Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


44 of 46 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Concise and inspirational
I found this a really valuable book. Some of the content in the opening chapter on digital camera technology will inevitably 'age' quite quickly, but the book would have been lacking without an introduction to appropriate camera and lens hardware.

Throughout, Hoddinott repeatedly emphasises how fundamental techniques such as depth of field, composition and...
Published on 2 Dec 2007 by N. K. Jennings

versus
23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
Having read the other reviews, I bought this book thinking that it might add to my knowledge about macro photography. I have looked in vain for anything new, and for most of the book I searched for any macro information at all, since much of this text is very general advice for the beginner (exposure, depth of field, etc) but not as it relates to macro. A big...
Published on 17 Jun 2009 by D. Palmer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

44 of 46 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Concise and inspirational, 2 Dec 2007
By 
N. K. Jennings (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I found this a really valuable book. Some of the content in the opening chapter on digital camera technology will inevitably 'age' quite quickly, but the book would have been lacking without an introduction to appropriate camera and lens hardware.

Throughout, Hoddinott repeatedly emphasises how fundamental techniques such as depth of field, composition and lighting can be managed for creative effect, and he illustrates these with an abundance of inspirational examples.

The middle section of the book is devoted to techniques for the macro photography of different subjects including still-life, natural-history, and quite a long piece on textures and patterns. Although personally I could have happily absorbed more material on wildlife photography, there must come a point where the book would become a nature field guide.

The book concludes with useful sections on the key editing processes in Photoshop, printing, and cataloguing and storage. All of these are necessarily brief. A glossary is provided although it is probably slightly superfluous. A list of Useful Websites will also date fairly quickly, and finally there is a comprehensive index.

Hoddinott covers all the topics in the book efficiently and concisely. It is hard to see that he could say very much more about macro photography without turning a very specific guide into an all-encompassing tome on digital photography.

My only criticism is that Hoddinott has an irritating habit (well, I find it irritating) of referring to photographers as "snappers" - not only in this book but in other printed work as well. It may amuse someone with a string of awards to his name, but for those of us who still aspire to having our work recognised it feels like a very pejorative expression!

That said, this is a book I will be picking up and referring to for a long time to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


74 of 78 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vibrant, creative and inspiring, 21 Jun 2006
By 
J. Curtis (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Usually I find photography books leaving me rather deflated about my own ability... However not this book. Ross's first book is a real hit. It has many excellent ideas, points of encouragement and is inspirational. The layout is clear, precise and rich in content with text that is informative and not self indulging. Simply put - get this book as it will improve your photography technique, inspire you to go out (even in the cold months!) and looks great on the coffee table too! JC
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 17 Jun 2009
By 
D. Palmer "pabs" (glasgow) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Digital Macro Photography (Paperback)
Having read the other reviews, I bought this book thinking that it might add to my knowledge about macro photography. I have looked in vain for anything new, and for most of the book I searched for any macro information at all, since much of this text is very general advice for the beginner (exposure, depth of field, etc) but not as it relates to macro. A big disappointment, and for me, a waste of money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Close but not Macro, 16 May 2010
This review is from: Digital Macro Photography (Paperback)
When is MAcro true macro and when is it just 'close'? The author helpfully gives an acurate definition of true macro and then goes on to write his book
primarily on 'close'. This isn't made clear on the cover. You can't tell a book by its cover even when it has 'Macro' written on it in large letter. If you are interested in photographing better fruit, or the ends of drinking straws go ahead and buy. 'Close up' photography of paperclips has never been more fun. Now I know what an MP-E 65mm is for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring and practical., 1 Dec 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Digital Macro Photography (Paperback)
I purchased Ross Hoddinott's book as an absolute novice, in the hope it would help me with a few of the basic techniques of photography; it did so much more.

This book takes you through the basic techniques of macrophotography and moves through the intracacies of lighting and post-camera processing with an ease of expression that even an absolute beginner can understand, whilst having enough detail to enable the more experienced photographer.
The images included are breath-taking, and get you looking at even the most mundane of objects as potential subject matter. Further to this the text is well written and informed, with the added bonus of jargon busting and pro tips that are easily browsed through.

If you want a book that inspires, informs and is accessable no matter what level of understanding you have, this book is the book for you. It will get you itching to pick up your camera.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good for newbies to photography, but spread too thin, 22 Sep 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Digital Macro Photography (Paperback)
I can't argue with most of the information in this book. However when the book title refers to a specialist area of photography like macros, it's a shame that it spends so much time going through some of the absolute basics of photgraphy in general.

Thus, if you don't know very much, you will learn quite a bit from Mr Hoddinott. However if you have been taking pictures for a while and want to get some detailed knowledge of macro photography, you will find yourself wading through nearly half the book to get to anything new.

By contrast, a book like Close-ups in Nature (Practical Photography Books)" initially appears quite dated (the earlier editions were first written in the days of film cameras). However almost none of the fundamentals of taking good macros have changed with the arrival of digital, so nearly all the material is still relevent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning and inspiring!, 12 Oct 2007
By 
J. Hobday - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
An excellent book. Clear, informative and free from technical jargon. The photgraphs are stunning and inspiring, and the text an enjoyable read. Beginners and advanced photographers would all gain something from this book. Highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 10 Sep 2009
By 
P. Whittle "paulwhit" (Provence, France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Digital Macro Photography (Paperback)
It's a general introductory book on digital photography, with very little about macro, so the title is a con.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well laid out., 4 Feb 2009
By 
R. Sahota (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Digital Macro Photography (Paperback)
I bought this book based on the previous reviews in Amazon and I have to agree with the comments so far. The images are excellent and all are accompanied by the camera settings mainly from his D70 with 150mm lens. It is clearly written by someone wishing to pass on his expertise with regular hints and tips along the way. It is a very easy book to read and I would recommend it to anyone who wishes to expand into this area of photography.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good practical guide, 30 May 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Digital Macro Photography (Paperback)
I bought this book to learn how to improve my macro work and it does what it says. The opening chapters on cameras and kit were a tad basic for me, but great for someone new to photography. The rest I found presented with precision and thought, with top notch illustrations. One great tip follows another, easy to remember and implement. Subjects are wide, from insects to abstract and include processing and printing tips. Ross has a dry, precise style that is easy to read. I learnt what I wanted to know - and went on to take some great macro pictures when before I was struggling. It's a nicely put together work and I'm pleased to recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Digital Macro Photography
Digital Macro Photography by Ross Hoddinott (Paperback - 1 Nov 2007)
Used & New from: 1.21
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews