Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Forget the Hollywood nonsense., 27 Oct 2001
By 
Pyrasphinx (Huddersfield, W.Yorkshire England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Captain Bligh and Mr.Christian: The Men and the Mutiny (Paperback)
After decades of watching and believing the Hollywood version of events here is a chance to find out the real story. And what a story it is. The upshot of it all is that Capt. Bligh wasn't really so bad after all. The Mutiny can be attributed to one single mistake on Bligh's part rather than continuous foul behaviour throughout the voyage. The nitty gritty of everyday life at sea in the 18th century is always interesting and sometimes enthralling as described by Hough. The book includes details of previous voyages made by Bligh and Christian, the outward voyage, the time on Tahiti, Bligh's epic voyage home, the mutineers on Pitcairn and of course the mutiny itself. Our views of Bligh and Christian are turned on their heads as shown in the movie 'The Bounty' which i believe was loosely based on this book. All in all a thoroughly enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Ripping Yarn!, 16 Jun 2009
By 
P. Spencer (Widnes, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Captain Bligh and Mr.Christian: The Men and the Mutiny (Paperback)
I can't claim to know much about this period, subject or have a great deal of sea-faring knowledge; but you don't need to to enjoy this book. It is quite simply an amazing true story, well told.

One minor gripe would be that I would have liked some more and better illustrations, but the text is great.

Thoroughly enjoyable. A real page-turner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Captain Bligh and Mr Christian: The men and the mutiny, 4 Sep 2009
By 
This review is from: Captain Bligh and Mr.Christian: The Men and the Mutiny (Paperback)
A really enjoyable read. The book breaks down the myth and legend of the mutiny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating, well-written and totally absorbing, 13 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Captain Bligh and Mr.Christian: The Men and the Mutiny (Paperback)
Fascinating and totally absorbing book that reaches into the psyches of both protagonists. Richard Hough weaves the story so well. Brilliant book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 9 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Captain Bligh and Mr.Christian: The Men and the Mutiny (Paperback)
An amazingly detailed record of the events surrounding the most famous British marine mutiny by the master of 18th C marine history. Richard Hough's attention to detail and objective, reflective vision leads the reader through the build-up, the climax and the aftermath of the Bounty's adventure.

Mr Hough later gave us the defiintive biography of Captain Cook.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Captain Bligh Aye Aye Sir., 12 Aug 2014
By 
Vivek K. Sarawgi (USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Captain Bligh and Mr.Christian: The Men and the Mutiny (Paperback)
A true story and a boy's own story. It is debated even today by few of us old sea dogs. A must read for anyone who is interested in maritime history. Parts of it are relevant today as it was 150 years ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rigging Great, 20 Jan 2009
By 
Mr. Edward J. Forsyth (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Captain Bligh and Mr.Christian: The Men and the Mutiny (Paperback)
I love Captain Cook and I loved Richard Hough's biog of him, so this book (which was written well before his Cook Book (heh)) leapt out at me like a Hawaiian native with a spear.

A great book if you are into this period and the people involved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 23 July 2014
By 
Mr. P. J. D. Redcar (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Captain Bligh and Mr.Christian: The Men and the Mutiny (Paperback)
excellent history
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Captain Bligh and Mr.Christian: The Men and the Mutiny
Captain Bligh and Mr.Christian: The Men and the Mutiny by Richard Hough (Paperback - 31 May 2000)
Used & New from: 3.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews