Customer Reviews


2 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Miniature carpets for dolls' house enthusiasts, 13 Oct. 2002
By 
Mr. P. C. Knight "KNIGHTMAIL" (YORK, EAST YORKSHIRE United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Making Miniature Chinese Rugs and Carpets (Paperback)
Dolls' house enthusiasts will be pleased to find a new area into which to extend their skills with the publication of 'Making miniature Chinese rugs and carpets'. A book very much in the vein of Meik McNaughton & Ian McNaughton's 'Making Miniature Oriental Rugs and Carpets' and its follow-up book. Instructions are clear and precise for pillar rugs, saddle rugs and prayer rugs. There are also informative explanations of the significance of design motifs, e.g homophones (use of an image which is phonetically similar to something which is being wished for).
'Chinese' rugs will provide an opportunity for miniaturists to provide that finishing touch to an 18th century chinoiserie room, a romantic bedroom setting, dining room or a study for an occupant who has travelled the old Silk Route.
The designs would also look lovely produced as miniature versions of their larger cousins, displayed in frames on your walls.
All designs are worked on easy to find 22 count canvas, mostly with Anchor stranded cotton, several with Appletons Crewel, and some with Kreinik Silk Mori (100% pure silk). There are conversion charts for alternative threads.
Since persian carpets are already provided for at present, I can only hope that the author does another book based on on Mexican/ South American design motifs, for which I see there is a gap in the market.
(Written on behalf of my wife, Maggie)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Making Miniature Chinese Rugs and Carpets (Paperback)
Very nice carpets
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Making Miniature Chinese Rugs and Carpets
Making Miniature Chinese Rugs and Carpets by Carol Phillipson (Paperback - 30 May 2002)
Used & New from: £0.92
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews