Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tutankhamen's Curse:The developing history of an Egptian King
As a reader of anything to do with ancient times,especially Egypt, I really relished this book by Joyce Tyldesley who always manages to bring her subjects to life. With this book she has proved just how much has been,(and will continue),to be discovered from the grave and tomb artifacts. Armed with her knowwledge of King Tuankhamen through the eyes of an ancient world I...
Published on 3 Mar 2012 by Annie

versus
4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Yet another book about Tutankhamun
The real curse of Tutankhamun is that people keep writing books about him.

This book has the trademark stamp of Joyce Tyldesley - scholarly yet readable. Unfortunately, in her efforts not to jump to conclusions fron what she regards as inconclusive evidence ( a practice that bedevills egyptology ) she finds it difficult to come to a conclusion about anything...
Published 15 months ago by David Mawson


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tutankhamen's Curse:The developing history of an Egptian King, 3 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As a reader of anything to do with ancient times,especially Egypt, I really relished this book by Joyce Tyldesley who always manages to bring her subjects to life. With this book she has proved just how much has been,(and will continue),to be discovered from the grave and tomb artifacts. Armed with her knowwledge of King Tuankhamen through the eyes of an ancient world I found myself lost in a book which showed me the 'how' and why's' of his life and what went on in his short reign. It was an informative read and a book which I will undoubtedly bring off the shelf to read again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Egyptology reading, 2 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great book. Puts a whole new slant on the phrase 'Tutankhamen's Curse'. The information contained within the pages is interesting and informative. Would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brand new view of an old subject, 29 Aug 2012
By 
Jane Akshar "mad Egyptologist" (Luxor, Egypt) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
She has done it again, a fantastic new approach, readable, informative and not afraid of coming down on the side of controversy. I didn't believe it was possible to to read something new on this subject but Dr Tyldesley has done so. Including the most recent research and the impact of the boy king on Egyptology itself. Totally recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing !, 17 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tutankhamen's Curse: The developing history of an Egyptian king (Paperback)
If you are into Egyptian history and wish to learn more and more about this amazing part of the history then this book is a must. It is a great reference to won and refer back to it when needed. Tutankhamen was a great king and his life was amazing ! Enjoy reading this book more than once.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Yet another book about Tutankhamun, 7 Jan 2013
By 
David Mawson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The real curse of Tutankhamun is that people keep writing books about him.

This book has the trademark stamp of Joyce Tyldesley - scholarly yet readable. Unfortunately, in her efforts not to jump to conclusions fron what she regards as inconclusive evidence ( a practice that bedevills egyptology ) she finds it difficult to come to a conclusion about anything. For exmple, she is surprisingly dismissive about the recent DNA testing overseen by Dr Zahi Hawass which demonstrated, anongst other things, that Tutankhamun most likely died from a virulent form of malaria. Not so, says thia author. By adulthood he would have developed an immunity to it. Presumably then, other mummies will show a similar chemical signature for the disease. Neither can we assume that he had a club foot (his left). This deformity could have been caused by tight wrapping says Joyce Tyldesley. Again, you would expect other mummies to show a similar defect if this were the case. Nor can we infer, from the the presence of walking sticks in his tomb, that he walked with a limp. Not necessarily, says Joyce Tyldesley, they were also a symbol of authority. OK, but why 130 of them? And so it goes on, to the point where I finished the book knowing less than I started with.

Her caution momentarily deserts her when she describes Horemheb, an eminently more interesting pharaoh than Tutankhamun, as a shadowy figure who can't even have been a very good general as his successors spent so much time reestablishing Egypt's northern borders. How's that for jumping to conclusions!

This is a useful book if you are a beginner to the subject, but if you are not my guess is that you will be disappointed and even frustrated by it. There's nothing new here. It's a review of the evidence, non of which seems to satisfy the author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa61361a4)

This product

Tutankhamen's Curse: The developing history of an Egyptian king
Tutankhamen's Curse: The developing history of an Egyptian king by Joyce Tyldesley (Paperback - 25 July 2013)
8.01
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews