Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Puzzled
I was surprised and disappointed to see the poor review from a reviewer from Amsterdam. I am always looking for anything that might help my students (I teach basic skills in prisons). I thought this might be good as the BBC have mentioned it in the context of the "Hard Spell" programme. Perhaps people from Holland would find a book on Dutch spellings more helpful than...
Published on 25 Nov 2004

versus
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pleasing...
this little book is enjoyable but be warned it is little more than a collection of spelling oddities. Some attempts to help bad-spellers are made but this should not confuse readers into buying it - it really is just a collection of spelling oddities and no more.
Published on 16 Jun 2005 by salemskye.com


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pleasing..., 16 Jun 2005
This review is from: Accomodating Brocolli in the Cemetary: Or Why Can't Anybody Spell? (Hardcover)
this little book is enjoyable but be warned it is little more than a collection of spelling oddities. Some attempts to help bad-spellers are made but this should not confuse readers into buying it - it really is just a collection of spelling oddities and no more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting collection of anecdotes, 15 Jan 2005
By 
Keith Appleyard "kapple999" (Brighton, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Accomodating Brocolli in the Cemetary: Or Why Can't Anybody Spell? (Hardcover)
Professor Cook helps foreign learners of English grapple with the peculiarities of the language. What we have here is a potpourri without much structure - some interesting historical evolutions, some little quizzes, some real-life examples with photographic evidence, and some repetition. A nice little ditty, but not to be used as a teaching aid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor, 4 Feb 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Accomodating Brocolli in the Cemetary: Or Why Can't Anybody Spell? (Hardcover)
I've got to agree with the Amsterdam reviewer - this book is a random hotch-potch of vaguely spelling-related trivia with little structure, humour or educational value. It feels like it was culled from a couple of afternoons on Google. I learnt a little, but not much; this is not in the same class as "Eats, Shoots and Leaves".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


52 of 69 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No more than a scrapbook of spelling, 18 Oct 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Accomodating Brocolli in the Cemetary: Or Why Can't Anybody Spell? (Hardcover)
This book's subtitle, "why can't anybody spell?", is not answered by this book. It is no more than a scrapbook of spelling, an uncomfortable mix of such things as unusual spellings of pharmaceuticals, pop group names, shop names and greengrocer apostrophes; information we can see on a daily basis without having them listed in a book. It lacks structure, the author makes some unacceptable assumptions about how we all pronounce words, and it contains some shocking errors. I found no more than 10 pages in the total book to be of either interest or use. It seems to be a hurried attempt to take advantage of the path forged by "Eats, Shoots & Leaves". For me, it fails.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing..., 13 Oct 2013
This review is from: Accomodating Brocolli in the Cemetary: Or Why Can't Anybody Spell? (Hardcover)
This book really needed to be properly edited and proof-read: there are sections which show bad spelling without being clear where the error is or how it could be avoided; it has a number of lists without much explanation which are quite dull to read; and (unbelievably) a large number of obvious errors (eg it claims the "f" in halfpenny is silent). There are some interesting snippets, which in the right context could be useful, but it simply isn't amusing to read through disjointed lists or see a lot of mistakes in blocks of texts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Something to dip into now and again..., 20 Dec 2010
I had expected this book to be similar to Lynne Truss's 'Eats, Shoots and Leaves'. It seems to be a compendium of lists and, although there are some puzzles included, it does get a bit tedious but perhaps that is because I was trying to read it through, as you would a novel. It won't exactly help your spelling ability(the deliberately misspelled title caused great confusion for me); but it may be interesting for anyone who regularly asks the question "Why can't anybody spell?"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Puzzled, 25 Nov 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Accomodating Brocolli in the Cemetary: Or Why Can't Anybody Spell? (Hardcover)
I was surprised and disappointed to see the poor review from a reviewer from Amsterdam. I am always looking for anything that might help my students (I teach basic skills in prisons). I thought this might be good as the BBC have mentioned it in the context of the "Hard Spell" programme. Perhaps people from Holland would find a book on Dutch spellings more helpful than one on English? I'll give it a try anyway!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a splendid book!, 26 Aug 2004
This review is from: Accomodating Brocolli in the Cemetary: Or Why Can't Anybody Spell? (Hardcover)
The Eats, Shoots and Leaves of spelling has arrived. That was a wonderful book, this is a wonderful book, and I believe they are both by the same publishing house. As a producer of radio shows, I recieved an advance copy. Although it wasn't suitable for my show, it is still a wonderful book and I have recommended it to friends - Roll On Vivian.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars an interesting and subtle, yet informative book, 31 Dec 2004
This review is from: Accomodating Brocolli in the Cemetary: Or Why Can't Anybody Spell? (Hardcover)
I found this book innovative, clever and refreshing, as well as intruguing and informative. I thoroughly enjoyed it - it is a must for students, teachers, and poor spellers alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Accomodating Brocolli in the Cemetary: Or Why Can't Anybody Spell?
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews