Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unexpectedly delightful
I've no interest in architecture, and picked this book up entirely because I couldn't find anything else to read. What a delightful accident! An enchanting account of the memorial, how it came to be built, and of its architect Lutyens. I thought the comment made by a reader on one of the other admiring reviews was spot on : "I understood, sensed, more about WW1 than I had...
Published on 6 Feb 2012 by WillDavies

versus
6 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars not abot Thiepval Memorial at all
I bought this book on the strength of a newspaper review, having visited the Thiepval Memorial several times. I was really looking forward to reading THE definitive book on the Thiepval Memorial, only this isn't that book. Although this book is very well written, it seems to be about everything EXCEPT Thiepval. In fact, there is so little information about it, I think the...
Published on 5 Aug 2007 by Richard Pursehouse


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unexpectedly delightful, 6 Feb 2012
I've no interest in architecture, and picked this book up entirely because I couldn't find anything else to read. What a delightful accident! An enchanting account of the memorial, how it came to be built, and of its architect Lutyens. I thought the comment made by a reader on one of the other admiring reviews was spot on : "I understood, sensed, more about WW1 than I had from reading this little book dozens of more substantial works. It is curious how now and again you read something and make a connection. In a factual, non sentimental way Stamp says a lot more about WW1 than just the Thiepval memorial."

A slim, beautifully written and understated memorial to lost lives and a lost time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Concise and Excellent !, 1 Sep 2006
By 
This review is from: Memorial to the Missing of the Somme (Hardcover)
This is an excellent and easy-to-read book that goes into a surprising amount of detail, not only on the memorial itself, but on Lutyens, war memorials in general and the First World War, plus what has happened to the memorial after its completion and contemporary attitudes to it and to war and war memorials in general, even quoting the excellent fourth series of "Blackadder", as well as Sebastian Faulks' "Birdsong" as part of his examination of why people born long after the war are still fascinated by it and why the memorial attracts more visitors today than it did in the years immediately following the war. I'm familiar with Gavin Stamp's other books on architects and architectural history and this book is certainly up there with the best of his work.

The book is part of Profile Books' "Wonders of the World" series and before I read it I was surprised to see Thiepval included in a series that includes the Alhambra, the Colosseum and the Parthenon, but afterwards, taking Stamp's idea that it is a memorial to all those who have died in war, I can see why it was included. I'm looking forward to the volume on St Pancras Station in the same series.

I thoroughly recommend this book !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ICONIC MONUMENT ON THE SOMME, 15 July 2008
To Great War enthusiasts, military historians and battlefield tour guides, architects and family history researchers, the Memorial to the Missing of the Somme at Thiepval needs little if any introduction, as this most impressive monument which bears the names of 73,000 British Commonwealth servicemen whose bodies were never identified, not only stands out magnificently in the French countryside for miles around, but is also known by thousands worldwide.

The first time I saw this structure, I was awestruck and although I have visited it many times since, I never cease to be amazed at both the incredible loss of life and the creativity of the architect who designed this imposing structure. Thiepval is an iconic memorial to the Great War and as such, it attracts thousands of visitors each year. A large number visit it out of curiosity, however the vast majority visit it during a battlefield tour or on a side trip to see the name of a long lost ancestor who died fighting for King and country, in a war that was supposed to end all wars! One thing for certain, is that they will be impressed by its magnitude.

This splendid volume so eloquently written tells the full story behind this significant memorial and includes the reasons for its architectural importance, the way in which it commemorates the dead and of course its wider historical significance. The volume was a great success when originally published in hardback format and therefore I am sure this paperback edition will be every bit as popular and if not more popular, as at just 8.99, it represents excellent value for money and is very affordable and will without a doubt, due to the increased interest in the Great War and family history research in general, appeal to a wider range of readers of all ages.

I believe anyone whose ancestors name is featured on the memorial, will not want to be without a copy of this publication in their library!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great work analysed, 6 Jan 2012
By 
Amazon Customer (Bristol United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Memorial to the Missing of the Somme (Hardcover)
A terrific book covering the background, conception, design, construction of the Thiepval Memorial by the master architect of the 20th century, Edwin Lutyens. Stamp is an eloquent writer and this book is informative, scholarly and entirely readable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Memorial to the Missing of the Somme, 27 Oct 2012
By 
D. P. Wood (Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent introduction and history of the Thiepval Memorial to the Missing and other memorials remembering the fallen of The Great War.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent publication which relates the mindset which proceeded the design and building of Theipval memorial., 6 Sep 2009
By 
P. G. Lee "peterlee" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A moving account of the background to the building of Theipval and other memorials on the western front.
Shows clearly how the mindset had changed from.."home before Christmas" to a tragedy of horrific, nightmare proportions and how this was expressed into memorials that do not glorify victory but seems to speak for a lost generation.
That they have the same effect today speaks volumes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars World war 1 book, 29 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good book to read on the history if the Somme
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars not abot Thiepval Memorial at all, 5 Aug 2007
By 
Richard Pursehouse (Staffordshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I bought this book on the strength of a newspaper review, having visited the Thiepval Memorial several times. I was really looking forward to reading THE definitive book on the Thiepval Memorial, only this isn't that book. Although this book is very well written, it seems to be about everything EXCEPT Thiepval. In fact, there is so little information about it, I think the author should be questioned by Trading Standards.

There is probably more information about the Thiepval Memorial in the 10 page booklet sold for a Euro at Theipval than this book. A great opportunity missed. Very, very disappointing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Memorial to the Missing of the Somme
Memorial to the Missing of the Somme by Gavin Stamp (Hardcover - 6 July 2006)
Used & New from: £1.28
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews