Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


51 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My 100-word book review
The Therapeutic Relationship is a very insightful, useful and stimulating book, well worth reading by anyone who is starting a career in counselling or any of the helping professions. Petruska Clarkson looks at five aspects of the therapeutic relationship (the working alliance, plus the transferential, reparative/developmentally needed, person-to-person and transpersonal...
Published on 14 Mar 2006 by A. J. Cull

versus
8 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very hard going
This was the text book for the 2nd year of my counselling diploma course. It is very wordy. Although it is full of information, this is really dificult to extract. It is almost impenetratable and seems to be written for other acedemics rather than to impart information to students. Some of the students on my course found it impossible to read without a dictionary by...
Published on 17 Feb 2009 by Miranda Fontaine


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

51 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My 100-word book review, 14 Mar 2006
By 
A. J. Cull (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Therapeutic Relationship (Paperback)
The Therapeutic Relationship is a very insightful, useful and stimulating book, well worth reading by anyone who is starting a career in counselling or any of the helping professions. Petruska Clarkson looks at five aspects of the therapeutic relationship (the working alliance, plus the transferential, reparative/developmentally needed, person-to-person and transpersonal relationships.) Theory-wise, she has a psychodynamic background but her book contains examples of other approaches too, including transpersonal psychology, so is particularly suited to someone on an integrative counselling course, such as myself. It is not a light read, and demands quite a bit of concentration, but is highly rewarding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book of strong academic reputation..., 27 Oct 2010
This review is from: The Therapeutic Relationship (Paperback)
...is it deserved? Yes, is the resounding answer. It was the prescribed textbook for my two year diploma course in integrative counselling, and the model of integration proposed in it is theoretically concise yet wide in scope. This is definitely an academic book, therefore a dictionary by the side may well be needed. Why should that be a complete detraction? Why is it that everything we tackle has to be easy? This profession has its jargon, which has to be learned somewhere. There are plenty of other books that are less dense conceptually, more reader-friendly, we could say. Yet it is to this book that I return time after time to clarify ideas to myself, to be inspired, to be stretched professionally and on the human level.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I THINK, 3 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Therapeutic Relationship (Paperback)
READ IT THEN READ IT AGAIN YOU COME BACK TO THIS BOOK FROM THE DAY YOU GET IT TO THE DAY YOU ARE UNABLE TO READ - A MUST TO ANY THINKING LIBRARY
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Petruska..., 3 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Therapeutic Relationship (Paperback)
Petruska Clarkson was a complex woman and her writing reflects this. This book is quite difficult to read. However, if you peservere you do start to get her. I had to read this book more than once to get it and I enjoyed it much more the second time round.

Arrived on time and in good condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars essential TA, 14 Oct 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Therapeutic Relationship (Paperback)
she has a clear way of explaining. Essential for anyone who is practicing TA, and recommended to those who want to expand their TA knowlege,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Book, 5 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Therapeutic Relationship (Paperback)
Bought as a gift. Well received. I think this book is useful to counselors and therapists alike. A good buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fabulous, 20 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Therapeutic Relationship (Paperback)
This is essential for all Psychotherapists.
A brilliant book and well structure throughout.
Thank you for being so inspiring and informative
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 7 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Therapeutic Relationship (Paperback)
This is a good book, although it may feel hard to get into at first. It gives a great insight in the therapeutic relationship and its variable aspects. It explains in clear terms what can emerge between therapists and clients and it is a book that I shall reuse often.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Counselling book, 29 Oct 2011
This review is from: The Therapeutic Relationship (Paperback)
This book has been essential for a counselling degree. It covers all the theirs, with an excellent summary as well as in-depth discussions. Invaluable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Therapeutic Relationship, 18 May 2009
By 
This review is from: The Therapeutic Relationship (Paperback)
Looked good as new. Have just begun to dip into it and find it fascinating. It is not always easy to read and very intense but well worth the effot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Therapeutic Relationship
The Therapeutic Relationship by Stefanie Wilson (Paperback - 21 Oct 2003)
32.64
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews