Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Shop now Learn more Shop now

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars12
5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
12
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£14.94+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 May 2013
One of the things I like the most about Jema Hewitt's books as Emilly Ladybird is that the projects are challenging without being too difficult for people still mastering the various techniques of jewelry making, and each piece is imaginative and wonderful to look at. When reading this book and looking at the pictures I want to go to the nearest craft shop and buy supplies x, y and z to make something. The book is also a great source of inspiration for making your own jewellery so it's worth having on your shelf for those days when ideas aren't quite flowing.
The step by step images are clear and interspersed throughout these are extra pictures of detail on the finished piece. The text is also clear and there are many notes and tips throughout the book.
The backstories for each piece are enjoyable and amusing to read.
Overall, I highly reccommend this book.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2013
Having received Miss Hewitt's first book "Steampunk Emporium", for Christmas last year, I knew as soon as I heard of another book from this inspirational author that I would have to have it. And I was not disappointed when it arrived.

Each item in the book comes with a delightful story full of fantasy and fun which is as inspiring as this pieces to create. Every story makes you feel like creating one of these items just to go on similar adventures. Whether it be stumbling across fairy wings in Cotting Wood or conversing with a Satyr.
All the images in the book have been beautifully shot and put together. In one way this book is a craft how-to book, in other ways it's an adventure story in which to loose yourself in the wonders and magic of worlds that feel hidden within our own.

And so to the actual crafting in the book. Each item has such well written instructions and tips you would have to be trying very hard to make a mistake. It is very difficult to look through Steampunk Apothecary without wanting to make everything in it. All you need to make each item is listed clearly, even down to the colours to use. And there is a very handy page, towards the back, telling you where to find some of the materials or tools needed. Although I have had no in problem sourcing all I've needed to create any item in this book.
I would recommend this book to anyone interested in crafting for fun or steampunk and fantasy fans. You would not be disappointed
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2013
This is a very good inspirational book that gives you the "get up and go" to go and have a go at making jewellery yourself.

The storylines included at the beginning of each project are also fantastic to read on there own. Love the idea that the author is on a mystical journey and that she has lots of adventures. Fingers crossed for a book in the future that captures more of the world of Emilly Ladybird and Mr Woppit's various adventures!

The projects are Easy to follow and very well explained the book also gives good, new ideas for work.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2013
This is an incredibly useful book for helping people to create all manner of different steampunk accessories to enhance your outfits.
Very clear and easy to follow step by step instructions from what materials and tools you will need to the method required to create them.
The resources page at the back of the book is great for finding those few items that I couldn't pick up from my local crafts store.
The little stories throughout the book were lovely and imaginative to read and helped to enhance a book that was already a joy to read.
Really good value for money on amazon, although I bought mine direct from Miss Emilly Ladybird herself which she very kindly signed for me.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2014
Like its forerunner "Steampunk Emporium", "Steampunk Apothecary" is beautifully photographed and presented and makes a great coffee table book. I enjoy Miss Ladybird's adventures and the pictures of her trophies, even if I never manage to make them - (and these do require some equipment non-pros don't usually have).
There are a great variety of projects to choose from. Among my favourites were the lollipop cravat pins, the porthole bracelet and the cravat - (lucky man who gets this!) But everything can be adapted or varied to produce something unique.
The instructions are good and clear, well set out, with helpful "extras", e.g. "Pages from the notebook" and "Mr Dickens advises" and also a glossary, resources list and notes on basic techniques.
Well done, Jema!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2013
This book was not disappointing! The book draws you into the fantasy world of steampunk design and you are hooked, line and sinker ! It gives you clear details of how to make the magical jewellery and where to get the materials needed. I can't wait to get started.lesley Shafer
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2015
A second book from Jema 'Emilly Ladybird' Hewitt with another 20 projects for the experienced maker and novice alike. The images are beautiful and the instructions clear while Jema's style is engaging and amusing. The sections on basic techniques and resources are useful and there are even a couple of pages encourging you to use the techniques you've learned to unleash your creativity and experiment. I shall definitely be make more tiny top hats!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2014
This was great fun, and I might get the earlier Steampunk Emporium too. Spent a weekend making a Steampunk Rossetti (DGR) necklace and two absinthe themed charm necklaces.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2014
Bought for a friends birthday....she loved it! Had a quick flick and i thought it looked interesting also, i am going to get the first one so we will have both
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2015
Lovely imaginative projects with clear instructions and beautiful photographs: I'm looking forward to trying some of the makes soon.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)