feet don't stick and who or not eats wasps, couldn't get through the day without the answers. Enjoyable read
Published on 6 Nov 2006 by S. Wallace


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

43 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb for any age !, 23 Feb 2007
By 
Alessi Lover "C.A.D." (Knightley UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Why Don't Penguins' Feet Freeze?: And 114 Other Questions (Paperback)
Wonderful for anybody that wants to know the answers to life's sometimes baffling questions (especially if you have children that want the answers to questions that sometimes you even have doubts about). This book is almost certainly for you (look really clever in front of the childern, no more ask the teacher the answer to that one). Boys will love the question on snot, and for you older one's (the answer to why hair goes grey might be of some help, no it is not too much perming or colouring, buy and book and read it to find out.

I originally bought the book for our daughter who is aged 15 but couldn't resist a look at it myself, had to read it though as it is just so gripping, once looking at one question and answer, then it snowballs. (At least if I get caught short on the conversation front, now I can think of different questions and see how people answer), or they will just look and think what the heck am I on.

A must book for summer holidays, long car journeys, you could ask one question and get everyone to give their answer to it, enjoyable fun and could put the end to are we there yet?

Bought my copy from Amazon on offer, so got a really good deal, but even at full price less than 8.00 still a good buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


66 of 68 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Superb Q & A book to satisfy even the most trivial curiosity, 9 Nov 2006
By 
W. Chung "bean_bag_rocks" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Why Don't Penguins' Feet Freeze?: And 114 Other Questions (Paperback)
This book, the follow up to 'Does Anything Eat Wasps?', of trivial, is a wonderful compilation of trivial, unimportant questions that you might wonder about but never really knew the answer to, or who to ask, or where to look.

Why Don't Penguins Feet Freeze? compiles a list of these questions, all categorised into their own section, all come with a variety of responses (scientific, factual and sometimes funny and bizarre) for you to enjoy.

You don't have to be an expert in science to appreciate and enjoy this book (such as me). Embrace it and learn something new everyday. Definitely worth checking out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 37 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Adult trivia which is intelligent and entertaining, 9 May 2007
By 
Rowena Hoseason "Hooligween" (Kernow, Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Why Don't Penguins' Feet Freeze?: And 114 Other Questions (Paperback)
There are now quite a few of these type of books around, but this volume and its partner (the one about Does Anything Eat Wasps?) are the originals. And they are very entertaining!

The information is taken from New Scientist magazine, however, so very often it is quite complex and detailed. The questions are very varied, and range across natural history, biology, chemistry, physics, astrophysics -- you name it. Sometimes the questions are very basic; sometimes they are complicated -- and sometimes the answers can be half a dozen lines or several pages long.

These trivia snippets are a bit like grown-up factoids: interesting to read and file away, and maybe useful once in a blue moon, but mainly worth reading to satisfy some curiosity.

Because the book is divided into sections, and each question forms a different topic, it is very easy to dip in and out of this book. It's much harder to read it all in great long sessions, as you would a novel.

So this is maybe a book to keep in the small room and flick through when the mood takes you!

Although it is non-fiction, Penguin's Feet isn't a reference book as such. Because the topics are so different, and the replies vary in depth and detail, this really isn't a serious science guide.

Instead it's a jolly compilation which lets you surf through some science -- and it's no problem if you skip the bits you don't understand!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good book of fun facts, 1 Nov 2006
By 
Thrud Fan (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Why Don't Penguins' Feet Freeze?: And 114 Other Questions (Paperback)
I cannot fault this book. I to was a fan of the first one (which if you read the intro to this book was actually the third book based on the last word). A great book for enquiring minds, pub bores and anybody else who wants to know if a fly can stop a train, why the sky is blue and what time it is at the North Pole.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars another hit from profile, 31 Oct 2006
By 
This review is from: Why Don't Penguins' Feet Freeze?: And 114 Other Questions (Paperback)
I picked this up cos i liked Lynne Truss's book - eats shoots and leaves. Rarely do i follow publishers, but the people behind Lynne's book put this out, so I bought it. And loved it. The balance of bizarre factoids and science behind them is spot on. There's a lot of question and answer books out at the moment but this ranks as one of the best. Interestingly, the other one i'd recommend is also by the same publishers and is called the end of the question mark. They seem to be on a roll!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 32 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars enjoyable, 6 Nov 2006
By 
S. Wallace (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Why Don't Penguins' Feet Freeze?: And 114 Other Questions (Paperback)
I enjoyed both books equally; the questions were simple enough the answers even simpler in some instances. Now I know why the penguin's feet don't stick and who or not eats wasps, couldn't get through the day without the answers. Enjoyable read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brings back the scientist in me!, 30 Nov 2006
This review is from: Why Don't Penguins' Feet Freeze?: And 114 Other Questions (Paperback)
This book has carried on the great tradition of the New Scientist's Last Word Column in answering some (115) of those questions that you just don't know the answer to.

Questions like: Why does grilled cheese go stringy; What causes the noise when you crack your knuckles? and How does a (gun) silencer work?

If you liked Does Anything East Wasps? you'll love this. This is a brilliant book for people who want to know how things work and why things happen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


111 of 128 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Penguins' Feet Are Just the Start, 6 Oct 2006
This review is from: Why Don't Penguins' Feet Freeze?: And 114 Other Questions (Paperback)
I was a big fan of the first book and this one's even better. Once you start going through the questions, you get more and more caught up in them. As well as knowing about penguins' feet, I'm now also an expert on conkers, the dangerous lives of left-handers, and how to make the perfect cup of tea!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun Facts, 27 Nov 2006
By 
Ichabod J (Farleigh Wallop, Hampshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Why Don't Penguins' Feet Freeze?: And 114 Other Questions (Paperback)
A thoroughly informative and fun read - almost everyone will find snippets fascinating. The range of replies to each question adds a further degree of interest.

I, for one, now know more than I necessarily needed to about what birds excrete onto my car and also that I'm amongst the 35% of humans that sneeze in sunlight (apparently rules me out as a fighter pilot).

Entertaining and educational.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars why don't penguins' feet freeze?: and 114 other questions, 19 Jan 2007
By 
D. HOLMES "David Holmes" (orkney) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Why Don't Penguins' Feet Freeze?: And 114 Other Questions (Paperback)
THIS IS A GREAT BOOK, 3 of us read it, and we all learned and retained different things. It was explained on the whole simply for the lay person to understand. I read the 1st 2 books and thought this one was as good if not better than the 1st 2 book. Give it as a gift, or read it yourself. EVEN the fussy and difficult will find something to enjoy, laugh and even learn about, if they admit it!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa718e4e0)

This product

Why Don't Penguins' Feet Freeze?: And 114 Other Questions
Why Don't Penguins' Feet Freeze?: And 114 Other Questions by New Scientist (Paperback - 5 Oct 2006)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews