Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


64 of 65 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book should be on every stickmaker's bookshelf!
The traditional craft of stickmaking as practised in the UK is not an easy subject to cover. Every stickmaker develops his/her own variations on the technique and the success of each part of the process depends largely on the very specific finer points of selection and use of the necessary tools. These aspects cannot really be conveyed in written instructions; you need...
Published on 5 Nov 2003 by Bob Goddard

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Book Review
Well written and clear advice very useful as a basic explanation.

I have attended a stick making course so found the book useful to refer back to.
Published on 4 Jun 2012 by Norfolk Traveller


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

64 of 65 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book should be on every stickmaker's bookshelf!, 5 Nov 2003
This review is from: Stickmaking Handbook (Paperback)
The traditional craft of stickmaking as practised in the UK is not an easy subject to cover. Every stickmaker develops his/her own variations on the technique and the success of each part of the process depends largely on the very specific finer points of selection and use of the necessary tools. These aspects cannot really be conveyed in written instructions; you need hands-on instruction and practice to achieve the best results with any degree of consistency.
However, Jones & George have produced what is undoubtedly the best available how-to-do-it work on the subject. The authors wisely keep to the mainstream of current UK stickmaking practice and cover the subject in very clear and well-illustrated articles, broadly progressing from a simple one-piece knobstick to working with buffalo and ram horn, and carving in wood.
Every step is accompanied by superb photographs and illustrations, showing exactly what the reader needs to see. And at the end there is a small gallery of photos of some of the most gorgeous sticks you could hope to see. This shows just what can be achieved with the techniques being discussed.
Where purpose-made tools and jigs are required, as when working with horn, full details of their construction are included. We may not all have the facilities to make these ourselves, but there is enough detail here to enable the would-be stickmaker to hand the book to Someone Who Can, and say "Make me one of those". Failing this, there is a very helpful list of specialist suppliers in the back of the book - though there is no guarantee these will all still be current.
The Stickmaking Handbook is without doubt the definitive current work on the subject. It's essential reading for every would-be stickmaker - and I can think of a few old hands who could learn something from it, too!
Once the techniques described here have been assimilated, the reader may wish to read Theo Fossel's "Walking & Working Sticks", which gives a rather different take on the subject, particularly on working with horn. There are many interesting ideas here which can be incorporated into one's arsenal. However, it's not in the same class as the Stickmaking Handbook and I can't recommend it as a starting point for anyone new to stickmaking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars beginners dream, 31 Jan 2010
By 
G. D. Bottomley (lincolnshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stickmaking Handbook: Revised Edition (Paperback)
Having made a very basic stick for a good friend of mine ( bit of a joke for his 60th) but every body thought it was really good. being retired and wanting something to do- Ifound this book and what a book - Iam now on my third proper stick. This book really gave me the inspiration and the know-how about what can be done with an old bit of straight wood,rams horn and antler.I would recommend this book to anyone starting a very rewarding hoby.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Stickmaker's Guide, 6 July 2010
By 
John D. Moir (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stickmaking Handbook: Revised Edition (Paperback)
I have recently taken up this hobby and came across a copy in the local Library. I found it so helpful I obtained a copy subject of this review.

If you intend to take up stick making this is an excellent introduction into a number of methods and vital information regarding seasoning etc.

I have followed the clear advice and methods and to date have found the information in the book to be most helpful and has helped me produce some sticks of which I feel are of an acceptable standard and brought a sense of personal satisfaction.

It definately helps if you are a lover of different woods and while the book concentrates on a number, many more are available in the UK that can be used for stickmaking.

I am happy to recommend the book to anyone starting out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Walking sticks, 11 Oct 2010
This review is from: Stickmaking Handbook: Revised Edition (Paperback)
Having wasted an hour or so looking for a book on walking sticks in the major booksellers, where there were none, I resorted to Amazon and found several in ten seconds flat. Lesson learned. This is an excellent book,inexpensive, well illustrated, informative and perfect for the enthusiastic beginner. Having now bought the necessary tools; listed and described in the book, I have made a start with the easier suggestions. I need to stumble over some discarded deer horns for the next step. I can't wait.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stick making, 16 Aug 2010
This review is from: Stickmaking Handbook: Revised Edition (Paperback)
Fantastic step by step guide. I'm a complete novice but this book with it's clear instructions and pictures makes me feel more like i might have a chance at actually making a stick a could show off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stick with this book!, 2 Feb 2011
By 
Alan Walton "RedRooster" (Lancs. UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stickmaking Handbook: Revised Edition (Paperback)
Great book for the beginner (like me). Easy to follow instructions for all aspects of the art of stick making. Lots of pictures and tips to help you create the perfect stick with a choice of handles. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stickmaking Handbook, 6 Sep 2011
This review is from: Stickmaking Handbook (Paperback)
I am just starting and wanted a basic book on the subject, This book is very informative from a complete beginner to quite advanced projects and written in a way very easy to follow. I am very satisfied with this purchase and would highly recommend it .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars stickmaking, 29 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stickmaking Handbook: Revised Edition (Paperback)
I got this book as I wanted to try making different types of sticks but had no idea how to go about it. This book has been extremely helpful and I am very pleased with it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars stick making, 14 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stickmaking Handbook: Revised Edition (Paperback)
good plain clear advice on how to make walking sticks and the best wood and materials to use to make good sticks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars stick making, 15 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stickmaking Handbook: Revised Edition (Paperback)
ideal as starter book
the main thing is that it simplifies the process, so that you can practise and experiment
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Stickmaking Handbook: Revised Edition
Stickmaking Handbook: Revised Edition by Clive George (Paperback - 7 May 2009)
£10.68
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews