Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This stuff really works
It helps you break out of the vicious circle we all fall into at some point. That circle has four steps: lack of confidence (1), leading to hesitation (2), then mediocre results (3), then poor feedback from yourself or from others (4), leading back to further lack of confidence (1). It really helped me to motivate my assistant, as well as myself.
Published on 11 Sep 2000

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A waste of time...
This book is really poor!
The Tao of coaching (same author) is really great and I was expecting another interesting book. However this one feels like an empty shell with long and painful explanations of very simple and arguable concepts that are nothing more than persuading yourself you are already motivated. And you will need a lot of motivation to read the entire...
Published on 15 July 2005 by ashabe


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This stuff really works, 11 Sep 2000
By A Customer
It helps you break out of the vicious circle we all fall into at some point. That circle has four steps: lack of confidence (1), leading to hesitation (2), then mediocre results (3), then poor feedback from yourself or from others (4), leading back to further lack of confidence (1). It really helped me to motivate my assistant, as well as myself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Practical but fun, 9 Sep 2000
By A Customer
Picked this up at Heathrow, and finished it as I landed in Madrid. The storyline (and cartoons) keep you interested, and the techniques do work - at least for me! The combination of fiction and instruction works very well
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A waste of time..., 15 July 2005
This review is from: The Tao of Motivation: Inspire yourself and others (Paperback)
This book is really poor!
The Tao of coaching (same author) is really great and I was expecting another interesting book. However this one feels like an empty shell with long and painful explanations of very simple and arguable concepts that are nothing more than persuading yourself you are already motivated. And you will need a lot of motivation to read the entire book!
The very few interesting ideas were already described (in a better way) in his previous book. My advise is that this book is not worth reading, and especially if you have already read his other book: the Tao of coaching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Tao of Motivation, 27 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tao of Motivation: Inspire yourself and others (Paperback)
This is a great little book, inspirational and lifting.The book looks at theorists and Psychology and is a useful read for student teachers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Most Definitely Motivated, 22 July 2004
By 
Adrian Vaughan (Ripponden, West Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Tao of Motivation: Inspire yourself and others (Paperback)
Fantastic book - it has certainly left me motivated.
Well written, concise and packed full of helpful tips and techniques that can be practiced, learned and easily implemented into your own daily life.
Whether for business or personal reasons - I recommend this book without hesitation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to read and apply, 12 Sep 2000
It's crazy that managers get no training in 'what makes people tick'. In 2 hours, this book gives you a very good basis,packaged in an excitingstory.I think it's an essential read for anyone who works with teams or customers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Basic introduction to motivation as leadership tool, 14 April 2010
By 
Caufrier Frederic (Belgium) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tao of Motivation: Inspire yourself and others (Paperback)
Personally I did find this one book on motivation to be less powerful as his other two books.

Although his other two books cover various models, this book focuses on only one model which he calls the VICTORY cycle (Vision, Impetus, Confidence, Taking the plunge, Observing outcomes, Responding to feedback, 'You'), explaining each phase step by step.

The book and model is pretty much OK. Still on motivational leadership (or self motivation) there are other works out there. It should not stop you though to read this book together with "The Tools of Leadership" and "The Tao of Coaching", especially as the 3 books together give a nice introduction on leadership, coaching and motivation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Tao of Motivation: Inspire yourself and others
The Tao of Motivation: Inspire yourself and others by Max Landsberg (Paperback - 16 Jan 2003)
7.22
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews