Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars22
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 July 2008
This really is a fabulous book covering the whole subject of building an Oak Framed house or extention in sufficient detail for a self builder to be confident in what they are doing. I know as I did it.

For those thinking of having an oak framed house built for them - here you will find inspiration and plenty of information; from choosing a site, the design process, getting planning through and the history of oak building in the UK.

Beautifully written and illistrated - a must have book on the subject.

Mark North Notts
0Comment|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2009
An insipiring read, although I spent the first 15 minutes looking at every picture, rather than reading. Some great ideas, some technical info on joints etc and useful info on construction methods & techniques. Useful if you intend to do some of your own work and if you intend to commission the construction of a building / extension
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2009
The book delivers an easy to understand and well illustrated story, for those who want to achieve a basic understanding of the different issues related to the material oak as building an oak framed building.
It doesn't dwell on history or required craftsmanship, nor specific construction details or calculations for structure.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2008
As a timber framer learning his trade I have found the book book technically informative whilst being well written in easy langauge with concise illustrations and photos throughout.

A must have for anyone seeking a book covering the full range topics for the modern timber framer.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2010
Great book, well written, but my beef is that the damned thing is falling apart already and I've hardly used it. Hope the author's oak frames are sronger than his books' binding!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2015
If you have any interest whatsoever in carpentry, architecture, or just simply love old buildings, you cannot fail to be impressed by this beautifully presented book. And if you're considering a self-build project with traditional timber construction, this book is an absolute must for your research material. The superb photos and illustrations are as beautiful as they are inspirational. The author writes with true passion about the subject, covering a wide range of information from the history, forestry and carpentry through to planning considerations and design of the external envelope. A word of advice here....as detailed and educational as this book is, the author does not intend this to be a complete encyclopaedia of the subject, but simply to share his knowledge and fuel your interest, which he does brilliantly. If you are a novice self-builder, you will find loads of inspiration for your design. However....if you also need information on the structural calculations, you may want to look at some of the other books on the subject (Tedd Benson's books are also very good), to supplement your research, but whatever you do, don't pass this one by! Of all my construction related books, this is by far my favourite.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2009
Fantastic Book! As a designer I found it to be informative, insipational & beautifully presented. A well balanced use of pictures & diagrams; it's very educational covering details about the trees, how the oak framed buildings where originally constructed through to examples of todays builds. Since my original purchase I've bought a further three copies as presents & have had to pass on the details to others (mainly in the build trade) who have also been impressed with it's content.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2010
Quick despatch, looked at excellent book from other reviews so we purchased as a present of my father as he's looking to buy a plot and do a slef-build oak framed house. He's very pleased with the book.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2010
Great book which is clear and easy to read. Fantastic photgraphy. I am going to build a green oak porch and wanted a book to give me an insight to what is required. With the help of a local Master Carpenter and Joiner I now have the design complete and timber ordered. The book has given me a good grounding into oak framed buildings and the inspiration to get building.

Jeremy - Loughborough
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2013
My daughter put this on her wish list, As it was her birthday it was purchased as one of her gifts.
She certainly loved it, as she has recently purchased a dilapidated farm with out buildings, this book is full of
ideas for the renovation , perfect!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)