Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a Great Book to add to your collection
Beautiful illustrated cover and fairly well illustrated throughout. It is good to see particularly of posters and photos I had not seen before.

I find in a lot of military books we end up seeing the same old photos as the picture researchers have not been as proactive as they should.

Like the other reviewer I wasn't sure why the books strayed off to...
Published on 14 Mar 2008 by Peter Wade

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice Looking but Disappointing
Perhaps I was expecting more than this book could deliver, but I was hoping for a book with good colour photographs of a comprehensive selection of British Army cap badges of the 20th Century. Instead, what this book presents, are a number of nice photographs, but these photos are by no means comprehensive, and there is very little actual information about the badges...
Published on 2 Dec 2008 by P. Geyer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a Great Book to add to your collection, 14 Mar 2008
By 
Peter Wade (Colchester England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: British Army Cap Badges of the Twentieth Century (Crowood Collectors' Series) (Hardcover)
Beautiful illustrated cover and fairly well illustrated throughout. It is good to see particularly of posters and photos I had not seen before.

I find in a lot of military books we end up seeing the same old photos as the picture researchers have not been as proactive as they should.

Like the other reviewer I wasn't sure why the books strayed off to collar badges and cloth insignia. It might not have been his fault but they publisher might have insisted on the cap badge title of the book. It should be called British army military badge collecting.

A fascinating read and a treat for the military badge enthusiast. When I started in the 1960s there did not seem to be any books about badge collecting. I wish I had this one when I started. I could have picked up all the best specimens for very little. Now like all hobbies it is much more expensive and almost impossible to tell the genuine from the reproductions or fakes.

If you look on E bay there are hundreds of badges for sale of organisations like the Long Range Desert Group or Popski's Private Army for 4.99. How can they possibly be genuine? How many people were in these organisations? Even the current Royal Regiment of Scotland cap badge is being sold for 30 on e bay,

On page 38 the author claims because of the War on terror that brand new badges are sought after because of the new strict regulations preventing official emblems of British security forces falling into the wrong hands there is a limited supply. I have difficulty believing that. They seem to be freely available on e bay.

A great book to add to your collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice Looking but Disappointing, 2 Dec 2008
By 
P. Geyer "prgeyer" (Vienna, VA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: British Army Cap Badges of the Twentieth Century (Crowood Collectors' Series) (Hardcover)
Perhaps I was expecting more than this book could deliver, but I was hoping for a book with good colour photographs of a comprehensive selection of British Army cap badges of the 20th Century. Instead, what this book presents, are a number of nice photographs, but these photos are by no means comprehensive, and there is very little actual information about the badges themselves.

To be fair, I suppose that this book is a part of the "Crowood Collectors' Series", but I do think the title is misleading. Rather than being about the badges, the text this book is entirely focused toward the hobby of collecting badges. And more than simply adding some context to the story, as much (if not more) time seems to be dedicated to describing the development of other British insignia as to describing the badges themselves.

While visually appealing - like most Crowood titles - this book ultimately disappoints.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars British Army Cap Badges of the Twentieth Century, 5 Jan 2011
This review is from: British Army Cap Badges of the Twentieth Century (Crowood Collectors' Series) (Hardcover)
British Army Cap Badges of the Twentieth Century (Crowood Collectors' Series) It is said never judge a book by its cover, and that is my advice for this book. Although a high quality publication it fails to deliver the 'goods' as promised by the title. The book fails deliver a concise reference work on the 1000's of British Army cap badges that were produced during the 20th century, instead it wanders from topic to topic offering opinion on badge collecting from the perspective of one dealer who is mentioned not only in text but in several photographs. Chapters cover:- 1 Military Badges: A brief history; 2 Badge Collecting:Where to start; 3 Badge Collecting: The Evolution of the British Army Cap Badge in the Twentieth Century; 4 Putting It All Together: Shoulder Titles, Collar Badges and Cloth Insignia; 5 The Genuine Article: Original or Repro; 6 Caring For Your Collection: Conservation and Display & 7 Buying and Selling: Online, Military Fairs & Auctions. If you consider the books title and compare with the chapters you will see the overall makeup of this book has little to do with the title and more to do with providing background information and advice for the 'amateur/novice' collector. Where 'collar badges' and 'cloth insignia' fit into a book that is supposed to deal with 20th century British Army cap badges is beyond me. I would describe this book as a 'coffee table' book for the novice or vaguely interested party, and although there is some valuable information about some cap badges the cost of the book is not justified and its title somewhat misleading!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Overall disapointing book., 2 Dec 2010
This review is from: British Army Cap Badges of the Twentieth Century (Crowood Collectors' Series) (Hardcover)
I thought I had bought a book about British army cap badges 1900-2000. Instead I found a book about how to collect badges and store them, a bit late after fifty years colecting! Very disapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A Somewhat Misleading Title, 9 Jan 2008
By 
N. O. Miller (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: British Army Cap Badges of the Twentieth Century (Crowood Collectors' Series) (Hardcover)
I expected to find a book literally all about BRITISH cap badges. The first indication to the contrary was on the dust jacket; there you see the badge of the Irish Fusiliers of Canada! Within the pages there are Commonwealth and foreign badges. There are numerous cloth formation signs,rank,skill and shoulder title examples - these are NOT cap badges. As a non-expert, I found several errors e.g. a badge photo purporting to be of the Palestine Police-whatever it may be, it is certainly not. There is reference to the WW1 Intelligence Corps as the 20th Bn Royal Fusiliers - it went under the title of 10th(S) Bn. A photo of a WO11's crown is titled that of a WO1(RSM). The expert may find more errors. What has to be said is that this is a superbly-produced book with excellent coloured photographs and contains much good advice for the newcomer to badge-collecting. It's just a pity that the author hasn't confined his content to match his title. However, I'm happy to add this book to my extensive collection of badge books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars army badges, 14 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: British Army Cap Badges of the Twentieth Century (Crowood Collectors' Series) (Hardcover)
verey good book with lots of interesting detail and information about badges and the units they come from.very informative little book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not a good buy, 7 Jan 2010
This review is from: British Army Cap Badges of the Twentieth Century (Crowood Collectors' Series) (Hardcover)
I eagerly grasped this volume, but on flicking through the pages I was gripped by a sense of impending dissapointment yet again, as unfortunately mr Ward,
whilst being a collector, admits that he has no real military service experience to back up the contents in his book,which with all due respect is something one needs prior to embarking on a work of this complex nature, OR one must have advisors who have seen armed service. Some of the descriptions contained are wildly innacurate,unresearched and mislead the reader.(for instance the top two badges on the from cover are not worn on caps, but on the full dress headdress)
As both a serviceman and someone who has regular access to this sort of material and worked in this field for over thirty years, I for one would not pay any attention to what mr Ward writes, I have lots more experience than he.
If you are serious about collecting British Military Historical items and want good authoratitive books on the subject, buy anything by Ray Westlake, or either John Gaylor's book; anything by Bill Carman, or Military Badges of the British Empire by Reg Cox;
Expensive books, I grant you but when you open the pages, see the pictures and read the words contained therein, you will know why. Books from these people are usually not written for money, but for love, and are the product of meticulous research and checks, which is why 99% of them sell, other publishers have recently brought out books on uniforms and badges in recent years with so many holes in them that they sank without a trace; I fear mr Ward's work will be among them, I am truly sorry that this book apears to lack focus or direction, and a fine opportunity to provide good reference material has been squandered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Misleading Title, 19 Feb 2010
By 
Emiliano Broggi (Italy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: British Army Cap Badges of the Twentieth Century (Crowood Collectors' Series) (Hardcover)
The book in itself is not bad at all, lots of pictures and insight on the evolution of the cap badges, its symbolism and some basic hints on storage and display. The "Bad" part is that it's not a a book on "British Army Cap Badges of the Twentieth Century", it's a book about collecting them (and I suspect that most if not all the badges shown come from a single source)...

So, not a bad book, neither a good one, all topped with a misleading title...

E*
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

British Army Cap Badges of the Twentieth Century (Crowood Collectors' Series)
17.96
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews