Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Old rules for a new game
At first this book seems to be of more use in the previous two centuries, but with perserverance it really does have immense use in life today. Many of the laws do appear to go against being charitable and generous, but the authors are merely advising to be cautious about who your friends are, sound advice even today. I love the use of fables and parables, many of which...
Published on 5 Jan 2003 by Sewsirius

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Buy the full version
The 48 Laws of Power is one of my favorite books of all time. Even though I mostly ignore the laws in my life there are many undeniable truths that one should be aware of. The concise version simply doesn’t do the topic justice, buy the full version.
Published 2 months ago by OJ Saunders


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Buy the full version, 5 Feb 2014
By 
OJ Saunders "ole_v2" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Concise 48 Laws Of Power (Paperback)
The 48 Laws of Power is one of my favorite books of all time. Even though I mostly ignore the laws in my life there are many undeniable truths that one should be aware of. The concise version simply doesn’t do the topic justice, buy the full version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Okay., 22 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Concise 48 Laws Of Power (Paperback)
Bought this along with The Concise 33 Strategies of War for my boyfriend as he's in the military. He said he likes them but they don't relate to politics/war as much as you think they would and are more suited to "civvies" and everyday life scenarios.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Feel the power, 15 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Concise 48 Laws Of Power (Paperback)
You feel an immediate connection with the writer. But be careful what you use from the 48 laws in your life after having read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars informative, 10 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Concise 48 Laws Of Power (Paperback)
I liked the content only problem for me was the print was very small and played havoc on my vision, went to get glasses font size to me was like a size 4!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great..................., 4 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Concise 48 Laws Of Power (Paperback)
book, purchased this after seeing it read by one of the contestants on The Contender, a good read and advice, but try putting it into practise, no way Joey!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Some interesting observations, 7 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Concise 48 Laws Of Power (Paperback)
There are some genuinely intersting observations in this books but there is also a lot of cod psychology that doesn't stand up to too much scrutiny. Fun for what it is, but if you started employing this stuff in ordinary life you'd very quick outstay your welcome with friends and possibly end up lonely and confused. The writer does a good job of selling it in interviews but I wasn't completely convinced by the reality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's a knife... use it to benefit you and others, 3 Mar 2009
This review is from: The Concise 48 Laws Of Power (Paperback)
The concepts which were discussed in this book are all about how we can overcome certain challanges by equipping us with correct knowledge and understanding of the theory.... ie. how human tend to react for a certain situation.
The book discusses each law in a very short but clear format.

The main concern is most of the concepts discussed in this book are very un ethical. Most of the people tend to misuse these theoris over any one

I Can say "This book is like a knife which can be used to hurt someone or to use in kitchen"

If you adopt all the theories discussed in this book you will become a faceless and very individualistic human.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pick the right battle and the, 29 Jun 2007
This review is from: The Concise 48 Laws Of Power (Paperback)
This is a great read for anyone who doesn't know when to hold back. It teaches you to plan your thoughts and your actions. Fantastic for anyone who wants to win the war. Brilliant, but don't let your enemies get a hold of a copy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I was bored by the time I got to Law 10, 2 Nov 2010
By 
J. Sawyer - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Concise 48 Laws Of Power (Paperback)
This is a philosophical, theoretical book short on practical examples, though it does contain short quotes from classical works. I gave up after Law 10. Thank goodness I only bought the concise version of the book! There were few laws I agreed with, and many were contradictory.

For instance, Law 1 - `Never outshine the master.' It says: `If your ideas are more creative than your master's, ascribe them to him... it is not a weakness to disguise your strengths if in the end they lead to power... This will come in handy the day you decide to rise above your inferior status.' However, the book does not tell us HOW to to rise if everyone thinks you are a dullard lacking creativity.

Law 4 - `Always say less than necessary.' This does not work as people think you lack personality if you don't speak up. They consider you boring, not enigmatic. Among women (generalisation alert!), it is thought stand-offish not to share what you are thinking.

If you say vague or ambiguous things, people will interpret this as they wish - and this will work against you. They recall what they THOUGHT you said, not what you really said.

Law 6: `Court attention at all costs.' My problem with this is that it contradicts laws 1, 3 (`Conceal your intentions') and 4.

Law 7 - `Get others to do they work for you but always take the credit' contradicts Law 1.

I do agree with Law 10, though, on `Infection' Avoid the unhappy and unlucky. It is true: If you spend a lot of time among miserable people, you'll catch it.

I didn't get anything out of this book at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well wrote, 2 Jun 2013
This review is from: The Concise 48 Laws Of Power (Paperback)
Delivered with prime! Excellent service and the book it self is well writ, helps a lot, reccomended to everyone and good for the shelve.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xab49b744)

This product

The Concise 48 Laws Of Power
The Concise 48 Laws Of Power by Robert Greene (Paperback - 13 Jun 2002)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews