Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book.
This book is the best make up book I have read. Clear descriptions with lots of pictures and easy to read text make this a very accessible book. Every page is full of great illustrations and pictures with some truly stunning examples. I would find it hard to think of any area of the industry not covered within the book. Every area of make up is covered step by step. The...
Published on 31 Jan 2003

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Basic and out of date
This book would have been a great handbook about 40 years ago but its references to products and technology are terribly out of date. They talk about foam latex, pan stick and body painting. Lacks tips and tricks, kit essentials, how to read call sheets and has nothing about modern products used today. Its very basic and dated.

I work in the Film and Television...
Published on 24 July 2012 by customersurrey


Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book., 31 Jan 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Complete Make Up Artist: Working in Film, Fashion, Television and Theatre (Paperback)
This book is the best make up book I have read. Clear descriptions with lots of pictures and easy to read text make this a very accessible book. Every page is full of great illustrations and pictures with some truly stunning examples. I would find it hard to think of any area of the industry not covered within the book. Every area of make up is covered step by step. The case profiles are particular good, with "real" makeup artists at different points in their careers talking about the challenges and successes they have achieved. In summmary, a very clear, comprehensive and down to earth guide to make up and the make up industry that is truly "a complete guide".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a must for all makeup students!!!!, 12 Nov 2006
By 
csg makeup & beauty (south-west london, uk) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Complete Make Up Artist: Working in Film, Fashion, Television and Theatre (Paperback)
this book was one of the many recommended to me whilst completing my makeup artist diploma

i think its a great book for students

it covers everything regarding fashion, photographic, theatrical and media makeup

it even discusses pros and cons of being a makeup artist, absolutely fab!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An inspiring guide, 12 Nov 2004
This review is from: The Complete Make Up Artist: Working in Film, Fashion, Television and Theatre (Paperback)
An inspiring guide for anyone considering or studying towards a career as a Make Up Artist. Well illustrated, very readable text, featuring the pros and cons of the industry and career progression of Make Up artists already in the profession. A good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Basic and out of date, 24 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Make Up Artist: Working in Film, Fashion, Television and Theatre (Paperback)
This book would have been a great handbook about 40 years ago but its references to products and technology are terribly out of date. They talk about foam latex, pan stick and body painting. Lacks tips and tricks, kit essentials, how to read call sheets and has nothing about modern products used today. Its very basic and dated.

I work in the Film and Television industry and when giving advice to aspiring make-up artists I always tell them to go for 'The Makeup Artist Handbook' by Gretchen Davis and Mindy Hall. Its very current, has up-to-date products used in the industry including makeup for HD, template call sheets, what to have in your various kits- including the things every makeup artist is expected to have, on set etiquette, examples of script breakdowns, other departments job titles and even making and applying silicone and other prosthetics.

Hope this helps.

The Makeup Artist Handbook: Techniques for Film, Television, Photography, and Theatre
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The perfect book for the beginner make up artist, 15 Mar 2010
This review is from: The Complete Make Up Artist: Working in Film, Fashion, Television and Theatre (Paperback)
Hi! I am writting from Peru (sorry about my English).
I was looking for a book with detailed information about the basic concepts of make up and this book is that and more! I found a source of interesting and complementary information about make up. I highly recommend it for people that are looking for a book with detailed descriptions about different fields of make up where you can work, recommendations, tips....I am very happy with the book and all the process of my purchase!

Estoy muy contenta con mi compra, estaba buscando un libro con los conceptos básicos del maquillaje y este libro es eso y más! ha superado mis expectativas, la forma como describe conceptos y formas de trabajo es muy sencilla y se convierte en una herramienta de apoyo para todos los que empiezan en el maquillaje o quieren encontrar más información sobre los fundamentos de este arte. Lo recomiendo!! Estoy muy feliz con el libro y con todo el proceso de compra!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars lifesaver, 24 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Make Up Artist: Working in Film, Fashion, Television and Theatre (Paperback)
i had it years ago and lost it, best book to teach and recap thank god i found another one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars make up for beginners, 3 Aug 2007
By 
James L. Clark "angel_dreams" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Complete Make Up Artist: Working in Film, Fashion, Television and Theatre (Paperback)
this book is a good starting point of your looking for basic information. Not much for the expereinced artist. The stories and advice from established artists are a good edition. Overall an good book for a beginner or someone just out of college.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 Sep 2014
By 
Ms. K. Lowe "Yorkshire UK" (England, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Complete Make Up Artist: Working in Film, Fashion, Television and Theatre (Paperback)
Excellent for any make up artist, novice or experienced!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 18 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Make Up Artist: Working in Film, Fashion, Television and Theatre (Paperback)
Highlr reccomended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as I was expecting - needs revising., 3 Sep 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Make Up Artist: Working in Film, Fashion, Television and Theatre (Paperback)
I bought this to help me with my MUA course, but I wish I hadn't bothered. It's comprehensive, but more aimed at TV and film work, not fashion as the title suggests it may be. Good if you're a beginner at prosthetics perhaps, but if you're studying for fashion, weddings etc. I wouldn't waste your money, there are much better books available.

The looks and overall layout of the book seem to be stuck in the 80s, and not at all suitable for modern techniques.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Complete Make Up Artist: Working in Film, Fashion, Television and Theatre
£35.14
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews