Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars All you need to know, 26 July 2008
By 
M. W. Steed (North Notts England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Oak-framed Buildings (Paperback)
This really is a fabulous book covering the whole subject of building an Oak Framed house or extention in sufficient detail for a self builder to be confident in what they are doing. I know as I did it.

For those thinking of having an oak framed house built for them - here you will find inspiration and plenty of information; from choosing a site, the design process, getting planning through and the history of oak building in the UK.

Beautifully written and illistrated - a must have book on the subject.

Mark North Notts
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring, exciting, 28 April 2009
By 
S. Chapman "SC" (Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Oak-framed Buildings (Paperback)
An insipiring read, although I spent the first 15 minutes looking at every picture, rather than reading. Some great ideas, some technical info on joints etc and useful info on construction methods & techniques. Useful if you intend to do some of your own work and if you intend to commission the construction of a building / extension
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oak Fab Build!, 1 Mar 2009
By 
Miss S. Siddiqi (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Oak-framed Buildings (Paperback)
Fantastic Book! As a designer I found it to be informative, insipational & beautifully presented. A well balanced use of pictures & diagrams; it's very educational covering details about the trees, how the oak framed buildings where originally constructed through to examples of todays builds. Since my original purchase I've bought a further three copies as presents & have had to pass on the details to others (mainly in the build trade) who have also been impressed with it's content.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's got me going !!, 20 Sep 2010
By 
This review is from: Oak-framed Buildings (Paperback)
Great book which is clear and easy to read. Fantastic photgraphy. I am going to build a green oak porch and wanted a book to give me an insight to what is required. With the help of a local Master Carpenter and Joiner I now have the design complete and timber ordered. The book has given me a good grounding into oak framed buildings and the inspiration to get building.

Jeremy - Loughborough
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good, but...., 17 Aug 2010
This review is from: Oak-framed Buildings (Paperback)
Great book, well written, but my beef is that the damned thing is falling apart already and I've hardly used it. Hope the author's oak frames are sronger than his books' binding!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ideal for novice, 29 July 2009
By 
Peter Winters (Belgium) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Oak-framed Buildings (Paperback)
The book delivers an easy to understand and well illustrated story, for those who want to achieve a basic understanding of the different issues related to the material oak as building an oak framed building.
It doesn't dwell on history or required craftsmanship, nor specific construction details or calculations for structure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clear and covers a lot of ground, 26 Sep 2008
This review is from: Oak-framed Buildings (Paperback)
As a timber framer learning his trade I have found the book book technically informative whilst being well written in easy langauge with concise illustrations and photos throughout.

A must have for anyone seeking a book covering the full range topics for the modern timber framer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good book, 28 Mar 2010
By 
C. campion (Aberystwyth, Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Oak-framed Buildings (Paperback)
Quick despatch, looked at excellent book from other reviews so we purchased as a present of my father as he's looking to buy a plot and do a slef-build oak framed house. He's very pleased with the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Book, 2 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oak-framed Buildings (Paperback)
This was for my husband. He is getting into model making on buildings he loved the detail in the pictures and description.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Oak framed buildings, 16 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oak-framed Buildings (Paperback)
If nothing else this book is a wonderful read and the photos really inspire you to go down the road of oak framed buildings. There is plenty of useful information from planning to buidling. Very pleased I've bought this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Oak-framed Buildings
Oak-framed Buildings by Rupert Newman (Paperback - 22 Dec 2005)
Used & New from: 86.45
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews